We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pre-Rhine Cruise Hotel in Basel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel D - Basel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel D - Basel
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pre-Rhine Cruise Hotel in Basel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed at the Basel Hotel D for a few nights prior to a Rhine riverboat cruise. Hotel was very conveniently located in downtown Basel. Can't speak about their 'standard" rooms, but the delux rooms were very comfortable. Even had a king bed option, almost unheard of in Europe, and much appreciated by my 6'5" spouse. The morning breakfast was way above the normal continental breakfast offering, with hot eggs and wide offerings of breads, fruit, cereal, cheeses, meats, yogurts.... Not all Basel downtown hotels are airconditoned. The Hotel D is, and that makes a big difference in a city where the streets are narrow, trams run at all hours, and normal European city life is quite noisy. The staff were very accomodating, giving us recommendations for eating, drinking, museum and shopping experiences. The breakfast area was unused during the rest of the day, but the staff got us utensils and glasses so that we could sit in the lobby breakfast area with wine, cheese and meats (and chocolates) from one of the many nearby food markets. There is no onsite bar or restaurant, but many options within just a few blocks. Besides, no onsite bar or restaurant meant no conventioniers.... always a plus when traveling for pleasure.
The Hotel D location can't be beat for walkability, but also for quick tram access. Like other Basel hotels, Hotel D provides a mobility pass for free tram travel during our stay. Highly recommend arriving early for any riverboat cruise, and taking a day trip to Lucerne. Tains run from Basel to Lucerne several times an hour all day long, and takes just about an hour each way. Why go to Switzerland without at least seeing the Alps? And the Hotel D made a great home base for our excursions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at back of hotel, away from street noise. No real interesting view from these rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RocklinTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear valued guest

Thank you for having taken the time to share your Hotel D experience.
It was a pleasure reading your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel D, as you have mentioned we are very centrally located in the heart of Basel with a large variety of restaurants and bars all in walking distance from the hotel.

Even for day trips Basel is ideally located with a vast selection of major cities all only a short train ride away.

Thank you again for your positive feedback.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at Hotel D.

Kind Regards

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    301
    50
    8
    6
See reviews for
87
302
42
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philly Burbs
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I normally stay at the Hotel Rochat, but it was booked for my most recent trip. The Hotel D was only a little pricier and still close to where I needed to be. I've heard all the stories about "european hotel rooms" and finally understand now what people are talking about. Wow, was this room small. Not only small, but not comfortable if you want to do any sort of relaxing in the room. There was a desk/shelf built into the window area, with one chair. One chair in the entire room, and it was a tiny uncomfortable desk chair. If there are two people in the room, someone has to sit on the bed to relax. I understand of course that most people are not spending a lot of time in the room because in theory you are out "doing stuff" but when you come back from a long day of shopping and sightseeing you want to unwind. It's a challenge to do that in this room, even if you were the only one staying in here.

I also booked this room because the hotel has air conditioning in the rooms. After 3 trips to Switzerland in the last 6 months, I understand that the concept of air conditioning is completely foreign to the Swiss brain. They just don't get it. Their blood must be thinner or something. Anyhow, we had our AC on 24 hours a day, and it was barely tolerable in the room. At night, we opened the windows and let the 40 degree air in just so we could sleep. You also need to keep your key in a slot in the room to keep the air and lights on, so make sure you get two keys if you want to try to keep the AC on while you are out.

There are pros to this place...it is about 2 years old, so very clean and modern. The bathroom is wonderful, with a fantastic shower that rains down on you from the ceiling. The housekeeping is great too, even going so far as to fold our pajamas for us. We were greeted with a bar of chocolate and a welcome note on the bed, but then we weren't sure if we had to pay 4 CHF for the bar, so we left it behind.

Also of note is the wonderful staff. They were super helpful when we had to check out a few days early. The location is great, and the lobby is good for hanging out in since there is no space in your room.

I wouldn't recommend not staying here, but I think there are better choices. Just know that you are getting into the typical small European hotel room. It's not a bad choice for the price, but I missed my usual hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krisptoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest

Thank you for having taken the time to write this review.

We regret that you were not satisfied by the size of the room, we would have gladly brought up an additional chair for you. We wish that you had raised your concerns with us during your stay as then we would have been able to assist you.

As for the air-conditioning, we have not received any complaints that it does not cool sufficiently.
Please note that we are an eco-friendly hotel and have therefore opted for an air condition which does not work while the window is open, it will automatically switch off.

We are delighted that you also saw the positives in Hotel D, the chocolate on the bed was meant for you as a gift from us.

Kind Regards

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I recently stayed at Hotel D for a weekend prior to taking a Rhine river cruise. Our room was spacious by European standards with a great bathroom, lots of desk and storage space, a large flat-screen television and free wireless. The location was excellent and only a short walk to the alstadt with its many fine shops and restaurants. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest

It was a pleasure reading your review, thank you for having taken the time to share your experience.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, as you have mentioned we are very centrally located, and in walking distance to most places of interest in Basel.

You have accurately described the rooms, so true the bathrooms are a focus point in the rooms.

We hope that you enjoyed your cruise.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at Hotel D.

Kind Regards

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hotel D is a really good option for Basel: the position is really central, just in front of the best 5 star hotel, close to public transport and convenient for a nice urban walk. It's nothing "grand" but it is brand new, with a very confortable bed and a wonderful+powerful shower. Still, there's a couple of things to say: while booking on the hotel site they offered me an upgrade for a few euro and i accepted it. But the room i was given wasn't of the deluxe type, rather the standard type. I didn't bother complaining as i was staying for just one night but that is what happened. Also, breakfast wasn't worth it: very expensive and not so rich. But i had a very good sleep (ask for a quiet room!!!) and i do recommend it in the whole

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancescaRome_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Valued Hotel Guest

Thank you for having taken the time to share your Hotel D experience.

As you have mentioned Hotel D is very centrally located in the heart of Basel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our comfortable bed as well as the spectacular rain shower.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a disaster...you can just see the attached pictures....I believe their cleaning system must breakdown. I was so angry with the dirty sheet (with ' hairs' & blue print on it)...I came back to hotel late, and they don't have any housekeeper can deal with it~ the worst thing is that they said I book with a non-refundable price, so even I got this bad experience, they can do nothing about it~in the end, they also charged me with a wrong tax with two people, but I was alone...i checked in alone, left alone...my colleague who lived in basel said the whole thing is incredibly a shame! I only got a feeling that they really need money !

Room Tip: the room is very tiny, unlike the picture they show.....I even don't have a proper place to put...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa_taiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear valued guest,

We regret that you felt the need to slander Hotel D here on Tripadvisor, especially after we had apologised to you per e-mail immediately after your stay with us.

The dirty sheet just to clarify had a blue print on it which must have occurred in the laundry, and was ironed into the sheet and not ‘dirty’. We however do agree that it should not have been placed onto the bed and this we sincerely apologise again; as for the single hair on the bed we unfortunately are unable to clearly identify from whom it is as this was only brought to our attention several hours after check-in. My colleague who worked that evening also offered to change the bedding for you, an offer which was declined by yourself. Furthermore, the additional city tax was wrongly placed onto the bill as my colleague wrongly assumed you were two guests in the room as you checked-out with your colleague; this additional charge was paid back out to your colleague.

We regret that you feel that we did not react accordingly to your expectations; we however feel giving a free room is also not the correct method of handling such situations.

Again we apologise for the inconvenience which was caused.

Kind Regards

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Extremely comfortable modern room, excellent service, ideal location with easy access to trams and buses. Sauna and gym are a nice bonus. Free wifi is fast and reliable. I highly recommend this hotel in the heart of Basel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Skaplas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest,

We are happy with your kind words here on Tripadvisor.
As you have mentioned we are centrally located, in walking distance most places of interest in Basel.

Here at Hotel D we offer a sleek modern design with the latest technology.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back at Hotel D.

Kind Regards

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Extremely helpful people at the front desk. Accepted our lost luggage from the airline and brought it to our room. Made a phone call to our cruise ship using their own cell phone, gave good advice and called a cab that accepted credit cards. Was very easy to get from airport to the hotel using the bus and tram, then just a block walk.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor facing the street which gave a view of the river. Nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgalambos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear valued Hotel Guest,

The staff was elated by your kind words, they always try their utmost to assist our guests as much as they can. It is rewarding to receive a positive review and acknowledgement from the guests.

We are glad that you chose to stay at Hotel D, we hope that you had an enjoyable cruise.
It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at Hotel D.

Kind Regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Hotel Basel
#6 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D - Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D - Basel

Property: Hotel D - Basel
Address: Blumenrain 19, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel D - Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest Design & Boutique hotel in Basel, Switzerland. Located on the famous Blumenrainstrasse, close to the old town and the renowned attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel D - Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing