We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel best in basel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Stuecki Basel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Stuecki Basel
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel best in basel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Regularly travel to Basel in Switzerland for business. This hotel is clean, rooms very spacious, staff friendly and helpful, and local public transport just in front of hotel. Steakhouse next door is reasonably priced (for Switzerland) and food is excellent. I've stayed in all the major brand hotels in Basel over the last 15years and this is the best for me.

Room Tip: I might be wrong but think they are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron28QC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Stuecki Basel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your rating and your comment. We are very happy to hear, that we could offer you even after 15 years in Basel something new and special. We appreciate it and we are happy to welcoming you many times at our place, Best Western Hotel Stücki.
See you soon! Your Stücki Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    183
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
127
78
14
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed in this hotel for 2 nights at the end of January and we were both very impressed .
It is an excellent base from which to explore Basel. It is outside of the centre but this is not a problem due to the efficient public transport system that they have. The trams run all through the day until around 1am and come to the stops every 10mins or so.
The staff at the hotel are super efficient and very polite and excel in helping you with any requests you may have.
At check-in we were issued with free public transport passes and timetables/maps from the Reception staff, which we were able to use straight away as the tram stop is right across the road and takes you into the centre within 10mins.
The rooms are very spacious and clean and beds very comfortable.
Some nice touches in the rooms also that you wouldn't normally expect from 3*.

We ate at the Aroma Italian Trattoria on the Friday night which is in the centre and was absolutely delicious. On the Saturday night we ate at the Steak House right next door to the Hotel and again the food was excellent and really good value for money for such a good quality steak.

I would definately recommend this hotel if you are visiting Basel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Stuecki Basel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Janine,
Thank you very much for your lovely words on Trip Advisor!
I can not begin to tell you how happy it made me to read about your experience at our hotel. The team here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as humanly possible. When we accomplish that goal we have done our job. I am so honored that you choose Best Western Hotel Stücki while you were in Basel. And we’re extremely grateful that you took the time out of your busy schedule to share this wonderful feedback. I really appreciate it and know the team will as well when I share it with them. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in town.
Best regards,
Your Stücki Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Has it ever happened to you? You pay a lot of money to try out a very expensive hotel and when you check out you wish that you'd never have done this choise?

After some experiences like the above mentioned, I decided to stay in a 3 star Best Western hotel that is ranking quite high in Tripadvisor in Basel (Hotel Stuecki).

And miracle!!!

The rate is very good. 120 CHF (i.e. 100 Euro and this in Switzerland) for a double room which is modern, clean and above all has very friendly staff. Not the robotic friendliness but friendliness that comes from the heart.

I stayed there for two nights and I will definitely stay in Stuecki again. This, because it feels homey, it is quiet, has a garage, it is conveniently located close to bus and tram stations and the staff cares about their guests.

Thank you Stuecki and next time I will book directly with you and not with the O.T.A.'s

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimiskg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Stuecki Basel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely words and we sigh with relief that you do not have to write a comment like yours, mentioned in the first paragraph, that makes us even more happy and we will emphasize our service with a even bigger smile, thank you!
See you and your family soon again, we are looking forward to it!
Your Stücki Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picacho, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Stuecki the day before departing on a Rhine River Cruise. We arrived at the hotel about 10:00 a.m. It had been a long flight to get there from Des Moines, Iowa to Basel via Amsterdam - the last leg on Easy Jet. We were weary so asked if a made-up room might be available. The front desk staff was able to place us immediately. They were also most helpful with directions and helpful answers to our questions. The location was ideal. The tram stop was about three blocks away and the hotel provided a tram pass that was good for the two days (one night) we were there. Our Viking cruise ship was docked nearby and we were able to walk there pulling our luggage. The room was of a nice size with a large window and excellent bath. Both the room and bath were spotlessly clean. We had coffee from the lobby shop and that was our initial exposure to Swiss prices - it's not a bargain destination! We very much enjoyed our stay and would stay here should we return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nosheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Stuecki Basel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your honest and nice words and your excellent rating! We are happy to hear that we could chip in our part to a adventure Rhine River Cruise. We are sur that there are many option for visiting Basel and it would be a pleasure to welcome you soon again!
Thanks for the background informations and the tips, we and our future guests appreciate it!
See you soon, your Stücki Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Stuecki. The hotel is clean and quiet. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The decor is minimalist. We had some serious laughs regarding the lighting in the room. I'm not going to share, you just have to experience it. It's right near the tram stop that takes you to downtown. A great location. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doo406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Stuecki Basel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice and amusing comment on Trip Advisor. Nice to hear that you had a good and funny stay with us, that makes us pretty happy! See you soon at hotel Stücki, it would a pleasure!
Kind regards, your Stücki Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Cannot believe this is only a 3*! What a lovely hotel. Super clean, modern and tastefully furnished.

Stayed 2 nights 14-16 December 2012 for a girlie weekend. Had Rooms 302 and 304 and both were absolutely superb and very quiet. Vinyl/laminate flooring which was great - hate grotty carpets. Rooms were both identical and were very large and bright with neutral decor. Free room safe. Bathrooms were fantastic - large walk-in shower with huge rain head and another one - very modern and super clean. Nice toiletries and a proper hairdryer - don't bother taking one. We had single beds and they seemed bigger than normal and I think they were memory foam - comfiest hotel bed I've ever slept in. Pillows, however, were awful - asked reception for some more. Only downside for me was that the windows could not be opened but the heating/air-conditioning was easy to control.

All the staff were lovely and friendly and very efficient. We received a complimentary drink at the hotel bar as well as bottled water in our rooms. Also, there was a comp fruit basket at reception and a small area offering comp juice, tea, coffee and hot chocolate opposite reception.

We paid 23 CHF / approx £15 for breakfast one morning and although that seems expensive it was actually very good value considering how expensive food is there. The breakfast was extremely good - usual hot things (fabulous scrambled egg and cook-your-own boiled eggs), cold meats, cheeses, pastries, bread, jams, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, juices, tea, lovely coffee - and kept us going all day.

The tram stopped across the road from the hotel and using our free travel passes, we were into the centre of Basel in approx 10 mins.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We paid approx £75 per night per room (room only) and, for Switzerland, this was amazing value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiddymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Stuecki Basel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your huge comment and your excellent rating! It makes us happy to hear that you could enjoy your girlie weekend to the fullest.
Thank you as well for that detailled description of your stay, the hotel and the area, it is more valuable than the best guide book you can buy.
We are looking forward to your next girlie weekend, we are pleased to be again your place to be in Basel!
Best regards, your Hotel Stücki Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel is very nice. It has very large and well decorated rooms. We've had a very good breakfast service. Even if it's not located in a central zone, you can reach Basel centre in 10 minutes by tram.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fedebassi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Stuecki Basel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment and your nice heading! We are happy if you are, nice to hear that you had a memorable stay with us. See you soon!
Your Stücki Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Basel
#6 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#4 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stuecki Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stuecki Basel

Property: Hotel Stuecki Basel
Address: Badenstrasse 1, Basel 4057, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Stücki Basel)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stuecki Basel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Stucki is part of the Stucki Shopping and Leisure Centre in the district of Kleinhuningen, a 10-minute drive from Basel Airport. It has free Wi-fi internet access and free bike rental. The rooms are all air-conditioned and feature a flat-screen satellite TV, a refrigerator, and a tea and coffee maker. Guests have large work desks and modern media technology. The bathrooms include spacious shower cabins with rain showers. The hotel has an elegant lounge bar with a terrace and an internet terminal in the lobby. Guests can play pool and foosball. There is an underground parking garage with reserved parking spaces (16.00 CHF per night)and a bike storage room. A limited number of bikes are available free of charge. The Kleinhuningen Tram Stop is a 5-minute walk from the property. Tram line 8 provides direct services to Basel's Main Train Station. Hotel Stucki is in the immediate vicinity of the Messe Basel exhibition area and the headquarters of the big pharmaceutical companies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TravelClick so you can book your Hotel Stuecki Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing