We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint Country Hotel in the City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of GAIA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
GAIA Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quaint Country Hotel in the City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hotel St Gotthard offers almost everything the big chains offer. Service is fantastic and friendly. From the breakfast staff to the reception staff, everyone is friendly and helpful. The only drawback is it sits just near a busy tram route which can be noisy until late in the evening and starting again early in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back. The rooms to the front are noisy due to the tram and none of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank citytraveler3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotthard4002, Geschäftsführer at GAIA Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so very much for your very kind and encouraging review. Your contribution helps us better understand the needs and concerns of our customers and what is appreciated in our hotel.
We hope to have yet again another chance to welcome you at our hotel despite the tram noise.
Warmest regards from Basel
Your Hotel St. Gotthard Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    247
    43
    10
    4
See reviews for
88
244
48
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Impeccable attention to detail in everything. Usually in hotels there's little things here and there that amount to you feeling a bit let down- Not in this case. Perfect location being right next to the station.

Room Tip: Just be aware that if you get a room facing the street, you will learn trams are surprisingly loud a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotthard4002, Geschäftsführer at GAIA Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so very much for your very kind and encouraging review. Your contribution helps us better understand the needs and concerns of our customers and what is appreciated. Thank you for complimenting us on our service-orientation. There’s nothing more rewarding than receiving a direct positive response from our guest for the efforts made.
We hope to have yet again another chance to welcome you at our hotel!
Warm regards from Basel
Your Hotel St. Gotthard Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Hotel St. Gotthard in Basel, Switzerlnd is a small family hotel that provides exemplary service and maintains an atmosphere that makes each and every gust feel as if they are one of the family.

I hve been a guest of the Family Geyer-Arel for nearly thirty years and have warched their family and hotel grow into the "Flower" of Basel.

The rooms are extraordinarily comfortable and clean. The location is prefect as it is located directly accross the street from the Banhof SBB and the tram station. The breakfast each day is a feast and a great and healthy way to start the day.

The staff has served the family for long periods of time. They remeber who most repeat guests are and make them feel welcome and special. Nothing is beyond their scope when it comes to assisting or satisfying the needs of a guest.

There are may choices in Basel, but only one Hotel St. Gotthard!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotthard4002, Geschäftsführer at GAIA Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Norm
Thank you so very much for your very kind and encouraging review. Thank you for complimenting us on our service-orientation, goodwill and kindness. There’s nothing more rewarding than receiving a direct positive response from our guest and friend for the efforts made.
We're looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel again!
Warm regards from Basel
Your Hotel St. Gotthard Basel Team and
Your Basel Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on our recent trip to Europe. It is very conveniently located by the train and bus stations. We arrived at the hotel early as we were getting off of a river cruise and were greeted by Patrick. He was very friendly and helpful and was able to get us into our room early. The breakfast room was beautifully decorated and the food selection was vast. The hotel staff in the dining room were friendly and efficient. The room was beautiful and the bed was good. My only criticism is that the temperature when we stayed was up in the 70's and even though the front desk staff assured us the air conditioning was on it was stifling in the room in the afternoon and evening. We spent 2 nights there and could not get cool enough. When we questioned the staff we were told that the room temperature would only be a few degrees cooler then the outside temperature. Even with the windows open there was no breeze so it stayed warm in the room. overall, we had a great stay we just wish we could have been more comfortable temperature wise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I'm in Basel regularly on business and always stay at the St. Gotthard. Location across from the train station is very convenient both for arriving/departing the city and catching the local trams. The old city is reached by the number 8 or 11 tram or you can walk, which is a nice option in good weather. The staff is always friendly and helpful making you feel welcomed. They live their motto "come as guest leave as a friend". Rooms are not luxurious, but very clean and comfortable, with many recently refurbished. Free wifi internet is included. The breakfast room is beautiful with an old world charm and the food, typical continental style, is good and fresh. The hotel has no bar or restaurant, but within 1-2 blocks there are many choices of cuisine and price. Finding something nearby is never a problem. I will be back in Basel and definitely back at the St. Gotthard.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms are in the back or side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very convenient, next to train station and tram / airport bus stops. Very comfortable hotel, with a friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast is very good, though have a look before selecting as the choice is wide. The breakfast room itself is a fantastic old room with stained glass windows and there is a great range of art throughout the hotel. Free wi-fi is easy to use, and there are 300+ channels on the TV, including the main UK ones. No bar or restaurant but this means no related noise in the evening, and the staff can recommend and book restaurants that can be reached by tram and bus using the free travel card that comes with the booking. There are 200+ restaurants in Basel and most cuisines are available.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel do not get the tram noise. If on the front, always close the shutters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed with friends and had a great time .The hotel is centrally located being less than 500mtrs from the bus stop to the airport,the train station and the trams.There are bars nearby and a very decent asian restaurant, which is in a canteen style but the food was first class and reasonably priced ( mr Wongs) a few doors away.
The hotel was extremely clean and i had a brilliant room (457) set on two levels.The staff were friendly and accommadating,the breakfast fresh and plentiful.If travelling from the airport take a number 50 bus which runs every few minutes from just outside the terminal.It drops you outside the central station,The hotel give you a free travel card so use the tram system to get about,the number 8 takes you to the old town and river.The 15 and 16 for sightseeing and a number 14 for the football stadium,although you will have to walk to the connection or take an 8 one stop and change for this service.
One note of caution is the trams start early ( about 5.30) and run past the hotel so this may well disturb you.My friends were woken by deliveries to the rear of the hotel so please request a quiet room.Well worth staying here though and if in Basel again would definately rebook

Room Tip: room 457 was an excellent room but be aware of the tram passing outside early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Hotel Basel
#6 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#4 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#21 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GAIA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GAIA Hotel

Property: GAIA Hotel
Address: Centralbahnstrasse 13 - 15, Basel 4051, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel St. Gotthard Basel)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Basel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#4 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GAIA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegantly furnished 86 rooms not only provide for a restful and enjoyable stay to the guests of the GAIA Hotel. Especially businessmen, congressional and fair visitors can use their hotel room in order to work thanks to the comfortable furniture and the modern technological infrastructure. Delicately used art deco ornamental elements, warm colours and selected pictures of known artists contribute to the interior of the hotel in which one feels simply well at first sight. The in the Belle Epoque style developed banqueting room not only serves as a breakfast room, it reveals itself as a unique jewel for special receptions, company and family events or gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your GAIA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Gotthard Hotel
St Gotthard Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing