We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Stuecki Basel
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Rockland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Stuecki. The hotel is clean and quiet. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The decor is minimalist. We had some serious laughs regarding the lighting in the room. I'm not going to share, you just have to experience it. It's right near the tram stop that takes you to downtown. A great location. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doo406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Stuecki Basel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice and amusing comment on Trip Advisor. Nice to hear that you had a good and funny stay with us, that makes us pretty happy! See you soon at hotel Stücki, it would a pleasure!
Kind regards, your Stücki Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    190
    18
    2
    0
See reviews for
132
80
14
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Cannot believe this is only a 3*! What a lovely hotel. Super clean, modern and tastefully furnished.

Stayed 2 nights 14-16 December 2012 for a girlie weekend. Had Rooms 302 and 304 and both were absolutely superb and very quiet. Vinyl/laminate flooring which was great - hate grotty carpets. Rooms were both identical and were very large and bright with neutral decor. Free room safe. Bathrooms were fantastic - large walk-in shower with huge rain head and another one - very modern and super clean. Nice toiletries and a proper hairdryer - don't bother taking one. We had single beds and they seemed bigger than normal and I think they were memory foam - comfiest hotel bed I've ever slept in. Pillows, however, were awful - asked reception for some more. Only downside for me was that the windows could not be opened but the heating/air-conditioning was easy to control.

All the staff were lovely and friendly and very efficient. We received a complimentary drink at the hotel bar as well as bottled water in our rooms. Also, there was a comp fruit basket at reception and a small area offering comp juice, tea, coffee and hot chocolate opposite reception.

We paid 23 CHF / approx £15 for breakfast one morning and although that seems expensive it was actually very good value considering how expensive food is there. The breakfast was extremely good - usual hot things (fabulous scrambled egg and cook-your-own boiled eggs), cold meats, cheeses, pastries, bread, jams, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, juices, tea, lovely coffee - and kept us going all day.

The tram stopped across the road from the hotel and using our free travel passes, we were into the centre of Basel in approx 10 mins.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We paid approx £75 per night per room (room only) and, for Switzerland, this was amazing value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiddymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Stuecki Basel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your huge comment and your excellent rating! It makes us happy to hear that you could enjoy your girlie weekend to the fullest.
Thank you as well for that detailled description of your stay, the hotel and the area, it is more valuable than the best guide book you can buy.
We are looking forward to your next girlie weekend, we are pleased to be again your place to be in Basel!
Best regards, your Hotel Stücki Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel is very nice. It has very large and well decorated rooms. We've had a very good breakfast service. Even if it's not located in a central zone, you can reach Basel centre in 10 minutes by tram.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fedebassi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Stuecki Basel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment and your nice heading! We are happy if you are, nice to hear that you had a memorable stay with us. See you soon!
Your Stücki Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights before a Viking River Cruise to Amsterdam. It was a great location, only a short walk to the public tram. We loved the fact that the public transportation is free for tourists; we used it a lot. The rooms were quite large and we loved the showers! We found the food in Basel to be very expensive. The hotel is located within walking distance (about 20 minutes) of the pier for Viking and easily accessible. Because we had a lot of luggage, we took a taxi (20 CHF) but we met people who had walked from the hotel and had no problem. The front desk personnel were very friendly and extremely helpful. We would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Basel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fljane51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Stuecki Basel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Jane,
Thank you very much for your comment and your fantastic rating, we appreiciate it! Nice to hear that we could offer you a pleasant stay in Basel with our place to sleeping and all those little things like the free ticket for the public transportation.
We hope that you river cruise was a success and you had grea fun!
See you back soon at Hotel Stücki!
Your Stücki Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

After living in Switzerland for 7 years, this hotel stands out as one of our favorites. Very new, modern building conveniently located next to a mall. The attached Blockhouse restaurant appeared to be good, although we never managed to eat there. There was free internet, a free welcoming drink, free water in the room, a free local transportation card. After parking, I paid 280 chfs for a 5-person room, which was an extraordinarily nice suite but a splurge nonetheless. For so much money, I think they should have follow the Best Western standard and offer free breakfast and for that matter parking. This was an outstanding hotel, but I felt the price at the end of our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramblerandagambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Stuecki Basel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment and your rating. Nice to hear that you have a memorable stay with us. Your input referring the Best Western Standard, I regret telling you that there is no need for a standard to offer free parking or breakfast, every hotel can choose it by itself and after it's philosophy. We prefer to let our guests the choice; having breakfast or not, it is not everybody's thing.
We are looking to welcoming you soon again at our place.
Your Stücki Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth NZ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We needed one night in Basel prior to our Uniworld Rhine cruise to Amsterdam. We chose Stuecki because it looked to be near the dock and so it proved. However it offered a lot more. We arrived at 11.00am and expected to have to wait but the most efficient receptionist told us our room was ready. She was also a fund of knowledge on what to do in Basel. The hotel is close to the tram terminus and the hotel card ensured there was no charge for the trip into the centre. The room was really clean and spacious with free internet. While some distance from general shops the hotel is right next to a major shopping complex. The Uniworld dock was no more than 15 minutes from the hotel and we enjoyed the walk

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidHNewPlymouthNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Stuecki Basel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear David,
Thank you very much for your lovely comment and your rating. We are happy to hear that you had a good start of your journey to Amsterdam, I guess you had a great time!
Come and visit us again when you next time go on a Rhine cruise, we are looking to welcoming you soon again!
Your Stücki Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed for 12 nights during a business trip and found the hotel to be comfortable, clean and with friendly staff. The breakfast buffet offers a good selection without going over the top.

If I could offer one suggestion to them, it would be to include hair conditioner in the toiletries. A minor point, not worth taking a star off for, but can make a difference.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AlanM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Stuecki Basel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Alan,
Thank you for the time taken to rate us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted you had a memorable stay with us and naturally we take note of your input, thank you.
It would be a pleasure to welcoming you soon again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#3 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Basel
#9 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#6 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stuecki Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stuecki Basel

Property: Hotel Stuecki Basel
Address: Badenstrasse 1, Basel 4057, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Stücki Basel)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stuecki Basel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Stucki is part of the Stucki Shopping and Leisure Centre in the district of Kleinhuningen, a 10-minute drive from Basel Airport. It has free Wi-fi internet access and free bike rental. The rooms are all air-conditioned and feature a flat-screen satellite TV, a refrigerator, and a tea and coffee maker. Guests have large work desks and modern media technology. The bathrooms include spacious shower cabins with rain showers. The hotel has an elegant lounge bar with a terrace and an internet terminal in the lobby. Guests can play pool and foosball. There is an underground parking garage with reserved parking spaces (16.00 CHF per night)and a bike storage room. A limited number of bikes are available free of charge. The Kleinhuningen Tram Stop is a 5-minute walk from the property. Tram line 8 provides direct services to Basel's Main Train Station. Hotel Stucki is in the immediate vicinity of the Messe Basel exhibition area and the headquarters of the big pharmaceutical companies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Stuecki Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing