We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"come as a guest, leave as a friend"”
Review of GAIA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GAIA Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“"come as a guest, leave as a friend"”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is the motto you find everywhere in the hotel: with the small champagne bottle we had in the room, with the box of chocolates we received on the second day, on the nice toiletries, with the free drinks in the mini-bar and the choice of 2 different pillows. We stayed in rooms 501 and 503, and they are beautiful, comfortable, with a marble bathroom with natural light and both shower box and bathtub. Breakfast was very nice, with eggs, salmon, cheeses and all sorts of rolls: coffee was lukewarm, but apparently there was a problem with the coffee machine. The service was very kind, fixing our internet problem in no time and helpful with recommending restaurants and the best bus route. Will certainly go back again.

Room Tip: the rooms on the 5th floor are beautiful, but they are not the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliane_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    268
    48
    10
    5
See reviews for
100
275
51
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I have been on many European trips and St. Gotthard is by far one of my best hotel experiences. ALL of the front desk receptionists were very polite and helpful. We had many complicated requests including assistance in helping me with a surprise anniversary church service in another town for my folks who were also at St. Gotthard. St. Gotthard made sure every request was met. Alexandra especially and Emmanuel were very resourceful and always served with a smile. Hahn even accompanied my mother to the doctor after a traumatic bike accident. I could not have asked for better service. The breakfast buffets were fresh and the rooms always clean. The location is perfect for anyone who wants to hop on a train every day and although it is in a busy part of town, the rooms are quiet. The only thing I missed was a fitness room where I could work off all the bread and cheese I ate while I was in Switzerland!

Room Tip: My folks and I stayed in a room with a bed and a sofa that made into a bed. This worked well becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I always stay at the St Gotthard when in Basel, which is quite often.
It is in a convenient place, right at the train station and tram hub. (And like all hotels in Basel,you are given a free tram roaming ticket for the duraion of your stay)
The rooms are comfortable. There is a fre mini bar, WiFi, extremely wide range of TV channels - many in English.
The breakfasts are superb, and included in the room rate.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
Always my frst choice for Basel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back. The front rooms overlook the street and the trams start early. Its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Stayed there in February, the staff is great and very helpful, they speak French, English and German.
The rooms are really clean and spacious with a mini-bar, TV and Wi-Fi.
A buffet is given for breakfast with eggs, cooked meats, fresh fruits, toasts, jam and drinks (orange juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate).
Train Station is just in front of the hotel as well as the public transport. It's still pretty easy to walk around town from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotthard4002, Manager at GAIA Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your very kind and positiv review, which helps us better understand the needs and concerns of our customers.
We hope to have another chance to welcome you at our hotel!
Warm regards from Basel
Your Hotel St. Gotthard Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koh chang
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

It's not pure advertisement but the reality. Very nicely decorated rooms and great breakfast. Most important for me we had real coffee and not brown water. So I was immediately in good mood and didn't have to run to the first coffee shop around.
As you leave the hotel you receive Swiss chocolate which makes you even forget the bill.
Will surely go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seyyahKohChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

My second visit to Basel and third stay at this Hilton.

My first review as the last visit was before I joined Trip Advisor.

Very convenient location can be seen from the main railway station, once you look the right way…..

The price is reasonable for Switzerland but our currency has lost a third of its value against the Swiss Franc since I was last there

We were warmly welcomed. I had a small single room with a queen sized bed. The room numbers are slightly confusing as perhaps there are 2 buildings. Unlike 99.9% of hotels your floor number may not tally with the first number of your room number.

Didn’t eat in the hotels and there is no formal bar although they can serve you drinks. The minibar is complimentary, mainly soft drinks although 2 bottle of beer I remember.

Receptions staff helped with wireless access issue and provided us with our free transit card.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BasilsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Vicenza, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed here in November when visiting Basel during their Autumn festival, which if you haven't been is a great time, with good food, games and a great atmosphere. The hotel is very conviently located right across from the train station, which is still a pretty easy walk (10-15 mins.) from the downtown. The breakfast is fantastic, and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful my wife and I really enjoyed it there. On top of all of this the minibar drinks and snacks in our room were FREE! I've traveled all over Europe and never experienced this before, which is great because Switzerland tends to be quite expensive. I would certainly stay here again if I return to Basel, great hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Hotel Basel
#8 of 51 in Basel
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#7 of 51 in Basel
536 reviews
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#4 of 51 in Basel
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GAIA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GAIA Hotel

Property: GAIA Hotel
Address: Centralbahnstrasse 13 - 15, Basel 4051, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel St. Gotthard Basel)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Basel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#4 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GAIA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegantly furnished 86 rooms not only provide for a restful and enjoyable stay to the guests of the GAIA Hotel. Especially businessmen, congressional and fair visitors can use their hotel room in order to work thanks to the comfortable furniture and the modern technological infrastructure. Delicately used art deco ornamental elements, warm colours and selected pictures of known artists contribute to the interior of the hotel in which one feels simply well at first sight. The in the Belle Epoque style developed banqueting room not only serves as a breakfast room, it reveals itself as a unique jewel for special receptions, company and family events or gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your GAIA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Gotthard Hotel
St Gotthard Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing