We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, few minutes away from the old city, wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence du Soleil
Ranked #7 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Basel
Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, few minutes away from the old city, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Wonderful staff, very helpful and friendly!
Very good choice when planning visiting the old city. Quick access to restaurants, grocery and bio food stores, to public transportation. In the neighbourhood there is a nice park, great for jogging. Very clean units, laundry in the basement, wifi and breakfast available.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JoannDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great location only 5 minute walk from old city. Groceries and natural food store within the block. The apartments are very clean and quite. Had a small balcony, lots of windows and light, with blackout shades at night. Great firm comfortable bed and very clean bedding. The room is cleaned each morning, with fresh towels. Very helpful and friendly manager. Excellent place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UsAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

Just a few steps away from the historic downtown (appr. 10mins by foot) in a nice and quiet neighbourhood with a direct tram to Messetower (where I work when in Basel) and the airport bus close by this is a place I recommend everyone coming to Basel. It is much more personal and cheaper (excellent value for the price!!) than an international hotel chain with very friendly staff!
Plus I can store my personal belongings in a box each time I leave Basel. When back in the apartment - my box is already in the room, waiting for me. This allows me to travel with very light luggage only..
Sometimes I prefer to cook my own spaghetti and appreciate the close by Migros.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Armin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Residence du Soleil has an excellent location, practically in the center but in a quiet neighborhood. Public transport is easily reachable and all important locations in downtown Basel, such as Marktplatz and the Rhine are within short (10 min) walking distance.

The apartments are comfortable and clean. The staff is very pleasant and cooperative, and the apartment was cleaned very tidily every workday. Breakfast is served in a nice caffe on the ground floor and comes in very handily if you are on a tight schedule all day.

The offered wireless internet worked flawlessly and another good point is the availability of laundry service (but do have 1 Frank coins with you if you plan to do it on your own).

All in all, Residence is highly recommended for anyone staying in Basel and can be very comfortable even for long stays.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Velimir Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

The apartments are in a quiet neighbourhood just outside central Basel, about a 10 min walk, with both bus and tram stop within a 1 min walk. The staff were very friendly and could not have been more helpful.

The apartment was large enough for me , my wife and 3 month old baby - when they visited. Was cleaned on a daily basis (Mon to Fri), and the well equipped kitchenette was adequate for preparing meals when we decided not to eat out .

I would thoroughly recommend the Residence du Soleil for anyone wishing to stay in Basel for a week or more.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#4 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#9 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence du Soleil

Property: Residence du Soleil
Address: Schuetzenmattstrasse 40, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located close to the business and shopping center of Basel the apartment-house 'Residence du Soleil' offers accommodation for extended stays at reasonable rates. Public transport connections to railway station/airport/city center are within walking distance. All apartments have a separate kitchen, a balcony and are nicely furnished with all modern amenities. Housekeeping and continental breakfast are included from Monday to Friday, wireless internet access is free for the whole duration of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Residence du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing