We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swissotel Le Plaza Basel
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was the first hotel I stayed in Basel when I first came to this city 20 years ago. The hotel maintains its excellent in services. Rooms had been renovated to keep its modern and comfortable. The location is superb and no beatable, many trams surrounding and you can go just any where in the city. From train station SBB take tram No.1 or 2 which will go directly to hotel, very convenience. Mobility pass provided by hotel made life more easy, I went on and off in many lines without paying anything.
Breakfast has good selection of foods (but after 5 days, it will always be the same).
Some down things I experienced was bathroom amity and bed arrangement.
- Toothbrush and toothpaste were not provided, neither it was not filled in during my two last days.
- I request double bed which in general I expected to get one single big bed. I was wrong. I got two single beds combining. So each night I kept fallen into the trap between these two beds.

Nevertheless, I will choose this hotel again in my next trip.

Room Tip: Room 208 facing front of hotel and may be a bit noisy with tram's bell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank space_eagle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for this excellent review which will be shared with all of our colleagues.

Thank you also for the great breakfast suggestion. We will work on a plan to implement this. Toothbrush and toothpaste are available on request but not as standard room amenity. Please let us know upon your next check in that you require this amenity and we will be delighted to have it delivered immediately. We are also working on a way to make Kingsize beds out of our Twins without the gab in the middle.

Again many thanks! We have to see you at Swissôtel Basel very soon.

Sincerely

Brigitte Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 863 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is directly across from major convention center while only a an easy 15 minute walk from downtown. Staff was super helpful. Free Coffee & tea in lobby all day, plus coffee makers in room as well as on each floor. Rooms are clean and bright but fairly basic. Workout room was great. Nice size & modern equipment. I would recommend hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank 2travelingscientists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your wonderful feedback.

We shared your answers with all our staff members as we strive to exceed all guests expectations and to always provide the best possible service.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to the Swissôtel Basel. In the meantime we wish you all the very best.

Sincerely

Brigitte Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Perfect location in town (except maybe during the Morgestraich ;-)
The rooms are large and well equipped.
The staff is discreet and very pleasant
The +: several types of pillows are available on request ... perfect when you have back problems!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VIVIANE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your TripAdvisor feedback.

We are delighted about your positive comments regarding our guest rooms, the location, the pillows and our staff. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our hotel.

Again, thank you very much! We look forward to welcoming you again in Basel.

Sincerely

Brigitte Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I've been in this hotel for work and I have to say that is one of the best solution in term of service and accommodation for business trip in Basel.
The people at the reception are really welcoming and nice in trying to do their best to guarantee a good stay in the hotel.
I was in a room at fifth floor, the furniture are new, chic and clean.
Wifi works well in the room and is included in room fee.
Breakfast is vary and good but it is not included in room fee. Continental breakfast cost 9,9 Swiss franc

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank lotti23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

We are delighted about your friendly words regarding our staff, your room and our breakfast. We have shared your feedback with the entire team, who wanted to pass on their gratitude.

Thank you very much for your visit. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Sincerely

Brigitte Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

From check in to check out the staff were helpful and courteous.
Our room was well appointed and the linen high quality and bed comfortable.
Full breakfast was very high standard with extensive buffet.
By joining the swissotel rewards programme we had free wifi on all devises.
Small friendly bar and large lounge with all day refreshments

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Executive Assistant & Business Excellence Coordinator at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for just one night. We were warmly welcomed and we felt like home. The staff is supporting and efficiently helpful. We will definitely return to stay here. Traffic is a also convenient and room is better than expected.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Yimin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Executive Assistant & Business Excellence Coordinator at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.
We are delighted about your positive Feedback and have shared it with the entire team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best regards

Katharina Ritter
Executive Assistant & Business Excellence Coordinator
Swissôtel Le Plaza Basel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

While I like the personal feel of the Hotel Basel I also enjoy my stays here. The rooms are a good size, staff polite and a nice breakfast. Basel is an expensive city so while it appears expensive by UK standards I think pound for pound it is worth it. It is also rare that I wake up without being distrubed by hoovering somewhere BUT on this occasion I found myself on the top floor.
Great location for trams.

Room Tip: Ask to go to the sixth floor... you can only ask I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattLeRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Executive Assistant & Business Excellence Coordinator at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Basel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Basel
#7 of 52 in Basel
1,045 reviews
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#9 of 52 in Basel
636 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#6 of 52 in Basel
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Le Plaza Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Le Plaza Basel

Address: Messeplatz 25 | 4058 CH-Basel, Basel 4058, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Basel
#7 Business Hotel in Basel
#10 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#14 Romantic Hotel in Basel
Price Range: $128 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Le Plaza Basel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basel is not only a Swiss City with a big heart, with a smile on their face people from Basel proudly declare it a major city in pocket size format and they are right. The city by the Rhine offers everything you could wish for in a city trip. Culture and Business go hand in hand and only the sky is the limit. The same holds true should you decide to stay at the Swissotel Basel. No matter if you are traveling to the border triangle, the old town, the Rhine, the musical theatre or to other numerous sightseeing spots in Basel, all of which are in walking distance. Centrally located you will not only enjoy our elegant guest rooms but also real Swiss hospitality. Swissotel Basel provides 238 spacious rooms and suites with satellite LCD TV. Start your day right with a sumptuous breakfast at our Grill 25 restaurant or room service, make use of the complimentary newspaper, free wifi, complimentary use of our Puerovel Sport with a sauna and a steam room. Our concierge team would be delighted to assist in planning a day trip or assist in getting tickets to numerous Events and shows. Additionally our gusts truly value our pillow menu in the guestrooms as well as the espresso machine. Should you feel the need to discover even more of Basel and its surroundings, you can make use of your complimentary mobility ticket, which is provided to you for the duration of your stay to use the public transportation system, even for the day of your arrival and departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swissotel Le Plaza Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Le Plaza Basel Hotel Basel
Swissotel Le Plaza Hotel Basel
Basel Swissotel Le Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing