We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$229
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$133
Pullman
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Spalentor Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
$134
$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
DASBREITEHOTEL(Basel)(Great Value!)
$126
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$136
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$145
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Airport Hotel Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
$128
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ibis Basel Bahnhof(Basel)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Aparthotel Adagio Basel City(Basel)(Great Value!)
$93
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveler rating
20
44
34
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
44
34
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnespresso machinetea bagsclean bedworked perfectlytrain stationexpensive citynice bathroomfree travel passminute walktrams and busesfridgebasementdrierstvsfrlaundrystops
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 113 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip. THis is not a hotel. It is more a youth hostel than anything else. No 24 hour reception. Very shady people hanging around the place most of the time. I have stayed at youth hostels which were better than this place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floydanubhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

It is very important to understand that this property is not a hotel. We arrived on a Saturday morning to find the front door locked. There was a notice on the door providing a phone number to get a code to enter the building. We did not have a phone but eventually we did gain entry to the building and to our room.

They had sent us an email confirming our reservation but, incredibly, they did not mention the fact that the building would be locked nor did they provide us with the entry codes. If they had done this it would have made things much easier for us but unfortunately they are either incompetant or uncaring.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sluffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

My husband got a job in Basel and so we used these apartments (although you cannot really call them that), as a temporary measure until we found an apartment.

The rooms are basic and quite small. In the time we were there, they cleaned our room just the once and I had to take our trash down and do our own recycling; which isn't something you really welcome when you are new to a city. Incidentally, you can take your recycling to supermarkets like Denners, Coops and Migros.

The beds are typically Swiss and seem hard if you're used to a nice, soft mattress. There is a shower room/wc and there is coffee making machine, but we took a travel kettle. There was no room to actually prepare any food, with the only available surface taken up with the kettle, etc., so ultimately, you end up with crumbs everywhere, the smell of rubbish, which after a few days definitely got on my nerves!

There is a restaurant downstairs, which we didn't use so cannot comment on that. There is a supermarket round the corner and just to your left out of the apartments, there is a little shop that does the basics and also fresh rolls, etc.

There is a laundry in the basement. If I remember correctly, there was no charge to use it.

You can purchase wi fi internet from reception

The reception staff were polite.

It is quite expensive in Basel to eat out and I don't think you get the best value for money by eating in a restaurant. 20CHF for pasta with a tomato sauce is fairly typical. If you're new to Switzerland, you will even find places like McDonalds and Burger King more expensive and it isn't the cheap option you may have come to expect. The supermarkets do fresh bread, cheese, fruit, pasties, hot cooked chicken, salads, etc. This probably offers you the best value and on a nice day, you can sit by the river, or in one of the numerous parks and have a picnic. You can find some cheap, takeaway pizza places as well, where you will pay approximately 10CHF.

Getting around the city is really easy on the Trams and the reception should give you a tourist card that allows you free travel on the trams. Avoid using taxis, they are unnecessary and very expensive; it explains why there are so many taxis sitting around unoccupied.

If you are coming to Basel from the Euro Airport, come out through the Swiss side, not the French and get the green bus, No. 50 that stops outside. You will see directions in the airport for the bus. This bus goes right to the SBB Railway Station with trams that will take you in all directions. The bus is frequent, approx every 15 mins so there really is no need to take a taxi. To get to Gundeli Apartments, you need to go out the back entrance and head for Telplatz and turn right down one of the side roads. It is only a couple of stops on the tram but I am sorry, I don't remember what tram it was. It is approximately a 15 min walk.

As well as visiting places in the city; there are countless museums, parks, pretty streets, etc., it is definitely worthwhile exploring places further afield and easy places worth a day trip to, are Colmar, Strasbourg, Freiburg. You can get trains from SBB. Lorach in Germany is a small, quite pleasant town and very easy to get to from Basel by taking tram 8 to Kleinhuningen and then a bus 6 or 16 right into Lorach.

On hot, sunny days and the summers here are really lovely, definitely head for a swim in the river. It's great to cool off in it's cold waters! I get the tram 2 to Wettsteinplatz, walk through the little park there and there down by the river are a few river beaches and seating areas. There are also showers to wash away river water after your swim.

The best thing about these apartments is that they centrally located and cheap in comparison to many of the hotels in Basel, but I wouldn't want to stay more than a few days because they are quite cramped.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicksibubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I had stayed in Gundeli-park as a temporary measure before I could find better serviced accomodations and I would recommend this place as stop-over only.
If you are in Basel for a couple of days, this is a decent place to stay.
It is cheaper than other options and provides a restful and good enough atmosphere.
There is no room service nor is the concierge service available after working hours (Monday to Friday 7am - 6pm). Checkouts need to be specified a couple of days earlier.. no spur of the moment decisions.
The room is large enough and clean when you first walk in. However, the cleaning happens only when you leave or if you pay for it.. which means you need to be prepared to see the room at the same state in the evening as you left it.. everyday.
No cooking facilities or restaurant is available either.

The biggest point in its favour is its location near the city centre. The railway station, the Markets and shopping streets are near as 2-3 tram stops which makes travelling around very convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sanju_Chacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Standard of the room is ok, but there's no aircondition. That's not the worst part. They only clean up the room once a week! I stayed there for a month and I was living on crumbles! There"s no free internet access, and the one you have to pay for is on a wire (I had to change them twice cos they were broken). Reception is open only till 5pm so If you need anything after you have to wait till the morning. And it's closed on the weekends!!!! Also cleaning is very bad. They clean once a week but not properly, just change the sheets and towels, no moping the floor and all. Horrible! And service is really bad, not helpful, not nice. Have never been to worst hotel ever!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NinaPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews