We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, funky design, small rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel D - Basel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel D - Basel
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, funky design, small rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed at this hotel while on a romantic weekend in Basel with my wife. Found the reception staff to be extremely helpful and welcoming with good local knowledge. The lobby area is very modern and nicely designed with big windows out on to the street so you can people watch in style. Location is also excellent and walking distance to most attractions. The bedroom itself was extremely clean and very well designed, with a modern bathroom. The only downsides that we found were that the room we stayed in was small (as other reviewers have noted) and the hotel lacked any facilities (not even a bar).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear valued hotel guest,

Thank you for your positive review on Hotel D, we are pleased that you selected to stay with us on your romantic getaway.

The reception staff felt much rewarded by your kind words.

As you have mentioned we boast with an ideal location in the heart of Basel, and from the large windows in the lobby it is interesting to people watch. We do unfortunately not have a fully stocked bar at the hotel, but do however serve a couple of soft drinks, beer, wine as well as tea and coffee in our lobby area.

Thank you again for having taken the time to write this review.
It would be pleasure for us to welcome you back at Hotel D.

Kind Regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    301
    50
    8
    6
See reviews for
87
303
42
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed here for one night on business, so didn't spend a great deal of time in either my room or the hotel itself.

The check-in was friendly and efficient, as was service throughout the rest of my stay.

I had one of their best rooms, a top floor "suite" (even calling a junior suite would be stretching it) with a wrap-around terrace which had lovely views towards the river, as well as the Trois Rois which is the best hotel in Basel. The room was what I would describe as an average size, with a double bed, armchair, and desk. The wardrobes were a good size but did not have many hangers, and those that were there were of the type one finds in downmarket establishments where the owner thinks guests are likely to take them. These are fiddly, and just waste time.

The bathroom had a large(ish) bath, twin vanities, loo, and a rather too small shower cubicle. It also had a window with an electric blind that seemed to have a mind of its own each time I put my card in the slot to activate power to the room, the blind went up. Given that the bathroom had a window that was directly overlooked by a neighbouring building, this was most irritating. It was clean and comfortable, but nothing remotely special. Given that this was one of their best rooms, I daren't imagine what a standard room would be like.

Breakfast was served in the lobby area off of the reception, and didn't seem to be air-conditioned. I was meant to be having a pre-meeting breakfast with colleagues, and ended up having to return to my room as it was too hot. The continental spread was fine, not of particularly high quality, and like the rest of the property, instantly forgettable.

I would certainly not consider this hotel if travelling on pleasure and likely to spend a reasonable amount of time in your room. If on business, then it is well located and somewhere to sleep, but that's about it. It wasn't terrible, but nor was it anything special. The best aspect were the staff who were always very helpful and pleasant to deal with. Overall it a reliable, and inoffensive hotel, nothing more, nothing less.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntlTraveller21stc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest

Thank you for having taken the time to write this elaborate review. We regret that even though you received a complimentary upgrade into one of your Junior Suites from a Deluxe room you were not satisfied with the room.

Unfortunately we have had to make the experience that guests do that the hangers along with them and had to change these to avoid this from happening in the future, so far you are the first guests to have a problem with these.

As for the blinds in the room as well as the bathroom are sun shades are linked with a sensor we have on the roof, these can however be controlled from the room with a switch which is located next to the bed as well as in the bathroom.

We thank you for your positive remarks regarding the staff and the efficient check-in, we regret that we were not able to make this a memorable stay.

Kind Regards

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel. Clean room, free wifi, sauna and even public transpotation ticket is included. Nice iphone dockingstation and lovely shower can be found in the room!
I can definately recommend this hotel to anybody!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaapIeNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your Hotel D experience.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, as mentioned the mobility tickets are so convenient for getting around Basel.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Location: you cannot get a better location, downtown Basel, near the river, close to the beautiful marktplatz and restaurants. Parking: don't hesitate, "City" - or "Park City", Level - P3, go directly there!!! When you get out from the parking ("the tunnel"), you're two steps from the Hotel, so easy. Hotel, Staff, they are simply great. At 2.38 hrs in the middle of the night!, I had to change the pillow - was too hard, no comfortable at all, then I went down to the lobby, and...and...first (he) told me..that "in the hotel we have only one kind of pillow, sorry", I couldn't believe, finally the pillow was replaced. The hotel is very clean, the furniture in the room are the best that you can find on the market, shower is great. The sauna/wellness area, small (only for two) however very warm and well furnished, ...please get it reserved through the front desk. Shampoo/soap, and related products, are above the standards. The direction is flexible in terms of extra bed, and breakfast was included (kids for free -12). The price is reasonable, considering that you are in one of the most expensive city/country in the planet. Breakfast "acceptable", the Staff working there, outstanding, top courtesy people. I go for 4, as the pillow issue caused a big headache. Something special! I will stop by again, for sure.

Room Tip: High floor rooms highly recommended, - 508 is a very good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBGF_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Valued Hotel Guest

It was a pleasure reading your review, thank you for your kind words.

As you have mentioned Hotel D boasts with an ideal location, in walking distance from most major places of interest and for those a bit further you have the mobility ticket.

We are elated that you found the room, fitness sauna and our amenities to your liking. Many hours were spent selecting the items and choosing a design that it is rewarding to hear that these get appreciated and recognised, thank you.

We would like to apologise for the inconvenience regarding the pillow, we do have some which are softer all staff have been reminded of this to avoid any future misunderstandings.

Thank you again for having shared your experience; it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at Hotel D for your next trip to Basel.

Kind Regards

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Was very surprised by the Hotel its great and the service is amazing. I got a chance to speak with the owner of the Hotel and he was a very nice guy bought my girlfriend and i a bottle of champagne for saying we really liked the place. They manage to make you feel like a regular at your first trip. I wouldnt hesitate to go back to Hotel D if i am in Basle again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristofer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review of your recent visit to Hotel D - Basel. Our colleagues were honored to read your revue.

On behalf of all of us at Hotel D, thank you for choosing our property for your recent stay in Basel.

We certainly hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel D for one night in July, following the recommendations on this site. We were not disappointed. The hotel is very centrally located, near the river. The room was very clean and comfortable, staff helpfull, all in all a nice place. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen1979il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for having taken the time to write this positive review.

We are delighted that you selected us due to recommendations you read on Tripadvisor. We are even more thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESQUIMALT
Level Contributor
223 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Fantastic location within walking distance of the Rhine, bridges and main plaza in Basel. Modern hotel, very professional, knowledgeable and helpful staff at the front desk. We skipped the continental breakfast and were not disappointed with the fantastic restaurants offering rosti and flamenkuchen on the main square nearby. Shutters on windows automatically close, and some rooms have small balconies. Air conditioning was greatly appreciated in the hot humid weather. Being one block off the river, its quiet which you really appreciate, especially on a Friday night when the locals come down to the river to celebrate, sing dance and play music. We arrived by taxi to save time, as ours was a quick stay before catching a River Cruise. You really cant go wrong staying at the Hotel D

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or a quiet room at the rear of the hotel with large windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b4i4gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest

It is always a pleasure to read a positive review as yours.

As you have mentioned Hotel D truly has an ideal location in the heart of Basel, within walking distance to most places of the interest, the market square and the Rhine just to mention a few.
The staff felt much rewarded by your kind words.

There are numerous outstanding restaurants close by in the city centre it’s hard to pick which one you would like to try.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at Hotel D.

Kind Regards
Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Hotel Basel
#7 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#9 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#4 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D - Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D - Basel

Property: Hotel D - Basel
Address: Blumenrain 19, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel D - Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest Design & Boutique hotel in Basel, Switzerland. Located on the famous Blumenrainstrasse, close to the old town and the renowned attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel D - Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing