We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof Basel
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

I had a very early departure from Basel Station in the morning, so looked for a good quality hotel nearby. The Schweizerhof more than met the bill. Excellent service level, with the booking form already printed out ready for me - great room in which it was possible to sleep soundly - early breakfast available. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    206
    36
    7
    0
See reviews for
40
166
77
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Once again, the Swiss star system confounds me. This is a lovely hotel that elsewhere would easily be 4 stars. It offers all the conveniences you could need, with efficien staff. The rooms are very generous, with clean wooden floors (no old manky carpet), and a lovely big bathroom with a nice range of toiletries. The location is superb, the hotel is just next to the train station. Finally, the hotel offers free internet, free non-alcoholic drinks in the 'minibar' on each floor, and a Basel local transport ticket. Should I need to come back to Basel again, this will definitely be my first choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lcc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I booked this hotel because it was close to the train station and I would have to leave early in the next morning from the station.
The room was excellent, very comfortable and very spacious, also shower and toiletries were very good.
The only drawback was that the bar & snacks service wasn't able to serve everything listed on the menu, although it was said to be a 24 hours service.
Even tough I would definitely stay again at the Schweizerhof

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acacias_Niteroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
currumbin
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We booked this hotel as it was close to the train station and it was lovely, the staff were very attentive but they should have been as it was very expensive for what it was. The room was a good size and the toiletries very good quality. breakfast was very nice but $8 Aus for a coffee was a bit over the top in our opinion.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixi46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

When i booked this hotel, I was really just looking for somewhere reasonably priced to stay that was close to the station. However, i was pleasantly surprised by this hotel - it totally exceeded my expectations. The service is truly excellent, the rooms are nice and stylish, the location is very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beebbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
213 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Have stayed here about four or five times over past six months and each time has been very good, with helpful service and high quality breakfast. Rooms have aircon and are mostly spacious; whole hotel was modernised about five years ago and is kept in excellent condition. Tram noise is only drawback; the whole building picks up vibration as they roll by outside (and, being at the SBB station, there are lots of them. Nevertheless, I've always found this a a relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICE-Zugfahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hello,
We recently went to Basel and stayed at this perfect hotel. Why perfect...we travelled with our two young kids, so we needed a super convenient location, which it was. Close to the central station, and easy tram access to several places basel.
The staff were so helpful, took our every question or request seriously and attending to us super quick, gave us great trips re the city and how to easily get around. Did their job with absolute 100% professionalism!
I really appreciated the staff above all. And a close 2nd, is the location, and finally the cleanliness of the rooms!
Enjoy your stay there!

Room Tip: IF you want absolute quite, then you need to ask for a room at the back of the hotel. But then don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eman_os
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#6 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Basel
#8 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#21 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof Basel

Property: Hotel Schweizerhof Basel
Address: Centralbahnplatz 1 | CH-4002 Basel, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > St. Alban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Basel
#9 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#11 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Schweizerhof Basel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience up-to-the-minute hotel facilities in a historic atmosphere In 1864, the Hotel Schweizerhof Basel was the first hotel to open at the Basel SBB railway station. In 1896, the hotel was sold and has remained in the ownership of the same family for four generations. It underwent a total renovation in 2006 and 2009. The result is a unique, harmonious symbiosis of the historic and modern in a perfect location. Enjoy spacious, bright and tall rooms, wide staircases and artistically forged banisters, surrounded by pleasantly warm colours. Guests who value a cordial, dedicated and individual service in a modern setting with traditional roots will find the Hotel Schweizerhof Basel the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing