We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly loud room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Le Plaza Basel
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Here on business and would never recommend this hotel to anyone. For over $255 CH I would expect a room to be a bit better than a horrible Motel 8. The room smelled horrendously, like a combination of mildew and trash, and when I told the front desk they sent someone up with fabric freshener. The room was also right next to a tram that ran all day and night. I asked for a new room and have yet to hear back from them.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the tram may be quieter, but I would not know since they would not move me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristinaTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Executive Assistant & Business Excellence Coordinator at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest

I was truly sorry to learn of your disappointment during your last stay.

Your feedback is very important for us. Please contact me directly
if we can do anything for you to feel more comfortable.

Thank you very much for your visit.

Yours sincerely

Katharina Ritter
Executive Assistant & Business Excellence Coordinator
Swissôtel Le Plaza Basel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 818 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

Although this was a quick trip and only one night in Basel, the accomodations at the Swissotel were exceptional. The breakfast that was included was very good with fresh squeezed juices and a lot to choose from, not just fruit, cheese, and danish.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Executive Assistant & Business Excellence Coordinator at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.
We have shared it with the entire team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely

Katharina Ritter
Executive Assistant & Business Excellence Coordinator
Swissôtel Le Plaza Basel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I use the Swissotel regularly on business. It is a comfortable hotel with nice,attentive and efficient staff. There is little character to this hotel, but the rooms are comfortable and well appointed. It's not the type of hotel I'd recommend for a family holiday, but for the business traveller it offers all the facilities you could need - the business centre is excellent and the gym is good. For dinner the cuisine e is limited and you'd be better advised taking the short tram ride into the old town where there are some good restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fenlander63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Executive Assistant & Business Excellence Coordinator at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Due to the much higher cost of my usual Basel hotel, and in the interests of 'spending wisely', I stayed here.
Turned out to be the right decision as the room was very well equipped, breakfast arrived exactly when I asked and everything went very well - very quiet, well insulated (for sound) room with an excellent coffee machine. They even provide a free tram ticket.
The only downside for me is location but that is personal due to the hotel being north central Basel and I have to use the tram for a 25 min journey - my fault though, not the hotel's which is right next to a convention centre and a short walk to the nice parts of Basel.
Very happy to return and will now use this as preferred choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrWolfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Executive Assistant & Business Excellence Coordinator at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed three nights here in a business room - excellent facilities, VERY clean, soft bed (twin, pushed together - beware the gap!), BBC1/2 and other English channels on the tv, wifi included in the room rate but otherwise VERY expensive. Very safe for travellers - lifts require key card access and room service was thoughtful enough to send female staff to a room occupied by a female guest.

Reception and all other staff very friendly and spoke excellent English. Room service, although a slightly restrictive menu, was fantastic. I didn't enjoy going down to breakfast in the restaurant as it was buffet style and very busy - unfortunately the cost to have breakfast in the room was also high. But worth noting that there is an "express" breakfast counter in the lobby for takeaways.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oxford_grrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Executive Assistant & Business Excellence Coordinator at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I always stay at the Swiss when in Basel.
The staff are exceptional and always very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are clean , a bit on the small side but the beds are extremely comfortable.
The food in the restuarant is vert good

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Chrissy061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Executive Assistant & Business Excellence Coordinator at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Guest

We are delighted about your positive Feedback and have shared it with the entire team.
Thank you very much for your visit. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely


Katharina Ritter
Executive Assistant & Business Excellence Coordinator
Swissôtel Le Plaza Basel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at the Swissotel Le Plaza Basel in March 2013.. The location was perfect for a traveller new to Basel. Trams were right outside your front door or a line of taxis lined at the entrance for the unseasoned tram traveller. Basel is a very small town so it's not hard to get around anyway :-) The hotel itself it modern and has all the essentials you would need. As I was attending a conference held in the hotel - all meals were provided by the hotel. The amazing buffet breakfast spread each morning helped to soothe the affects of jetlag, our lunch meals and also tea breaks were well catered and plentiful. Staff were very friendly and offered assistance as much as possible with maps of the area and places to see. All staff were english speaking so I didn't struggle at all with communication. Room facilities were generally good and adequate - modern decor and a nice monsoon showerhead was a very nice touch. Overall a great hotel - would definately stay there again if I was visiting Basel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Executive Assistant & Business Excellence Coordinator at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
928 reviews
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 51 in Basel
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Le Plaza Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Le Plaza Basel

Address: Messeplatz 25 | 4058 CH-Basel, Basel 4058, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Basel
#10 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#13 Family Hotel in Basel
#14 Romantic Hotel in Basel
Price Range: $131 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Le Plaza Basel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basel is not only a Swiss City with a big heart, with a smile on their face people from Basel proudly declare it a major city in pocket size format and they are right. The city by the Rhine offers everything you could wish for in a city trip. Culture and Business go hand in hand and only the sky is the limit. The same holds true should you decide to stay at the Swissotel Basel. No matter if you are traveling to the border triangle, the old town, the Rhine, the musical theatre or to other numerous sightseeing spots in Basel, all of which are in walking distance. Centrally located you will not only enjoy our elegant guest rooms but also real Swiss hospitality. Swissotel Basel provides 238 spacious rooms and suites with satellite LCD TV. Start your day right with a sumptuous breakfast at our Grill 25 restaurant or room service, make use of the complimentary newspaper, free wifi, complimentary use of our Puerovel Sport with a sauna and a steam room. Our concierge team would be delighted to assist in planning a day trip or assist in getting tickets to numerous Events and shows. Additionally our gusts truly value our pillow menu in the guestrooms as well as the espresso machine. Should you feel the need to discover even more of Basel and its surroundings, you can make use of your complimentary mobility ticket, which is provided to you for the duration of your stay to use the public transportation system, even for the day of your arrival and departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Swissotel Le Plaza Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Le Plaza Basel Hotel Basel
Swissotel Le Plaza Hotel Basel
Basel Swissotel Le Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing