We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good variety of menu items and Prices”
Review of Block House Basel

Block House Basel
Ranked #10 of 654 Restaurants in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $62
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Block House has been serving the finest steaks sourced from its own specialist boucherie since 1968. Crisp on the outside, succelent and delicate pink on the inside, our steaks are served with our popular side dishes and fitting wines, all in the unwaveringly high quality that we stand for as a family business. It all begann in 1968 with the first Block House restaurant on Dorotheenstrasse in Hamburg. And now we welcome more than six million guest a year to our 45 restaurants located throughout Europe. The menu is identical in all of our restaurants, as is the typical Block House cosy ambience that invites you to combine good food with communication.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good variety of menu items and Prices”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Large outdoor patio and more comfortable area inside-- ey still open to the outside. Food quality was good and menu variety excellent but prices are tailored to the business client. While we picked the more inexpensive items, the food was served quickly and was good quality

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    153
    72
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kenya
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great steak poor service!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

One of the best steaks in Basel, I'm a frequent visitor but what hopeless service tonight. The formula is simple, a salad, a steak and potato, should be easy. The salad arrived quickly, the steak (medium rare) took 30 more minutes and to top it all a 25 minute wait to pay the bill! Yes it was busy but not full, p.enty of staff running around but with the wonderful ability to ignore their guests. What a shame....

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The Best...”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed at the Beat Western which was great and then this place which is one of the best I've ever experienced. The lamb steak was truly outstanding to say the very least. I just wish the portion was slightly bigger as I had to order it twice to satisfy my taste buds and tummy. Going by the lamb I think the beef steaks will be record breaking... An absolute must of your in Basel. Please make the portions bigger..... Brilliant. My mouth waters as I type!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kul555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great ribeye and fantastic customer service”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Went on Friday night with my wife. Great steaks are hard to come by in Basel but having been here 4x now, this place has great consistency. Open kitchen grill is a nice touch.

What keeps us coming back is the exemplary service by the host and waitstaff. Have a large group? No problem! You would like the included green salad and instead substitute have the tomato onion salad.. or even the Caesar? No problem! of course no extra charge! What's that, you have 4 kids with your group? Happy to have them. This type of super customer service is very welcome and sometimes rare in Basel so for an American like me, I am delighted to keep going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New River Gorge, WV
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Cheeseburger!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We ate here while staying at the Best Western Stuck hotel next door. Got back from an all-day tour so this was very convenient for dinner. Cheeseburger, salad and sides were all very good. We had a table in front of the grill so could watch the chef at work. A bit pricey, cheeseburger with side $19, but it was very tasty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Block House Basel also viewed

 
Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Allschwil, Canton of Basel
 

Been to Block House Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing