We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bet in Basel”
Review of GAIA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GAIA Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

A good bet to stay in Basel, surely one of the best in it's price range - $250 minimum and double that at peek times...no, nothing's cheap in Switzerland. As others have stated - excellent location, great breakfast buffet, and nice staff. Rooms are comfortable with large flat screen tv with lots of channels, well stocked bathroom. The beds could use more comfortable and larger pillows - the one's offered are tiny, the mattress is fine. The rooms should offer bathrobes - this hotel is rated as a four star, but in the US, it'd be a 3 star as there is no fitness room, or room service. For those who want to exercise, visitors can use the Hilton's fine gym across the street for 11 swiss franks a day. Stay away from the "single" rooms as they are tiny, ask for at least a comfort level for best rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papi6022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 954 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

One of our party used to be in the hotel business and he was amazed at the cleanliness of his room at the St Gotthard! The rooms aren't huge (as in most Basel hotels) but are fine and light and nicely decorated, and the bathroom was quite spacious with a great shower. The staff are lovely, helpful, friendly and welcoming and breakfast is fantastic - one of those great whatever-you-want buffets. It's convenient with a bus to the airport, right across from the train station on lots of tram lines which will take you practically anywhere you want.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Nice hotel, well located, close to the railway station. Room was not very big, but it has everything you need. Fast free wifi. Minibar contained some softdrinks and a bit of Swiss chocolate (all for free). Minibar is restocked every two days. Bathroom small, with a wonderful shower. Breakfast was wonderful, lots of choices. Waiters were very friendly. Actually, all personel was very friendly. I had a room opposite to the railway station. It was quite noisy but it didn't disturb me much. The airconditioning could not be turned off, but when asked at the reception they switched it off for me. Hotel was close to the tram, which was very easy to travel throughout the city. For free by the way. The hotel supplied a free public transport ticket. Parking was in the nearby garage against special rates. Although the rooms were extremely expensive (probably because of the art fair) I had a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: If you don't want noise from the railway station ask for a room at the backside of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Move61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Hotel is located right across from SBB Train Station and the Tram station is on the opposite side. The Bus to the Airport stops right outside SBB which made it very easy to get to the airport with my luggage and avoid paying the approx. 47.00 Swiss Francs which I had previously paid a few months ago the last time I was in Basel. Airport by bus was only 15 minutes. Extremely convenient!!

Rooms were "OK" though bathroom was extremely small (I guess normal for Europe). Breakfast was good and the guys in the reception and Breakfast areas were very friendly and helpful. My room was at the end of a short hallway, in the back where it was extremely quiet and I was happy I did not hear the Trams go by in the middle of the night. If you are planning to stay here ask for a quiet room (you won't get a good view, but you will be able to get some sleep. Those Trams can get kind of loud).

There is a Coop Supermarket right downstairs and the hotel fills the room mini-fridge every other day at no charge to guests which was great.

I would definitely stay here again in the future. I had a very pleasant stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at St. Gotthard very much. We stayed in a suite with our nine-year-old daughter and it was a beautiful room with so many amenities, including a heated bathroom floor! I would definitely stay here again. The breakfast was wonderful with lots of choices, all delicious. Highly recommend!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The Hotel St Gotthard is a charming hotel, well located by the main train station and tram interchange in Basel. For that reason, whatever you want to do while in Basel, the location is excellent. And despite that, we found it to be quiet and unaffected by the noise one might expect (our rooms were to the side of the hotel). All of the staff we encountered were very welcoming, and happy to try to make sure our stay was an enjoyable one. The rooms were of reasonable size for Europe, clean, and the bathroom had a great shower. The minibar was complimentary, and Wifi was free and reliable. In the morning, the breakfast buffet on offer was excellent, and the staff made a nice cappuccino. In short, we thoroughly enjoyed the stay and will stay here again when next in Basel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 007Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Famuly Hotel, not very big, but very charming. Very nice and helpfull stuff. Not very big rooms, but modern and very clean.
Wonderful breakfeast room, reminding vintage. Nice and complete breakfast, with delicious bread types, and fresh fruit.
Very central, close to train staion, metro and city center. Easy to walk by.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 52 in Basel
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Basel
#7 of 52 in Basel
1,021 reviews
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#5 of 52 in Basel
493 reviews
Hotel Euler
#14 of 52 in Basel
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GAIA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GAIA Hotel

Address: Centralbahnstrasse 13 - 15, Basel 4051, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel St. Gotthard Basel)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Basel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#4 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range: $161 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GAIA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegantly furnished 86 rooms not only provide for a restful and enjoyable stay to the guests of the GAIA Hotel. Especially businessmen, congressional and fair visitors can use their hotel room in order to work thanks to the comfortable furniture and the modern technological infrastructure. Delicately used art deco ornamental elements, warm colours and selected pictures of known artists contribute to the interior of the hotel in which one feels simply well at first sight. The in the Belle Epoque style developed banqueting room not only serves as a breakfast room, it reveals itself as a unique jewel for special receptions, company and family events or gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your GAIA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Gotthard Hotel
St Gotthard Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing