We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel D - Basel
Nearby Hotels
$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$147
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$120
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Rochat(Basel)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Balade(Basel)(Great Value!)
$114
$111
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Victoria(Basel)(Great Value!)
$118
$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$148
$143
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$173
$165
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel City Inn(Basel)(Great Value!)
$112
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Passage(Basel)
$130
$126
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (832)
Filter reviews
832 results
Traveler rating
402
360
52
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
360
52
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverold townrain showerboutique hotelgreat hoteldeluxe roomexcellent locationnice bathroomshort walksmall hotelgood sizeles trois roisspent two nightspublic transportcomfortable roomsnice staytop floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
560 - 565 of 832 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2011

The hotel was for me a very nice surprise. The cleanness, service, bathroom, fitness, sauna, etc.
Breakfast buffet consisted of nice cheese variations, ham, Prosciutto, cereals, toasts, bread, coffee, tee, eggs, etc.. etc.. etc..
Wi-Fi free internet worked without any outages the whole time and it was really HI-SPEED!!

For Sauna you will get free special robe and flip flops.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mishiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2011

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for such a positive feedback which we obviously shared right away with our team. They felt very much rewarded with your words. We have a passion for our guests and we love to indulge them.

We are also delighted that you have enjoyed our breakfast buffet with all the fresh goods it can offer.

Regarding the internet, we have dedicated a real budget in installing a safe and high speed WIFI connection in the whole establishment. This WIFI is strictly reserved for our hotel guest and is also available free of charge.

With my best regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Although not attractive from outside, Hotel D is very well designed inside. wonderful gym and sauna areas. Our room was small but designed with a lot of attention to details. 100% insulation from any street noise. Very good bed and crispy clean sheets and towels. Nice bathroom. the day staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. excellent value!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyorda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2011

Dear valued guest,

What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to share your D experience and to recognize so many of talented staff!

As you have clearly mentionnned the hotel D is located in the heart of Basel close and walking distance to whole major points of interest.
We will look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kiindest Regards,

Julien Baly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Hotel D delivered excellent value for money for my short stay. The design is fresh and my room also had a decent view. The hotel combines minimalist with very comfortable elements. The Bed is great, the bathroom too, and the service is professional although rather tightly resourced - but probably normal for an efficiently run small hotel like this one. Had no issues at all.

My room was not very large, but to be fair, this is declared on their site: I took a "Standard Room", which was perfect for myself but would have been probably too stuffy for two. In fact, the Deluxe category is only a little more expensive and seems to offer the additional space required for two with suitcases.

I recommend this place!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2011

Dear Madam and Sir,

Greatly appreciate your kind feedback following your stay at the Hotel D - Basel and it was with pleasure that your comments were shared with our entire team.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Julien Baly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Highly recommended. Modern, very clean, with very nice and helpful staff.
Great balcony on 6th floor too, a must ask for the smokers

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatchiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Front Office Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank your for your great comment on Tripadvisor.
We are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the D.

Our balcony on the 6th floor are great to enjoy the old town and also to relax.

We would be delighted to welcome you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

The Front Desk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

very nice stylish design hotel, with quite rooms, friendly staff and all features in the room that a business traveller needs (light, plugs, calm room) etc.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuliainUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2011

Dear Juliain,

Thank you for your fabulous comment on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely happy that you have enjoyed the D and all it has to offer.
As you have clearly mentionned all our rooms have extra plugs, media hubs and Ipod / Iphone Docking Station.

Our staff at the D are here to serve you in the best possible way. We are pleased that you have appreciated our colleagues.

Thank you again for visiting us and we are looking forward to welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,

The Front Desk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews