We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Pleasure”
Review of GAIA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GAIA Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I use this hotel a lot for business travel and love the family atmosphere and friendly staff. There's always a friendly reception, people remember me and my preferences which makes such a refreshing change when you travel as much as I do. The rooms are really clean and bright with free soft drinks in the mini bar and tea/coffee facilities. Breakfast is great with a really fresh selection and super service. Please note there is no lunch or evening meal service available. I love the cockateils in the reception lounge as it reminds me of home.
The hotel is well placed for travel across Basel as it is next to the main tram hub and opposite the main station. Good restaurants, fast food and museums etc. are all easily accessible.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PonyGirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 996 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is the usual option of the company I work for business and training travel accomodation and I have to say that they really hit the bull´s eye with this selection. Easy to reach from the airport and just in front of the railway station. Good area and a transportation card to go everywhere in Basel when stayed there.

Service is very good (I think sometimes more dedicated than expected and for that reason it is very common to hear people knocking on your room several times to be sure everything is going well) and breakfast is awesome!...

The only one improvement opportunity I see on this hotel is to have a Restaurant for lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side seems to be better and more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The person at check-in was very friendly and helpful. He upgraded us to a lovely room, with no additional cost. In all rooms, there is free Wi-Fi, coffee and tea, and all items in the mini-fridge are also free. When we came downstairs after check-in and were walking through the lobby, they asked specifically if we were satisfied with our accommodations. The breakfast the next morning was wonderful--beautiful room and great food (a lot of choices and good quality). Our server was warm and friendly. I would absolutely stay there again and recommend it to others. As a bonus, the hotel is directly across the street from the Basel SBB Train Station, which was extremely convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I regularly stay in the St Gotthard when I am in Basel for business. Friendly service, rooms with high standard. Complimentary WIFI and (alcohol free) drinks from the minibar. Very good location, near the station and 10 minutes walk to the old city centre. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conrad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I attended a meeting at the BIS in July and stayed in the St Gotthard for the first time in many years. I actually forgot how good it is. I like the size (nice and small) of the St Gotthard, the free wifi, free breakfast buffet and the most beautiful dining room. What a pleasure to be back. I am in Basel at least twice a year and I will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hendrik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I travel to Basel regularly as my head office is based there and my preference is always to stay at the St Gotthard. I have stayed in all of the main hotels in the city and this in my opinion is the best without a shadow of a doubt. The rooms have all been refurbished to a very high standard and include all amenities you would expect. Nice touches are the free mini-bar, all British tv channels, great showers, free wifi etc etc. The breakfasts are great and have all you would expect and more. I recommend the St Gotthard to both business and pleasure guests.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J_Slater76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here based on reviews and it sure lived up to its reputation. Great location, free minibar, free breakfast buffet, friendly staff...it has it all. They also gave us a free transport pass which helped to get around the city. All the trams are just a minute away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suemay634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#10 of 52 in Basel
639 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Hotel Basel
#7 of 52 in Basel
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Euler
#15 of 52 in Basel
285 reviews
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#5 of 52 in Basel
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GAIA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GAIA Hotel

Address: Centralbahnstrasse 13 - 15, Basel 4051, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel St. Gotthard Basel)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Basel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#4 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range: $166 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GAIA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegantly furnished 86 rooms not only provide for a restful and enjoyable stay to the guests of the GAIA Hotel. Especially businessmen, congressional and fair visitors can use their hotel room in order to work thanks to the comfortable furniture and the modern technological infrastructure. Delicately used art deco ornamental elements, warm colours and selected pictures of known artists contribute to the interior of the hotel in which one feels simply well at first sight. The in the Belle Epoque style developed banqueting room not only serves as a breakfast room, it reveals itself as a unique jewel for special receptions, company and family events or gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your GAIA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Gotthard Hotel
St Gotthard Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing