We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't rate it highly enough” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Schweizerhof Basel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof Basel
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Can't rate it highly enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great hotel with free travel passes for the duration of your stay (including for the airport) and extremely helpful desk staff. Room very comfortable, clean and well equipped, and the location means you can ride on the trams to just about anywhere. Best night's sleep for ages in an extremely comfortable (latex?) bed with a light soft quilt. Hotel is easy to find just near the station ('SBB' - there are several stations) and bus 50 takes you to the airport in 17 minutes. Breakfast was really excellent - good coffee, excellent cheese and lots of fresh fruit and interesting bread. Definitely going back next time - overall stay was CHF 142 (about £98 at the time of writing) which isn't the cheapest.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the trams, get a room higher up.They didn't bother me on the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shadbury_bonwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    202
    36
    7
    0
See reviews for
40
164
75
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
174 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here just for one night, it was a great hotel. Free passes for public transportation, we made reservations for parking but there wasspace in front of the hotel. They didn't charge us for the reservations. Very friendly at the reception desk. Free softdrinks for in the room. Next to central station but with the windows closed you don't notice a thing. We kept the windows open. The bed was good, but i prefer box spring instead of a wavelet bed base underneath the matras. WiFi worked great, you get a password for every device (how cool). Leila in the bar was very friendly too and told us about Basel. Breakfast was really very good, kofie is served whatever coffee you like and lots of choices....Italians complained about it (well we are in Italy right now....and they shouldn't complain about the breakfast in Basel, because it's five star compare with what we are having in Italy). We are coming back, thank you Schweitzerhof hotel.

Room Tip: Good price, next to central station, clean and excellent breakfast and very friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minic13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Only stayed one night, but found it very well located, staff very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was very good. We kept our windows open, we enjoy hearing the sounds of life, could have shut out the noise if we wanted to! Very easy to walk into the centre of Basel and equally easy to catch the tram right outside the hotel doors. We were given a pass for free public transport travel for our time there.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Glamorousthistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited Basel for the Hodler exhibition. As we also visited friends, we needed an accomodation. Schweizerhof is situated very close to the main trainstation and therefore a nice place if you travel by public transport. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and with a nice balcony to smoke on. The beds are comfortable and the TV is very nice, as usually, they are far too small in hotels. The bathroom is clean and the shower is very big.
There is free mineral water and coffee in the room. It lacks a minibar, but drinks are served in the bar of the hotel and softdrinks are for free to get in a depot.
The breakfast buffet is very nice and offers a wide selection of food.
As the hotel is close to the tram station, it can be noisy, but rooms have very good windows, therefore I had no problem while sleeping.
I strongly recommend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zonkeydonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Located just opposite the railway station, ideal for those arriving late by train. Noise is an obvious drawback, we had a room not facing the tram station, but it was not quiet either. Rooms have all amenities you need. Breakfast rather limited - not a big choice of vegetables. A bus /tram ticket valid all the way through the airport is a nice bonus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Przemek60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
113 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Been there lately on a business trip. The location is very good, near the train station. I had a room on first floor and it was very comfortable and had been refurbished shortly. The Minibar is free, you can take everything you want from a fridge on second floor. The bed was comfortable and internet WIFI was free. The next day breakfast was very well staffed and performing. The choice at the buffet was rich, much more then you would expect for a 3-Star Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas_Moritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The hotel is just across the road from the SBB station. The staff all speak English and are very helpful. My room was very good in all respects except that,being at the very north of the complex,was very near to crossovers in the tram system and despite the double glazed windows a rumble could be heard, the trams start running at about 04:30 but this didn't wake me. The selection for breakfast was good and you can get a good start to the day For diner I used the nearby Restaurant Steinbeck which has a menu with English subtitles. Leave the hotel , turn left towards the PTT building (or follow the lines of the orange BLT trams.) My only criticism is that the portion are too large.
If you are on a tight budget,you may find chf 200 too high for the hotel ,but you pay for its closeness to the SBB station. There is a Co-op and a McDonalds in the same road and a Migros on the station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Alban
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#21 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Hotel Basel
#6 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof Basel

Property: Hotel Schweizerhof Basel
Address: Centralbahnplatz 1 | CH-4002 Basel, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > St. Alban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Basel
#9 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#11 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Schweizerhof Basel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience up-to-the-minute hotel facilities in a historic atmosphere In 1864, the Hotel Schweizerhof Basel was the first hotel to open at the Basel SBB railway station. In 1896, the hotel was sold and has remained in the ownership of the same family for four generations. It underwent a total renovation in 2006 and 2009. The result is a unique, harmonious symbiosis of the historic and modern in a perfect location. Enjoy spacious, bright and tall rooms, wide staircases and artistically forged banisters, surrounded by pleasantly warm colours. Guests who value a cordial, dedicated and individual service in a modern setting with traditional roots will find the Hotel Schweizerhof Basel the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing