We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent Hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swissotel Le Plaza Basel
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
222 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Magnificent Hotel and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Excellent location and beautiful property and rooms. Very modern. The only problem is that directly next to the hotel that they are adding a Convention center and doing construction from 8AM all day.. requiest rooms on the south side of the property
Once you arrive in Basel by boat, plane or train you are allowed to utilize all local forms of transportation for free just by showing that you ahev a hotel resrvation or once you check in to you=r hotel thay will give you a transportation pass. Utilizing the local trams etc is very easy.
Staff were wonderful and very helpful. Free wifi and computers available in the lobby to print our boarding passes etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GARY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Executive Assistant & Business Excellence Coordinator at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    287
    74
    25
    15
See reviews for
71
222
39
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I remember a time when swiss hospitality was something, you may still get decent accomodation, prices service, there is still a feeling that you are a room number and no more.
Staff is friendly though, and management is there but it is not as it was 10 years ago in Switzerland, anyway, Swissotel basel is good, and I recommend it
Food offer is very little, and expensive, but that is general of Switzerland, room service menu is very small at night with little choice, Bread is often stale and mostly evenings time, not acceptable with the prices paid on food
business center only has 2 computers then join the queue when you need it;
location is excellent
avoid street side rooms as there are lots of road and building work outside
Do not smoke in your room if it is not a smoking room or 200 CHF on top of your bill
Hope this is helpful

Room Tip: Avoid side where they are building new convention center because of noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmtjmtjmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Manager at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your Feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palestine, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed for two nights in October 2012, .I love the hotel ... My room was well appointed and very comfortable.clean and contained really good facilities.. The breakfast buffet was very adequate and the staff were very helpful do excellent job and we enjoyed an evening dinner in the restaurant ...really Delicious.
The hotel staff at the reception also were friendly and efficient and readily answered any questions we had about tourist sites.
Although there is a construction site directly opposite the hotel, it didn't affect me at all.

The hotel is conveniently located and within easy walking distance to the Old Town with its attractive river setting and the market square. I HIGHLY recommend this excellent hotel to travelers.

Room Tip: HIGHLY recomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rania187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Manager at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in August 2012, prior to joining a Tauck Rhine /Moselle river cruise. Our room was well appointed and very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was very adequate and we enjoyed an evening dinner in the restaurant. The hotel staff were friendly and efficient and readily answered any questions we had about tourist sites.

The hotel is conveniently located and within easy walking distance to the Old Town with its attractive river setting, the cathedral and the market square. We would definitely recommend this excellent hotel to business and vacation travelers.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ecossins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Manager at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I had an "Advantage Room," which I think means it was on a higher floor with nicer (marble) bathrooms, in-room Lavazza coffee machine, etc. The Swissotel is an ideal hotel for business, as it's located at the congress center and there are many tram lines right outside the hotel, with easy access to both Basel train stations and the big companies in town. The room has a nice big desk with easily accessible plugs and a comfortable chair for working. Additionally, there's an area right off the elevators with two computer terminals, a Lavazza machine, and couches, which I actually saw people use for meeting with colleagues. Last note on the business-friendly theme: the lobby has an additional two computers hooked up to a printer/copier/scanner, which is free to use and a great convenience.

The room itself was nice and spacious, with a fair amount of closet space. It's very sterile though, and I almost wished there was more artwork on the walls or something to make the room feel more welcoming. The bedding was of good quality and the pillow menu was a nice touch -- the neck support pillows were great. The mattress was showing signs of age though, as it wasn't very supportive. Also, there were small scuff marks or chips in different parts of the room, so while it was a clean/pleasant room, it could use some touching up.

While the location is very good for business, it's not ideal for tourists. I actually don't like the area around the hotel at all. It's not a nice area, with a sex shop and some seedy looking bars nearby. If you leave the windows open at night, you'll not only hear the trams, but you may also hear obnoxious drunk people, as I did. That said, Basel is a small city and it's a short (less than 10 minute) walk to the center of town.

A welcome surprise at the hotel was the gym -- modern, with nice equipment and a decent size. The gym was also stocked with towels and a fridge with Valser water bottles, which was nice. It was something I looked forward to during my stay to use the gym each day.

Breakfast at the hotel is solid -- a good selection of cold cuts, cheeses, bread, fruit; as well as hot foods such as scrambled eggs, baked beans, bacon etc. They'll also make you eggs to order, and they have the full range of coffee drinks. The issue is that unless breakfast is included in your rate, it's not worth the 32 CHF in my opinion. You can go to the bakery down the street and get some very good bread and a coffee for less than 10 CHF. I would say the service is good for the most part; the wait staff were at worst competent, and the best ones were friendly and proactive about asking if you wanted more coffee or eggs to order.

Overall I would recommend the Swissotel especially if you're traveling for business, but it works for tourists as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cillierabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Manager at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I booked the Swissotel in Basel in the hope of enjoying a comfortable and convenient stay when attending a conference at the convention centre next door. Having booked months ahead via the Swissotel website, I expected no dramas. I was therefore very disappointed to arrive at what was essentially a major 24 hour a day building site, thanks to the construction of a new exhibition centre in Basel on the opposite side of the road.

The charming staff apologised for the disturbances on check-in and explained that the city had granted the builders 24 hour permits for through the night construction. The truth is that warning in advance would have been more appreciated than an “on-arrival” apology! I would certainly have jumped at the chance to cancel the reservation had I known.

This long-term construction aside, the hotel is very dated with 1980’s décor throughout that has seen very little updating for the 21st century. Not what is expected of a luxury Swiss hotel brand. In the public areas, the lobby is uninspired and also serves as a seating area for a small hotel bar that completely lacks in atmosphere.

The lesson here is that you can’t expect charming staff to make up for a poor, dated hotel and bad management of customer expectations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damsoncottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Executive Assistant at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback. Our main goal is to satisfied our guests!
So, I was truly sorry to learn of your disappointment during your stay.

The Messe Basel exhibition centre is being refurbished. Therefore we have inserted an information about the construction work in all our reservation confirmation. Unfortunately, we don't have any control of the construction work timing but please rest assured that we will do our utmost to make your stay with us run as smoothly as possible. Your feedback has been discussed with our team.

Thank you very much for your visit.

Yours sincerely


Katharina Ritter
Executive Assistant
Swissôtel Le Plaza Basel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had a lovely one night stay with friends. We were just passing through and stayed here because our Travel Agent managed to get a deal for us. It is a high quality hotel and the rooms were great. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and we were made to feel right at home. We had a few querries and each time we were dealth with efficiently but with also a great deal of charm. The breakfast the next morning was one of the nicest I have ever had at any 5 star place. All in all a wonderful stay and I would fully recomment the Swissotel Le Plaza in Basel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pastorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Executive Assistant at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your visit and your wonderful feedback! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely


Katharina Ritter
Executive Assistant
Swissôtel Le Plaza Basel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Basel
#8 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#6 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Le Plaza Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Le Plaza Basel

Property: Swissotel Le Plaza Basel
Address: Messeplatz 25 | 4058 CH-Basel, Basel 4058, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Basel
#9 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#13 Family Hotel in Basel
#14 Romantic Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Le Plaza Basel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basel is not only a Swiss City with a big heart, with a smile on their face people from Basel proudly declare it a major city in pocket size format and they are right. The city by the Rhine offers everything you could wish for in a city trip. Culture and Business go hand in hand and only the sky is the limit. The same holds true should you decide to stay at the Swissotel Basel. No matter if you are traveling to the border triangle, the old town, the Rhine, the musical theatre or to other numerous sightseeing spots in Basel, all of which are in walking distance. Centrally located you will not only enjoy our elegant guest rooms but also real Swiss hospitality. Swissotel Basel provides 238 spacious rooms and suites with satellite LCD TV. Start your day right with a sumptuous breakfast at our Grill 25 restaurant or room service, make use of the complimentary newspaper, free wifi, complimentary use of our Puerovel Sport with a sauna and a steam room. Our concierge team would be delighted to assist in planning a day trip or assist in getting tickets to numerous Events and shows. Additionally our gusts truly value our pillow menu in the guestrooms as well as the espresso machine. Should you feel the need to discover even more of Basel and its surroundings, you can make use of your complimentary mobility ticket, which is provided to you for the duration of your stay to use the public transportation system, even for the day of your arrival and departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Le Plaza Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Le Plaza Basel Hotel Basel
Swissotel Le Plaza Hotel Basel
Basel Swissotel Le Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing