We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel D - Quite a treat in Basel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel D - Basel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel D - Basel
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel D - Quite a treat in Basel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here on a visit over the holidays. Very nice boutique hotel, beautiful bathrooms. Desk service was outstanding. Breakfast in the lobby was very convenient. The stay included transit passes in Basel. The #11 goes right by the front door, through town, to the main SBB train station, and on to the north. But the best thing was, this hotel is very close to the city center. Walking to shopping, museums, galleries, municipal buildings, churches, and the Rhine is a simple matter. Give it a try and have fun!

Room Tip: We were on the East side. When the window was closed, we didn't hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sts3151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this positive review.

We are pleased to read you, and to see that you have enjoyed your trip to Basel.

We are glad that you appreciate our services such as the breakfast buffet and the desk service.

As you pointed out, Hotel D has a great location in Basel, and each part of the city is easily accessible thanks to public transportation.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back at Hotel D.

Kind regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    301
    50
    8
    6
See reviews for
87
303
42
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here one night in December 2012 and my parents stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms were very nice though quite small but we were fine with that. The bathroom was very nice and so clean! The morning breakfast was great - but I would not pay for it I would only eat it if it was included in the price of the room as I think it was 22 euros per person and I can eat a croissant and a coffee and be fine. But we did get it free with our room and it was GREAT!

This hotel was very close to the christmas markets. We would stay here again if we were in Basel but we might also consider staying in France (right across the river) and walk over to Basel for the day as I think we could save $ staying hand eating in France.

There is a little bar about 2 blocks down towards town on the same side of the street that had GREAT beer.

Room Tip: Everything closes very early so make sure to grab some snacks and beer for your room early ;) as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting this kind review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you especially appreciated our bathroom.

Hotel D is located 2 minutes away, by walk, from the city center, and by the same way, close to the Christmas Market. Many restaurants and bars are to be found nearby.

As mentioned, our establishment proposes a breakfast buffet, to your advantage you may directly book a room with breakfast included.

We would be glad to welcome you at Hotel D for your next stay in Basel.

Best regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in a suite and we were very impressed with our room. In fact, it had features of a five star hotel, so we were impressed.

We loved:

The super modern bathroom with the TV above the bath.
The 42 inch flat screen tv in the bedroom
The iPod dock with integrated speakers in the ceiling
Modern lighting and ambiance
Super friendly staff
Complementary tickets to use public transport
This hotel even arranged car hire booking and delivery for us which was very convenient.

I would have given this hotel perfect marks if it weren't for the Internet connection. The free wifi was useless. Yes you could connect, but forget about browsing anything, watching videos or using Skype. The Internet connection would work for 3 mins and keep timing out which was very frustrating. If you had to conduct business in your room, you'd be in trouble. Complaints to staff were met with sympathy and we were told they would "reboot" the router, but nothing improved.

Apart from this problem, I would highly recommend this hotel due to the modern facilities and great location to the old town and other attractions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcommins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure reading your positive feedback.
We are delighted to hear that you liked our Hotel and that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Suites.

And above all we are really sorry for the bad internet connection, we had a problem with the WiFi antenna on that day. We are doing our best to provide a good WiFi connection to all our guests, as we know how important it is for business but also leisure travelers.

We are delighted to announce you that the whole network has been checked and that everything is back n track and works perfectly.

It would be a real pleasure to welcome you back at Hotel D.

Best wishes,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent a night in Basel as a mini break. the hotel is well situated, modern, with pure lines, beautiful well thought bathroom, comfortable beds, good breakfast, friendly staff. I will go there again! Ad there was even a 10% voucher off our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the back, with view on the old town. Extremely quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 262Laura60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this positive review about Hotel D.

We are happy to hear that you appreciated the special design of the hotel, and that you felt comfortable in our room.

Hotel D is extremely well located, the city center is accessible in a 2 minutes walk and there is a Tram and Bus stop next to the hotel, which eases the access to Train stations, Airport, etc...

The whole team would be very delighted to welcome you back at Hotel D, and make your next trip in Basel as enjoyable as the former one.

Kind regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night during Christmas holiday.
For pros, first goes to its fantastic location. No.11 tram was right before the hotel and directly went to the train station/city centre. And it also located in the old town region, and you can walk easily there. Second, there are really help staff in the reception. Well, we had a little story there. The heater in our room was not working and it was absolutely horrible in winter. I talked to the reception lady and asked to change another room if they can not fix it. She was super nice and promise to fix. When we came back from dinner, she said she fixed it by offering us a electric heater. The room was too hot because of that and that night, we had difficulties to sleep. I do not know what to say, because on one had she did make a effort to fix the problem, but on the other hand, we are not satisfied!!!!
For cons, I think the room was too damn small. As a four star hotel, the room we stayed was totally not worth it. And the bed was also too small, my boyfriend is over 190 and his feet were outside of the bed.....
All in all, it was a nice stay. As a 4star hotel, the price was reasonable, even though I think the hotel is not really qualified as 4star.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnieX89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Hotel D.

As you are mentioned we are ideally located in the heart of Basel, only a short walk from the city centre.

Thank you also for your kind words about our staff.

We regret, that with the electric heater the room was too hot when you came back from diner.
I am sure opening the windows for a few minutes would have cooled down the room to a more suitable temperature.

Regarding the room and bed size we kindly inform you that for sure we have also bigger rooms with king size beds. The smallest beds available in our property are 160 X 200 cm.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back so that you can find out that our hotel is qualified as a 4 stars establishment.

Kind regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed in Basel as a stop over between places and we are so glad we did. The hotel was lovely and had a really nice bathroom. The staff were so friendly and helpful and gave us lots of tips for our night there which really made it special. The room was very modern and clean and the bed was so comfortable. The breakfast the next morning was great too and gave us the kick start we needed for the drive ahead. If I go to Basel again I would definitely stay at Hotel D.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Rachel,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of “Hotel D”. I am delighted you joined us on such a special occasion. We take the most pride in our service here and I am so pleased you enjoyed it so much.

I was also pleased to read your comments about our staff as well as for the breakfast buffet.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay at “Hotel D” and hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Loved the town of Basel. The Hotel D was perfect for our stay in Basel. Very close to everything we wanted to see. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. THe hotel D was very clean. The room we stayed in looked new. We did not eat at the hotel but there is a great pastry shop about 2 blocks down the street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyandEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, November 10, 2016
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice comment.
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay by us.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Hotel Basel
#7 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#9 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#4 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D - Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D - Basel

Property: Hotel D - Basel
Address: Blumenrain 19, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel D - Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest Design & Boutique hotel in Basel, Switzerland. Located on the famous Blumenrainstrasse, close to the old town and the renowned attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel D - Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing