We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional place to stay in Basel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel D - Basel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel D - Basel
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
ATLANTA
Level Contributor
281 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Exceptional place to stay in Basel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay in Basel. Great staff and wonderful location. Near the main city square and on Saturdays there is a wonderful farmers market. The Hotel D is also near several good restaurants and the old town of of Basel. The rooms are large and very modern and very nice also with a wonderful breakfast buffet.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

That you for your brilliant review of your experience at The Hotel D in Basel.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found everything to your satisfaction. We take pride in our service here at hotel D.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel D - Basel

Kind regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    271
    44
    8
    5
See reviews for
78
266
39
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay at this hotel for 4 nights in August 2013: nice (if small) rooms, excellent staff, fitness facility and breakfast, good location and easy to use business center... Only small note is that despite their claim to be "green" they changed towels and soaps and shampoos every day 0 should better train their staff on that!

Room Tip: I had a room away from main street - so quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greentree6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your taking the time to provide feedback of your stay at Hotel D - Basel.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Hotel D in Basel.

Thank you for your compliments about the excellent service offered by all my team; we really do appreciate when guests notice our dedication. I am pleased that you found the rooms to be comfortable.

Concerning the replacement of the in-room amenities every day, I will have a closer look with the Housekeeping department.
Thank you for our bringing this matter up to us.

I hope to welcome you again to Hotel D - Basel.
Best wishes,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunterdon, NJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here on my first business trip to Basel in June. The people are very friendly and helpful. Provided me with directions and tips on ways to navigate the town. Rooms are clean and comfortable. On site restaurant was good, I ate there for dinner once. I would stay here again, no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitainNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Anitain,

Thank you for posting your lovely review on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay in Basel.
You have mentioned that you had a lovely diner at the restaurant of the hotel.

Unfortunately hotel D does not provide a restaurant onsite. However, we have hundreds of restaurant at walking distance.

Maybe you are confusing us with Hotel Basel, located in the heart of the city center. Hotel Basel has a great restaurant and is also a very enjoyable hotel.

Anyway, overall I am pleased that you have enjoyed our city and that you will return very soon at hotel Basel or maybe try this time the hotel D.

Best wishes,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is new, well designed and has a relaxed approach. It's location is truly center. The buffet breakfast is also very good and is a complete spread. The staff are all very helpful. The Internet was offered free of charge and worked very well.

Room Tip: I chose to stay off the Main Street but all rooms are well insulated so you will have no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalVoyager80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Global Voyager,

Thank you for straight forward positive review !

I am pleased that you had a great time at the D.
Thank you for your great comments concerning our breakfast buffet!

Best regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

As noted by previous reviewers, a well located hotel that is nice and modern and well located to the old part of Basel. It is about 200m from tram stop that serves the Central Railway Station.

Very friendly and helpful staff

WiFi was reasonably fast and very reliable.

For those travelling light, full speed on the air-conditioning is great for drying clothes.

The automatic sun shades are a surprise when they first move.

There is a slightly cheaper breakfast with a better range at the Moevenpick Restuarant 5min away in the Market Place.

While in Basel in summer - try the local past time of floating down the River !! Waterproof bags can be purchased at a coffee stall across the river and up one bridge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side for glimpses of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Geoff,

It is so wonderful to hear we provided you with a great stay at hotel D in basel. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay, and that you have loved the hotel location and our great staff members.

They are always available to assist our guests with recommendations and city tips!

We are glad that you have enjoyed swimming in the Rhine river! What a great experience this must be !

There is no greater compliment than knowing that you recommend the hotel to others looking to visit Basel. We thank you for this endorsement and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great little hotel, very stylish and modern. It is also very well situated in the city and close to an underground car park. The rooms are very comfortable and very well furnished. We received a free public transportation pass and a 10% discount on our next stay. A little word welcomes you in the room. A place I can only recommend !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your stay earlier this month at Hotel D Basel.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed our guestrooms!

All Hotel D guests receive complimentary public transportation tickets at check in. this allows you to visit the city much easier and with way much comfort!

We are thrilled that we played a part in your short city-break in Basel.

Yours truly,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

I was looking for a place to stay in Basel with a good location that wasn't going to run $400 a night. Hotel D ended up being a great value in oh-so-expensive Switzerland. It's a modern hotel that's tastefully appointed, comfortable and an excellent value. Clean and well-kept, nice finishes. Very good location in the center of town. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Velvetgemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at the D in Basel.

We are so appreciative to receive such positive feedback about our property and our “friendly staff”.

We really care that our guests feel welcomed and guided especially if they are coming to visit all of the interesting tourist sites of Basel.

Our location is definitely great for those who love to be in the heart of the city.

Looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Basel, Switzerland.

Yours truly,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Hotel Basel
#4 of 50 in Basel
4.5 of 5 stars 795 reviews
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#6 of 50 in Basel
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D - Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D - Basel

Property: Hotel D - Basel
Address: Blumenrain 19, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel D - Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest Design & Boutique hotel in Basel, Switzerland. Located on the famous Blumenrainstrasse, close to the old town and the renowned attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel D - Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing