We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof Basel
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just returned today after a lovely weeks holiday in the stunning Black Forest. We spent most of our time in the Freiburg area but as we were flying home from Basel,decided to stop for one night in this lovely city.We selected the Schweizerhof hotel for its convenient location for airport.This hotel has been renovated to a very high standard and is far closer to a 4 star than its listed 3 star.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balticbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    205
    36
    7
    0
See reviews for
40
166
76
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We recently stayed at Hotel Schweizerhof and got a great deal on hotels.com for a Business Class Double Room. The hotel is newly renovated with lovely hardwood floors. The washroom is lovely as well and the shower is great! The location is good too - very close to the SBB train station and a 15 minute walk from the Aldstadt (Old City). However, the bed was very unstable and felt like it might break at any moment and the blanket was not big enough for two people. The tram car noise was noticeable but not really a problem for us (we've lived in many major cities in the past and so the noise is no worse than most cities). The reception service, however, was lacking. When we checked in, we were told that breakfast was included and were shown the times for breakfast and the room for breakfast. The next morning we called reception again to ensure that breakfast was included and were ensured that it was. However, upon check-out, the hotel tried to charge us CHF 20 per person per breakfast, after explicitly telling us that it was included twice! The lady we dealt with at reception was unhelpful and insisted it was our fault. While the hotel room was nice enough, I would not return based on the poor service we received. They really need to sort out their customer service issues.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderingnomad111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I inadvertently booked our room twice over "easy to book". Found it difficult to cancel the booking, so did the staff at the hotel. BUT... The hotel itself was a stones throw from the station, clean, quiet, professionally run, just great. Definitely will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
269 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 621 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

If the 3-star rating puts you off, don't let it! This hotel is a cut above what you would expect for that level and I support their philosophy of providing great service but without extra (costly) "4 star" frills! You can't get much more central than this hotel, as it's directly across from the main SBB train station, airport bus stop and major tram interchange. This means travelers stopping along the way to somewhere else or wanting convenience to all area attractions have it made here. Yes, it is busy and you can hear the rumble of the trams, but this was not a problem for me, especially with the a/c going at night. Room furnishings were simple but comfortable and there were free soft drinks, free Wifi (try getting that in a 4-star hotel!), and the shower was fantastic - all nice plus points above expectation. Everything was spotless, as to be expected in Switzerland, and the staff were very helpful and pleasant, even remembering my coffee order each morning at breakfast. Breakfast by the way (included in my rate) was very good and included a lot of local fruits, milk products and bread, which was nice.
Overall, the convenience and extra touches would make this a good choice for travelers who want amenities and central location with a bit of character. This is not a luxury hotel, but a quality hotel that pays attention to the little things that matter!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inkwave17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

I booked this hotel because it was near the railway station and avoided the need for taxis and for that it worked well. The hotel is modern with bright, clean, nicely furnished rooms. My single room had a wider than usual single bed and a good sized bathroom. However, you could definitely hear the trams rumbling by outside. I had specifically asked for a room at the rear to avoid the noise as I was facing a very long 30 hour journey home the next day, with two long-haul flights. But I decided to make do and hoped that I would be able to sleep until I heard the loud cry of a small baby in the next room which was obviously going to recur during the night. So I asked if I could be moved and pointed out that I had asked for a quiet room. It wasn’t as if I had paid a discount price so I thought my request wasn’t unreasonable. But I was told that there was no other room available. Although when I persisted and asked if I could speak to the manager, suddenly another single room was found and I was allowed to move. However this room was even closer to the trams and it was impossible to sleep without earplugs and the noisy airconditioner running.

Otherwise it was a very pleasant hotel and the provision of a fridge on each floor containing compliementary bottles of water, soft drinks and juice is a nice touch. There is free wifi which worked well. I didn’t pay the high price for breakfast so can’t comment on it. Other than the noise, the position is good as you can use the free transport pass to hop on a tram and explore the city. But I wouldn’t stay here again unless I could get a quieter room.

Room Tip: Be sure you can get a room at the back unless you are a heavy sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladybentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
320 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed for two days in May. Ambient room.

PROs:

- very spacious room (unlike the regular ones all along the Swiss)
- renovated room
- own parking (but only 5 lots - all were busy when we came)
- location (although not in down town, but just next door to the railway station which was really convenient for us, as drove in by car and left by train)
- good staff
- nice, though not rich b/f (but what you would expect - it's onyl 3 star Hotel, nevertheless I consider it a good one)
- knowledgeable of local cuisine staff (though some dont speak English well enough)
- free wifi in the room
- tea/cofee facilties in our room
- even bathrobes and slippers!

CONs:

- noisy a/c
- no minibar whatsoever (although there is one... "common" located on your floor with very few free items)
- was hard to make/hold shower "upright"

So in the end - I would recommend to stay here for sure!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina_Ivashina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights 21st & 22nd May. Hotel is riht opposite main Basel train station. From outside Hotel you can take a bus direct to Basel Mulhouse airport- 20 min. Clean and efficent service. Very polite and helpful reception staff. 3 Star Hotel. Room clean and well equipped but no fridge. But on the same floor there is a large fridge stocked with soft drinks free of charge. Do not stay overlooking the station as there are trams running from 5 am to 12 at night. Can be very noisy. Good bar, good breakfast. Hotel gives you free card that can be used on trams and buses. Down town about 5 min by tram no 8 & 11. Lots of good resturants. Good atmosphere.

Room Tip: Have a room not overlooking the Station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amarjit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Basel
#7 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#21 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof Basel

Property: Hotel Schweizerhof Basel
Address: Centralbahnplatz 1 | CH-4002 Basel, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > St. Alban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Basel
#9 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#11 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Schweizerhof Basel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience up-to-the-minute hotel facilities in a historic atmosphere In 1864, the Hotel Schweizerhof Basel was the first hotel to open at the Basel SBB railway station. In 1896, the hotel was sold and has remained in the ownership of the same family for four generations. It underwent a total renovation in 2006 and 2009. The result is a unique, harmonious symbiosis of the historic and modern in a perfect location. Enjoy spacious, bright and tall rooms, wide staircases and artistically forged banisters, surrounded by pleasantly warm colours. Guests who value a cordial, dedicated and individual service in a modern setting with traditional roots will find the Hotel Schweizerhof Basel the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing