We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel lovely staff”
Review of GAIA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GAIA Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming hotel lovely staff”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed here at first for one night and although we were late arriving the staff were very friendly. The room was small but as we had only booked a standard room we expected this. The room was lovely decorated and spotless. The towels were fluffy and toiletries plentiful. The breakfast was lovely and the staff extremely pleasant and helpful. We had to stay in Basel on our way back and booked a superior room for 2 nights which was lovely and as it was our wedding anniversary the staff had made a special effort. Could not fault this hotel and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doughtyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    269
    48
    10
    5
See reviews for
102
276
51
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The hotel served all our needs. It is close to central train station and to bus 50 stop, which is important of you go to the airport at 5am. We asked for a quiet room and indeed got one with windows facing backyard. The room was big and even had two bathrooms. Breakfast was very good. Staff was very friendly, explained us everything we asked and even offered meal box on the day of our early derarture.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejbystrand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I returned to St. Gotthard for my third visit. The hotel is in a great location but what makes it special is the service and the staff. The staff are very friendly and genuinely seem interested in ensuring that you have a pleasant stay. I will always try to stay at Hotel St. Gotthard whenever I visit Basel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is a small hotel near the train station in Basel, and very convenient to the old town. Staff service was excellent and our room was small but quiet and comfortable. The rate included a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodiehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We needed somewhere convenient for a 24 hour over nighter in Basel ..... we wanted to be close to the station as we were arriving and leaving by train ... the St Gotthard couldnt have been a better choice - not even one minute from the station and the tram stop. The reception staff were very friendly. The room was cosy - comfortable bed, nice carpeting and we really liked the bathroom which was fitted out to a high standard. The breakfast buffest was excellent too - caught for choice! Add to that free wi-fi, free mini-bar and freetransport in the City during our stay and we were very happy. It was also very convenient for the Altstadt and I was going to St Jakob's Park and that only took 15mins too .... the hotel is very expensive ( but most in Switzerland are ) but it felt like good value for money ... friendly, comfortable, good food, great location ...... we would definitely use it again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We had to make a last minute booking and were pleasantly surprised by the staff willingness to accommodate our request. It's an amazing hotel with excellent location (just 1 min away from the train station). The room was very comfortable, clean and spacious enough for three of us. The staff even put an extra bed for our kid at no extra cost. It is also to be mentioned that the bathroom was very clean and had an amazing shower- something that is very important for me. I will definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends and know exactly where i'll be staying in Basel next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alangolightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was surprised by the very helpful and friendly staff. My room was ready at a very early check-in time. There was a strike at the airline that I was taking that day and I have informed the hotel the day before for a potential cancellation of my room. They called me in the morning to check whether I have safely arrived and came to the breakfast room to shake my hand when they learned I finally made it. We have also received very good restaurant recommendations each time we asked. Very friendly and extraordinary service.... Hotel is also very well situated just across the railway station and very good access within the city to everywhere with the tram lines. I would not hesitate to go for the same hotel for another short stay in Basel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idil Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Hotel Basel
#7 of 51 in Basel
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 51 in Basel
540 reviews
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#4 of 51 in Basel
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GAIA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GAIA Hotel

Property: GAIA Hotel
Address: Centralbahnstrasse 13 - 15, Basel 4051, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel St. Gotthard Basel)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Basel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#4 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GAIA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegantly furnished 86 rooms not only provide for a restful and enjoyable stay to the guests of the GAIA Hotel. Especially businessmen, congressional and fair visitors can use their hotel room in order to work thanks to the comfortable furniture and the modern technological infrastructure. Delicately used art deco ornamental elements, warm colours and selected pictures of known artists contribute to the interior of the hotel in which one feels simply well at first sight. The in the Belle Epoque style developed banqueting room not only serves as a breakfast room, it reveals itself as a unique jewel for special receptions, company and family events or gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your GAIA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Gotthard Hotel
St Gotthard Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing