We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we loved it and we"ll be back"”
Review of GAIA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GAIA Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“we loved it and we"ll be back"”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

wonderful hotel, attention and a delicious breakfast
roberto & Rachel

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel080944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    256
    48
    10
    5
See reviews for
91
252
50
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sf,ca
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This was a nice hotel. It was quiet. Staff was friendly. it was well located. Room was OK sized. So what was wrong? I stayed here during Art Basel. If the room was half the price I would have spoken quite highly of it but when you are paying $400/night a hotel should be exceptional and this certainly wasn't worth the price; then again, I had no other options in Basel!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Nice hotel in a fantastic location if travelling - we were catching the early morning TGV to Paris, so could not be better, just cross the road. Unlike other cities the location by the railway station was actually quite attractive too and I felt quite safe at night with my teen son wandering the street looking for chocolate. .
Hotel itself has rather small rooms for a four star hotel, but they are clean and comfortable, small bathroom, again clean and well equipped.
The staff was very pleasant and helpful.
The highlight was the breakfast, the most wonderf art deco(?) hall with rows and rows of food. Heaven. For an overnight stay I would definitely come again, to stay longer ..hm probably , only because the rooms are on smaller size, no other reason. Could be great for city breaks, trams stops round the corner.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigfatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murren, Switzerland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Came out of the railway station and walked 25 metres to the front door. Pleasant staff. The room was small but had all the things I expected. Generally a good experience, a little bit of noise from the tram but the double glazing works very well and the room has A/C. The problem I experienced was the work being done to the shop next door which started at 0500 and stopped at 0800. Having got to bed at midnight the night before this was a bad night for sleeping. Breakfast was great and the breakfast room a lovely space, beautifully decorated and stylish.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weemacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

I picked the hotel as i needed to be near the station for travel to Zurich.

It was a sensible price in a very expensive city. Food, service and cleanliness were good, but no aircon meant its was uncomfortable.

I liked the free mini bar with a few juices, waters and beers.

Stay when its not over 30 degrees.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wg284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

This wonderful hotel combines modern conveniences with old world charm. The staff treat you like family and the breakfast is 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadWarriorAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Having taken the TGV from congested and seemingly ever more decaying and dirty Paris, it was a delight to arrive in Basel for the first time. They were steam-cleaning the floor of the train station when we arrived! Basel is wonderful place, easliy on par with Zurich and Geneva. The St. Gotthard is literally right across the street from the main train station and a half a block from the main tram/trolley station. The hotel provides all guests with a mobility pass that affords free publc transportation, which allowed us to wait to activate our Swiss Pass. The hotel staff are very professional. The hotel is immaculate, even if the decor is a bit like staying with your parents or grandparents. We stayed in a family suite, which had two bathrooms. The refrigerator in the room was a nice touch. The breakfast was above average, but not the most amazing in Switzerland. Our room faced a soul-less inner area, with widely opening windows. I could see how street noise could be an issue facing the street. There is a Coop grocery store right next door and a Migros in the train station. Overall, this is an expensive option but very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRV_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Basel
#9 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#3 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel Schweizerhof Basel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GAIA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GAIA Hotel

Property: GAIA Hotel
Address: Centralbahnstrasse 13 - 15, Basel 4051, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel St. Gotthard Basel)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Basel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#4 Business Hotel in Basel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GAIA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegantly furnished 86 rooms not only provide for a restful and enjoyable stay to the guests of the GAIA Hotel. Especially businessmen, congressional and fair visitors can use their hotel room in order to work thanks to the comfortable furniture and the modern technological infrastructure. Delicately used art deco ornamental elements, warm colours and selected pictures of known artists contribute to the interior of the hotel in which one feels simply well at first sight. The in the Belle Epoque style developed banqueting room not only serves as a breakfast room, it reveals itself as a unique jewel for special receptions, company and family events or gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your GAIA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Gotthard Hotel
St Gotthard Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing