We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but shrewd staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel City Inn
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    102
    40
    15
    7
See reviews for
25
78
33
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Right across from central train station and all the trams. Staff is great and very service oriented. Rooms are small but hey what do you expect, its Europe. Very clean, rooms and public areas. I will stay here again. Free internet is a real plus!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRT_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dfankhauser, Manager at Hotel City Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Hotel Euler-Guest
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are pleased you had an enjoable stay.
Kind regards
Daniel Fankhauser
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a verry interesting hotel. It is within the Euler Hotel and there is a special convaluted way of getting to your room. The room is super clean and small but not too small. We had a ceiling window which made it less claustrophobic and we were out most of the time. I just felt like a second class citizen because the services are way less than the Euler. I had to call for shampoo.
No coffee and I saw it available in the hall area of the Euler but not the City Inn. Bkfst is horribly expensive. Next time B&&b or at least coffee incuded in hotel. But my main interest this time was location and all we had to do was cross the street from the train station. Manor dept store across the middle bridge is a great place to eat. great prices and good food.

Room Tip: no pool accident to touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunny2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Positive:
- Next to the train station
- Same reception desk as hotel Euler, hence same services available
- Free WiFi
- Check-out time 12:00h
- Starbucks next door

Challenges:
- Very small room: 10m2
- Very small bathroom
- I hate carpets in hotel rooms! -> how can this be clean?
- It's easy to get lost on the way to the room or from the room to the entrance

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zerouno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

City Inn is the back part of Hotel Euler building. When exiting from Basel SBB station, head straight to Hotel Euler for check-in (we didn't and had to go around). Having checked in at the Euler desk, you would then be showed the way to the City Inn part through inside corridors. There is an elevator, but you also need to climb a flight of stairs afterwards. This is is the only disadvantage I could find.

Our room was clean with comfortable bed and good facilities. Free WiFi does *not* require an SMS - read the login page carefully and click the link that asks to login by room number and name).

Outside City Inn/Euler building there are tramways that go directly into the city center (#11 and #4 if I remember correctly). Hotel gives you free all-day-use tickets to these tramways.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SV_2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

the room we had was quite large and very comfortable. The bathroom was ver large, double sinks and a gigantic walk in shower. Staff were helpful with getting the Internet on my iPad as the set up was a little different from other hotels I had used. We asked for extra pillows - no problem, asked for plates and silverware so we could eat a meal in our room - no problem, everything we asked for was quickly provided, including advice on see

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TouringTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almancil, Portugal
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Really small rooms but very well designed. Lovely comfy pillows and bed covers.
Centrally located with transportation write outside.
This hotel is inside another hotel and they only have an elevator to the first floor but the staff are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-France R, Deputy General Manager at Hotel City Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Hotel City Inn-Guest
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are pleased you had a pleasant stay with us.
Hopefully see you soon at the Hotel City Inn. Kind regards.
Marie-France Richert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Hotel Euler
#16 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
ibis Basel Bahnhof
#17 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#21 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metropol Hotel Basel
#25 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#41 of 51 in Basel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel Schweizerhof Basel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Inn

Property: Hotel City Inn
Address: Centralbahnplatz 14, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Vorstädte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Inn is a stylish boutique hotel, totally renovated in 2011, in a contemporary art decor. This 3 star hotel is located adjacent to the Hotel Euler, a traditional 4 star hotel; they both belong to the Manz Family. The City Inn has 30 non-smooking rooms, 8 of which are deluxe. Some rooms include separate living areas and a terrace. We kindly advise that not all of the rooms do have an elevator access. All services offered to the Hotel Euler guests are also available to the City Inn guests, for instance free WIFI internet access, Video on Demand TV and breakfast buffet. A Starbucks coffee shop, located at the entrance of the building, completes the food and beverage choice.If you are looking to spend a nice weekend with your girlfriend or if you are on a business trip, the City Inn in Basel is the perfect hotel in the right location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing