We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy trams”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof Basel
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Noisy trams”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here several times, and I'm generally happy with the accomodation. But be aware of the noise, and ask for a room facing away from the trams. Otherwise you will wake up early. Good location near SBB train station and the trams.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    206
    36
    7
    0
See reviews for
40
166
77
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

This hotel is just walking distance from the Basel SBB, no need to take a cab to the hotel. We luckily got a room on the opposite side where it's quiet you won't hear much of the noise from the trams. The staff were very nice (front desk and housekeeping). They even helped me unlock the vault (my bad). Bathroom amenities are replenished well, and the room was kept clean regularly.

Freebies include free Wi-fi, mobility ticket, breakfast, fruit in the lobby (if the fruit bowl is there), juice drinks/soda and ice cream. Wi-fi connection was good, but I think they give different passwords if you have two or more gadgets (laptop + smartphone, etc). The breakfast menu doesn't change that much, but the choices are enough for alternating for one day and the next. Though there are extra charges for egg dishes (except boiled egg found in the buffet; the shell is colored orange and yellow, which looks like tomatoes from afar).

What I liked the least is the airconditioning. It was a warmer-than-usual summer in Basel but the A/C won't cool the room enough. We tried to tweak the thermostat but to no avail.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yanni_ow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

This was my first stay I this hotel. As my title suggests, it was spotlessly clean. The room was basic, but comfortable. Wifi is free and location is excellent for city and intercity transport.
The trams do rumble by continuously so you can't open your windows (even at the back of the hotel where it is quieter). Good stop-over location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadwarriror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

-yes, nto a stunnign view, but close to train and bus to airport
-they give free transit tickets for your stay
-clean rooms
-quiet rooms
-well located
-super kind staff, always greeting me, great cleaners too (only compliant is that I had no ability to leave a sign and let the staff know I did not need my room refreshed each day)
-free breakfast with many choices
-accomodate, without me asking - they offered, early morning departures by giving early breakfast
-close to BIS - yay

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank FraserCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We used this hotel on trip down to Italy for a one night stop off. Although not a character hotel very clean and comfortable hotel with all required for good nights rest. As per other reviews once the window was closed there was no real disturbance from the tram station. Staff behind reception were very helpful but the girl behind the bar came across as sour faced as though serving people was beneath her ( maybe just an off day!). Good value at €70 although unless you are lucky to get one of the 5 outside parking spaces parking costs around £15 for the night. Ate in the Chinese self service restaurant attached to the hotel which was average but did the job. Did not have breakfast as seemed a bit toppy at €25.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GingeNSpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

It's a great hotel by central station and the staff are really helpful. They go out of their way to help and the breakfast is fantastic. There's free soft drink on hand too! I read some reviews that it is noisy - just close the window.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivalee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Pro(s)
1) Just opposite the train station
2) 15 steps to the Bank of International Settlements (if you're going there for meetings)
3) Near by grocery shop & food outlet/ restaurants

Con(s)
1) Tiny room
2) Breakfast spread nothing to shout about

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rshahriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#6 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Basel
#8 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#21 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof Basel

Property: Hotel Schweizerhof Basel
Address: Centralbahnplatz 1 | CH-4002 Basel, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > St. Alban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Basel
#9 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#11 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Schweizerhof Basel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience up-to-the-minute hotel facilities in a historic atmosphere In 1864, the Hotel Schweizerhof Basel was the first hotel to open at the Basel SBB railway station. In 1896, the hotel was sold and has remained in the ownership of the same family for four generations. It underwent a total renovation in 2006 and 2009. The result is a unique, harmonious symbiosis of the historic and modern in a perfect location. Enjoy spacious, bright and tall rooms, wide staircases and artistically forged banisters, surrounded by pleasantly warm colours. Guests who value a cordial, dedicated and individual service in a modern setting with traditional roots will find the Hotel Schweizerhof Basel the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing