We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel on Basel!”
Review of Hotel D - Basel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel D - Basel
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best hotel on Basel!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

This was my best stay at a hotel in Basel by a long shot. I travel to Basel every year, and no other hotel provided a better location, cleaner and modern rooms, friendlier staff, and better value than Hotel D. This hotel is a gem by the river Rhine and very affordable especially if traveling with a small family.
The staff went out of their way to help with our bags, suggesting nearby restaurants, places to visit, and easy parking solutions. I would definitely recommend staying here if you care about the perfect location, friendly staff, and great value!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank espnjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear guest,

We hope this response find you well.

Thank you so much for your review and tremendous compliments. I am so happy to hear that we were able to make your stay in Basel so special.

We look forward to welcoming you all back for many family reunions to come!

Best wishes,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    307
    50
    8
    6
See reviews for
89
310
42
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days on business. It was a bit difficult to locate, as it looks like an office building. The front desk staff are all lovely and speak multiple languages. The hotel is very clean and quiet. The rooms are very & tidy, albeit a bit small. The rooms are small like you'd find in Manhattan, but they are so clean and so comfortable, you would never compare these rooms to Manhattan. The floors are dark hard wood, the bed is made up with a crisp white comforter, and the beds have tiny reading lamps on either side for nighttime reading. The location is excellent as Trams 11 & 14 both stop within 1 block, and the "city center", more like a village center, is only a short 5 minute walk with lots of shops and restaurants and bistros and interesting architecture. Hotel D has a nice breakfast with fresh fruits, meats, and freshly squeezed juices. On the same block, 4 doors down, is a little tiny market with fresh fruits outside, and snacks & drinks inside. This hotel has a small gym in the basement; its new and immaculate, but it feels a bit like being in a dungeon as it's in the basement, and I didn't see anyone using it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor, regarding your stay at the Hotel D Basel!

We are delighted to read that you had a memorable time among us and that you appreciated your room, our precious staff, our breakfast and our great locatino right in the heart of Basel.

Your comment is very important to us and we will make sure to share it with our teams.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to Hotel D - Basel!

Kindest regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have stayed at the HotelD a number of times over the last 4 years and it is always clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. It is the hotel that I check first for availability when I am Basel and it is very handy for catching the tram to get around Basel.
I like the informal nature of the breakfast and the choice of food for breakfast is adequate. The coffee is great which always helps.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike4328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dearest Mike,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review with the TripAdvisor community.
I am delighted that you are a happy returning guest. This means a lot to us here at the D.

It is always lovely to know that a guest has felt completely looked after during their time with us, everyone at the hotel prides themselves on looking after each and every one of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to hotel D - Basel for another enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Hotel D was a very comfortable hotel. A little hard to find as the hotel looks like an office building with subtle signage on the window.

Room was quite small (friends had all booked at same price through our business and got a much bigger room) however excellent bathroom fit out.

Very modern decor.

Self serve breakfast had excellent range of food.

Excellent location only short walk to tourist areas

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dearest Bill,

Thank you for the kind review on TripAdvisor.

It’s refreshing to read that you had a great stay and that you loved the our breakfast buffer.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for one week for business. It was a very nice stay, rooms clean and good looking, bed great. Location is very, very good - I can walk to the client's office in the morning and visit any of the hundreds of restaurants in Basel within 10 minutes walk. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant, but you don't miss it - there's five just around the corner.
Probably my favorite hotel in Basel right now, recommend.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the deluxe - price difference from standard isn't much, but you have more thinking sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truekonrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear True Konrads,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, comfortable guestrooms, and our "Swiss Made" beds!

As mentioned, we do not have any restaurants, but it is true that you have plenty of choices a couple of meters sway from our main door!

Thank you again for your comment!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at Hotel D for 3 nights prior to starting our Rhine River Cruise. This hotel isn't much to look at from the outside but it has an excellent location very close to the Rhine River....literally only a few minutes walk to the main bridge over the river. Also very close to a very efficient tram system that we used a lot. The rooms are spacious, modern, fully equipped and very clean. The buffet breakfast was excellent in terms of quality, selection and freshness. All the staff were first rate. Absolutely no complaints about our stay here.

Room Tip: The only caution is ask for a room not facing onto the main street ....it can be noisy as our travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for your review about our property. We're delighted to hear your stay was perfectly fine. Being on a side street really helps with keeping the noise out so our guest may have a good nights rest before walking around and about in the city! However, please note that we have triple glass windows in all rooms at hotel D.
Most of the time, it will be extremely difficult to hear noise coming from the outside of the hotel.

Thank you for your great comments regarding our breakfast. I am proud to read that you have enjoyed the company of our staff. I will definitely share this comment with them!

We hope you visit us again!

Regards,
Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levis, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I spent 6 nights in Basel at Hotel D for business. The hotel is clean and quiet, and perfectly located in the center of the old Basel town. Staff is friendly and helpfull. They also serve a nice and heathy breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Romain_290961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dearest Romain,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent experience at the D in Basel.
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities the D Basel has to offer.

We are pleased that you have enjoy our unique location right in the heart of Basel.
Thank you also for your nice comment concerning our breakfast buffet!

Take great care,
Best wishes,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Hotel Basel
#10 of 51 in Basel
957 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#9 of 51 in Basel
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D - Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D - Basel

Property: Hotel D - Basel
Address: Blumenrain 19, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel D - Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest Design & Boutique hotel in Basel, Switzerland. Located on the famous Blumenrainstrasse, close to the old town and the renowned attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel D - Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing