We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the heart of Basel”
Review of Hotel D - Basel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel D - Basel
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have stayed in Hotel D during our last night in Basel.
The hotel is located in the heart of Basel near all the main attractions.
The rooms are clean and stylish ,the staff was very helpful and my overall experience was very good.

The only 2 Cons I can mention are:
1) No parking near the hotel - there is a parking near Basel University (7 minute walk) which will cost 25F per day.
2) The price is a bit too high in my opinion.

Overall - great experience.
Final rate 4.3/5

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear paul_p83

Thank you for your kind and positive review on TripAdvisor.
I am so glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the D with us.

It is correct that we do not have a parking. But as you mentioned the City Parking at the Basel University Hospital is very close to the hotel.

I would be delighted to welcome you back at Hotel D.

Kind regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (808)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 808 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

Hotel D is located in the heart of Bale, only few steps from the river bank and old city quartier. The staff at the front desk were friendly and very open for all needs of guests. My room was raisonably sized, with modern aminities and nice decor. Everything was clean. Good breakfast buffet included in the rate. The guests can get the ticet for local transport network for free.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danuts2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear Danuts 2013,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you found our hotel a convenient and comfortable destination. We are privileged with a strategic location in a really beautiful and multicultural city and we combine this opportunity with our concept and effortts to create a nice comfortable environment.

We appreciate your time to share your opinion regarding our place and services.

Until your next time in Basel,

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed recently. The location is excellent, just a short walk to the Rhine and all many sights. The hotel is really well designed, modern and spotless. The room was beautiful, especially the iridescent tiled bathroom. As mentioned in other reviews, the wall in the bathroom is glass but nearly opaque and the shower was fabulous. The towels are huge and the bed was really nice.

Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good, too, with lots of different cheeses, meats and fruit. We didn't use the transport pass but it is a nice perk. Finally, the room rate was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbutler2724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear kbutler2724

We are very glad to read your post and realize all the positive aspects that you experienced during your stay. Our rooms and public areas are strategically design to provide our guests with comfortable, warm and modern atmosphere, complemented with our friendly staff and strategic location.
We are very happy that you felt a good value/ price relationship. This is our goal and it is fulfilling to realize we are achieving our goal.

We look forward to your new visit in Basel.

Kind regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

A very nice hotel, modern, clean and stylish. We had a very warm welcome from a very helpfull receptionist. The only thing that missed was scrambled eggs at breakfast. The hotel is located nearby the historical citycenter and the Rhine. Basel is worth visiting. If you drive from Italy to the North, consider staying in this hotel instead of a hotel nearby the E35 Motorway. It's only a 10 minute drive and you can enjoy the beautiful citycenter.

Room Tip: Pick this hotel because of the location nearby the haert of the city, the friendly staff and the per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruud M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear guests,

We are really grateful for sharing your experience in our hotel. We are glad that you could enjoy our strategic location, as well as our core competences as the personalized and friendly customer service.

Basel is a very beautiful city, with much architectural and historical richness, and definitely it’s a “must” visit.

We prepare a diverse abundant breakfast buffet; however, we do not have a kitchen, otherwise we would have prepared your breakfast according to your desire.

We look forward to welcome you again in our property.

Kind regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is one of the best hotels in basel and what an amazing staff .... The manager Julian baly was just an amazing. from our entry into basel to our exit ...Julian , Marianela ,Felipe and the entire staff of hotel D made our 3 night stay oh so comfortable & memorable ..

We have traveled more than 20 countries in 7 continents and have stayed in different kinds of hotels. however the service and staff of this hotel was one of the best.

The location of the hotel is perfect, we took a bus from airport # 50 ( by showing the reservation) and changed at kannenfeld platz for # 36 which dropped us right in front of the hotel ... ( we were given directions & maps even before our arrival by mail )
We reached at 10 am from london and were given the room immediately even though the check in is at 2pm ( isn't it just amazing )
we were given a 3 day pass for local transport & we so enjoyed the local travel

Thank you D hotel & a huge bouquet of thank you to Julian, we will definitely come back again and will for sure recommend this hotel to all our family & friends

Raveen & Ria

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riyaza K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear Raveen and Ria

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience with us. We are more than happy to hear that you have a memorable stay, after staying in so many hotels around the world.

Reviews like yours, fill us with fulfillment that we are doing a good job, making guests feel home away from home, since the first contact, until the check out.

We hope we will see you again in the near future.

Kind regards form Basel.

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

A modern design hotel in downtown Basel, excellent location close to the tram, shops, Rhine, restaurant and main sights. Hotel staff was friendly and the room itself beautifully designed. The bed was ultra comfortable, even pillows way better than in most hotels. Breakfast was good and had a bit of everything for every taste, and the fact that it was served until 11 am at least during the weekend was a big plus. The breakfast area itself is somewhat small but very cosy and modern.
Wi-Fi worked super well, iPod docking and minibar available as well.
We liked the plain design of the room which was spotelessly clean and felt "fresh". The shower was simply fantastic, the LED lights and design of the rainshower area was truly amazing and somewhat artistic - a big big bonus.
We'd highly recommend this hotel to everyone who values comfort, simple but beautiful design, central location and a general "feel good" atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadCalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear RoadCalls,

Thank you for your positive comment on the TripAdvisor platform.
I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are extremely proud of our mattresses. As you have clearly mentioned, they are so comfortable. All of our mattresses are hand made in Basel, Switzerland. We are delighted that you had some good time resting on it.

Concerning our bathrooms, we have invested in super sized LED rain-showers. We can see that you have enjoyed them!

Again, thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor!

We look forward in welcoming you soon at Hotel D - Basel,

Warm Regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Hotel D is definitely one of the hotels to stay in Basel. Its modern look and facilities made it a good stay with good amenities. What makes this hotel is the location of the hotel which is need Coop (a local chain supermarket) and near the market square and Rhine river. The disability facilities were top notch and it was easy to access everything. We stayed for 2 nights in the Executive Room and we couldn't ask for more. Rooms were cleaned and spotless every day.

Breakfast is provided and in general quite good. Staff were also helpful and very attentive to our needs and provided the necessary assistance in booking taxis and checking-in. Even before we checked-in, the hotel responded to all of my emails and confirmations efficiently with accurate information.

The hotel provided free daily tram passes during the stay which was useful though unfortunately, we couldn't use it.

We will definitely come back to Hotel D and its chain of hotels in Europe!

Room Tip: Adding to get the Executive Room is definitely better for more comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triple C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Triple C,

I hope this response finds you well.
Thanks so much for your feedback following your recent stay at Hotel D - Basel.

I was absolutely delighted to read your comments and to know that my team delivered the best service possible.

As I always do, I have passed on your very kind words to my fantastic team that I am proud to have work at the hotel.

I do hope that we can meet your expectations once again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#9 of 52 in Basel
636 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Hotel Basel
#7 of 52 in Basel
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#6 of 52 in Basel
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D - Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D - Basel

Address: Blumenrain 19, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Price Range: $129 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel D - Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest Design & Boutique hotel in Basel, Switzerland. Located on the famous Blumenrainstrasse, close to the old town and the renowned attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel D - Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing