We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loving animals”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zoo Basel

Zoo Basel
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.92*
and up
Basel Zoo Entrance Ticket with Hotel Pick and Drop Off Included
Ranked #7 of 151 things to do in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Loving animals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Wow! As an animal lover, I hung it here for more than 3 hours. It was a wonderful time. Maintenance and care for animals in this zoo is remarkable. I suggest that families with children, this one of the best places in Basel to hang around.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    480
    119
    18
    15
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
246 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A real gem of a zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

The zoo complete with an aquarium is a must see, especially with children or grandchildren. the recently completed monkey house is a state of the art exhibition.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank HarryR37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nature feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

The zoo doesn't feel like it's located in the city, with lots of trees in the area, it feels like you're in a real nature park and not a zoo. We came in early Saturday morning and there's not much visitors then. It was feeding time when we came, so the animals didn't roam around their habitat. There were a variety of animals, including flamingos and porcupines, which I didn't expect that the zoo had them.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank yanni_ow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Shpalentor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Absolutely brilliant zoo! Great range of animals. Can get really close to all of them. Not busy AT ALL, we went on a sunday and it was dead. free on first sunday of the month for those planning a trip. All the key zoo favourites and a few more thrown in. Superb! Great value too base on cost of most things in basel!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dsw_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Well, what can I say - I have lived in Basel for almost 6 years and just been for the first time. I was really suprised by the variety of animals they have here. OK, it's a zoo, and many of the animals don't have as much room as they should, but zoo's do good work too. I took my 17 year old son, who really didn't want to go, but he actually enjoyed himself, as did we all. If you are in Basel, it's a nice way to spend a day, whatever the weather.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BaselTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zoo Basel also viewed

Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to Zoo Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing