We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...been there a couple times on business”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Federal Way, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“...been there a couple times on business”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Overall very good. Went twice in a couple month time, was upgraded the second time to a suite.

First stay very nice, late arrival, all was prepared already and I had quick access to room. All clean and comfortable.
Second time with the upgrade...they should not have. The suite was nice and large but not frequented very much. Dust on all surfaces that aren't cleaned regularly if the room isn't frequented a lot (like desk top, nightstand were clean, top of minibar dusty, TV dusty....) Bathroom was cleaned w/o detail in mind. A quick cleaning job before I arrived it seemed.

Breakfast: very nice, fresh and good selection

Service: A+++

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djotomate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    259
    84
    18
    12
See reviews for
77
160
50
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We arrived by train to the Central Station of Basel. it was quite late. The hotel has a nice entrance and it is in front of the Railaway Station. Rooms are large. Breakfast is expensive but very good and it is worth its price. Staff is not Swiss but their German and English and even French is professional. Rooms are very quiet, windows have noiceproof glazing. There is also a fitness place access included. Furniture is modern and it is a replica of the Twenties. The reception shall give you a free bus card to travel in the city for free during your staying. At the entrance they offer you a free apple juice and fresh apples at any time for free. We shall definitely come back here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictorS807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Central location; main tram stop and international train station at the doorstep. Good breakfast, good facilities, excellent hygiene, BUT probably the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept (badly) on.

Room Tip: If you don't mind excessively soft beds then any room, I have stayed previously (company use thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria b.c.
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

The Victoria hotel in basel was an excellent choice for me, my wife and our three year old son.
Amazing view of the bustling train station ( as requested), massive room with all sorts of extra space. Clean , tidy and equipped with amenities for all of our needs.
The transit passes provided were helpful for us to explore the city, the staff were helpful and caring in their help and the eclectic mix of breakfast samplings started each day off nicely. The cost was well below what others charged. Visiting bookings sights and really looking at offers helps.
Great job guys.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Like most Swiss business hotels this one is super efficient and has everything that you can possibly think of. I booked it 24 hours before my stay and had to pay through my nose, a really exorbitant rate. The food in the hotel is expensive, and its best to step out - there are plenty of eating options within a 10 minute walk, with many restaurants within a 3 minute walk. the best part of this hotel is the location - you almost get off the train and hit the hotel!!
While its a great hotel, on my next trip to Basel I would look for a cheaper option, even if one needs to take the tram to get to the hotel. The tram station is right next to the train station and it is very convenient to get anywhere in Basel using the trams.

Room Tip: There are two blocks in the hotel - the new one and the old one. I think all rooms are great and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sameer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viareggio
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

contrarily to most cities, the railway central station in Basel is not a bad area. You do not see the typical night animals around nor prostitutes nor porn shops. Basel Station is a clean area with nice hotels and bars. Victoria Hotel is new, modern hotel respecting its star-range, with a touch of classical design, Rooms are new and the bathroom is Art Deco with a glamour of 1930 but built with modern construction elements. Our room was was quite large for a double. Staff was friendly and look at the promotions of this hotel because for its class several websites as olotels and trivago offer incredible prices. Windows must have triple glazing, as we did not hear anything from the streets. Alex

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I'm staying here on business (checking out today). Have to say I was really impressed with the locality, its right across from the station and there are lots and lots of shops and restaurants around (inc McD's, Burger King and Starbucks for the 'last resort' option!) Staff were very friendly as I checked in and attentive throughout without being intrusive.

I have 3 gripes abt the hotel - TV didn't work. Hotel offered to change my room but i was already headway into my work to pick up all my stuff and change rooms, though I was a little annoyed that when I wanted a breather, i couldn't watch TV (and no time to really go for a walk, this was a business trip)! Later on, i tried it again and it worked - yay! But then you have this whole cacophony of channels that don't even work, so the whole exercise was futile. Second grip is about the bed - not enough pillows, just the one - i'm a pillow person, though I think i could have requested more. Quilt was not warm enough either. Third gripe is that my room was certainly not sound proof - i woke midway into the night because it sounded like someone was pouring water down the whole side of the wall, only to realise it was the toilet or whatever from upstairs. Could hear kids running up and down the corridor/room upstairs too and in the morning, it was clear that i wasn't the only one taking a shower!!

Bathroom is very clean and bath tub is very nice and spacious which makes you want to have a nice soak before bedtime.

Other than that, I like this hotel and would choose to stay here, even if only for the proximity to town! I only mention the gripes for anyone who thinks this could be a big deal, for me there are merely gripes, not a reason not to stay here, hence the 4 star rating.

Room Tip: Make sure the TV is working or inform reception who should offer to fix the problem or give you anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjuAnup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Hotel Euler
#15 of 51 in Basel
250 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel Schweizerhof Basel
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 51 in Basel
540 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Metropol Hotel Basel
#23 of 51 in Basel
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: Centralbahnplatz 3-4, Basel 4051, Switzerland (Formerly TOP Hotel Victoria)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > St. Alban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#15 Romantic Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria offers traditional hospitality and modern hotel comforts in the centre of Basel next to the main train station (SBB). You will be enchanted by the unique atmosphere of this stylish hotel. The rooms blend an exclusive Victorian ambience with all the comforts of modern life. All rooms are equipped with a functional working desk, phone, free Wi-Fi, large flat screen TV, room safe, minibar with free mineral water, door spy hole, tea and coffee maker facilities. Le Train Bleu Restaurant and Bar offers a fine choice of traditional Swiss, regional and international dishes. During summer, guests can relax with a drink or meal on the terrace. The hotel offers 24-hour reception, laundry and room services. The hotel also features a small fitness room, business corner with free Internet access, and a selection of daily newspapers. Guests staying at the hotel can use Basel's public transportation free of charge. The most attractive museums, theatres, sport stadiums, the Basel ZOO, as well as the congress and exhibition centre, are easily reachable on foot or by public transportation. Parking is possible in the hotel's underground garage. This is our guests' favourite part of Basel, according to independent reviews. This property also has one of the best-rated locations in Basel! Guests are happier about it compared to other properties in the area. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Basel
Hotel Victoria Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing