We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“greed has no limits here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Langenthal, Schweiz
Level Contributor
166 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“greed has no limits here”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Greed has its limits. But nobody told that to the person who sets the prices at the Steinenschanze. The room I was in was not worth more than CHF 180 per night. But, because there was a conference in town, they charged CHF 410. For this amount of money, may expectations were very high. I expected:
- a hotel in a classic Basler building with a historical façade,
- a lively, spacious, well-appointed lobby,
- a bar,
- a nice restaurant,
- a high-end, stylish room.

The disappointment started when I stepped off the bus and saw the building. The hotel is on a nondescript street which could be in any industrial city. I thought I was in Moscow. It is like a bunker. It all went downhill from there. There is not much of a lobby, but at least the receptionist was semi-friendly, but totally unapologetic about the price. I could see that the management has the caveat emptor philosophy.

As soon as I saw the room, I was livid. It's not that it was a bad room. It wasn't dirty. It's just that I was about to pay CHF 410 / night for a room that was not even worth HALF that price. I had to get to the conference so I had no time to find another hotel. I felt like I had just been robbed.

Under CHF 200 / night, this is a decent, functional hotel. Clean rooms. The WiFi works well and is included in the price. Breakfast is good.

Room Tip: If the price is >CHF 200 / night, look for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela-Maria N, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast

vielen Dank für Ihre offenen Worte.

Schade, dass Sie sich in Ihrem Appartement (der von Ihnen genannte Preis lässt nur diese Annahme zu) getrennten Wohn- und Schlafbereich, eingener Terrasse nicht wohlgefühlt haben.
Von all unseren Gästen wird gerade immer unsere Grosszügikeit gelobt. Kostenlosen W-lan, Nesspresso Maschine auf den Zimmern, Bademäntel auf den Zimmern, Turndown Service im Zimmer am Abend, Gratis Apero in unserer Lounge mit Soft Drinks, Kaffee/Tee, Weiss- und Rotwein, Sekt ect. Wasser und Obst an der Rezeption kostenlos den ganzen Tag über.

Das wir Ihre Erwartungen nicht erfüllen konnten mit einem Bar und Restaurantangebot tut mir sehr leid, es wird von uns aber auch nirgendwo so pupliziert.

Da ich leider noch nie in Moskau war, kann ich Ihren Vergleich mit unserer Strasse nicht beurteilen. Der Steinengraben liegt zentral gelegen in Nähe der Innenstadt, leicht zur erreichen mit dem von Ihnnen genannten Bus der vom Bahnhof SBB auf dem Innenstadtring auch an einer Haltestellte vor unserem Hotel hält.

Mit freundlichen Grüssen
Michaela-Maria Nazarek
Gastgeberin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    125
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
66
159
40
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

A very warm welcome and excellent customer service - newspapers, two free PCs and printer, Evian water and Nespresso machine in the room (no charge) and free drinks and peanuts after 3pm. Breakfast is varied, substantial and the muesli is particularly good. Sparkling wine to make Bucks Fizz is included on Sundays.

Modern bright decoration throughout. My only criticism would be that the bathroom lighting is inadequate over the mirror.... The garden is delightful and the hotel is in an ideal position for exploring the City on foot.

Bus 30 from outside the SBB station gets you directly to the hotel in one stop - the Basel Mobility Pass you get with an overnight stay will cover that journey too if you have your confirmation. Otherwise the hotel's walking directions do work.

The hotel is run to provide funds for a long-established Basel charity - it's a superb enterprise which is only mentioned in a very discrete way and there is absolutely no compromise on quality.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have balcony and front ones have aircon to help keep out the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMW45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinenschanze, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear guest

Firstly we would like to thank you for your kind review on Stadthotel Steinenschanze. We are glad that you could enjoy your time with us. As you have mentioned, our staff is offering an extraordinary service at the reception as well as during the breakfast. One of the main reason, why guest book our hotel is the great location. The old town with the tourist attractions, the center with museums and the shopping possibilities are just around the corner. And, you are right, the free ticket for the public transportation makes is easy to explore the city or get to the offices. Not many of our guests realize the non-profit back round of our work, thank you for noting this.
It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back at Stadthotel Steinenschanze in future

Kind regards
Michaela Maria Nazarek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Great value hotel for Switzerland, sure the rooms are a little small but with comfy beds and a great shower.

All of the little touches in this hotel really makes it special, water in the rooms, aperitif in the evening, champagne (maybe it was sparkling wine) nevertheless a nice touch and upon checking out we were offered to leave the luggage and a bottle of water to carry around. Really nice little touches.

I have stayed in many higher rated hotels in Switzerland and around the world and not received the quality of service I received here. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

About a 10 minute walk from the train station but it's easy to lose your way; I recommend that you check the map located just outside of the station. The area is bland but at least it's quiet and the city centre is located just around the corner. The staff were very welcoming and pleasant and even provide you with a free public transport pass, usable on all buses and trams. The room itself was pretty basic but clean and quite spacious for a single room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We arrived in a rain storm and were made to feel very welcome from the excellent reception staff.
The directions were quite difficult to find the hotel as it was not signed up particularly well. Parking was fairly easy to find - just over the road in a public car park.
The hotel was very clean and well appointed. It was just a few minutes walk to the old town with its loads of sops and eating houses. It was a lovely atmosphere on the night we went out.
The only downside was the breakfast where the staff seemed more interested in clearing up than serving their customers. Overall though it was very good value for money and if we went back to Basle I would definately visit again.

Room Tip: The hotel is set back on a slip road off the main Steinengraben and not well signed. It is opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cablegram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in the Steinenschanze for one night as an en route stop on a road trip through Europe. As a budget hotel you can't fault it although if travelling by car you have to budget for an extra 25 Swiss Francs for parking overnight in the underground car park opposite which impacts the budget nature. The room was clean and comfortable, the outstanding feature being the amazing shower in the room equivalent of a much higher class of hotel The entrance and staircase is a little off putting in a kind of university hall kind of way but the room made up for it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pechster71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel has a great location, and was easy to get to by public transport, with buses running regularly to the stop across the road. You were also given a mobility card for free public transport use during your stay which is a nice touch. The thing that made this hotel stand out for me was the staff, who were friendly and very helpful, no matter when you spoke to them. They were happy to give advice, and mark things on a map for me which was very kind. My room was small, but clean and comfortable, with a nice shower, a good view over the garden, and a tower fan that came in useul as it was very warm during my stay. The hotel was nicely laid out with a central lift, with the stairs spiralling round it, and the large breakfast room downstairs. lots of nice little touches like complimentary drinks at the reception desk. I'd be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#7 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Basel
#9 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#3 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#10 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steinenschanze Stadthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steinenschanze Stadthotel

Property: Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Address: Steinengraben 69, Basel 4051, Switzerland (Formerly Minotel Steinenschanze)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Vorstädte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Basel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#9 Business Hotel in Basel
#16 Family Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Steinenschanze Stadthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steinenschanze Stadthotel has everything you want from a modern and comfortable hotel: Ideally located in the center of Basel, near the old town and near the University of Basel, the museums and the most important institutions. Very easy access to the convention center and the Messe Basel: 9 minutes by car or 14 minutes by tram. Very good access to Airport Basel: 12 minutes by car or 30 minutes by bus. Contemporary urban design, friendly and bright Gstfreundlicher, likeable service, rich breakfast buffet with lactose and gluten-free, vegan offer. Free Wi-Fi. Not much indicated from the outside out: in this haven of peace and relaxation in the middle of the city. Here in the garden you can have breakfast in warm weather and take your aperitif to be. Or simply cuddle up with a good book on one of the comfortable garden chairs and listen to the whispering leaves. Give yourself a break from everyday life. In Steinenschanze Stadthotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Steinenschanze Stadthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Hotel Basel
Minotel Basel
Basel Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing