We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good modern hotel, location...?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Stuecki Basel
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel during our leasure trip and we liked the hotel itself. It is quite new, so rooms are in good shape, average size. The was a king comfortable bed, pretty good modern shower, coffee/tea in the room, flat TV, complimentary bottle of water, fridge. We did not have a breakfast in the hotel, I believe it is 23 euros, but we parked the car in the hotel undeground parking (16 euros).
The location of the hotel is geared towards business travellers-there are several pharmaceutical companies in the close area. For us leasure travellers who came to see the city it was not very convinient. There is Number 8 tram going to the City center and it is approximately 10 minute walk. Waiting for the tram is usually another 10 and it takes 15 minutes to get to the center. So, approximately half an hour.

There is Steak house right next door and a shoping center. We did not find any other restaurants in the area except hotel bar.

In general I would reccomend this hotel wh

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Osetleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Stuecki Basel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for rating us and your detailled comment. It is very important for us and for future guests, how the guests real aspect is.
You are right, the Hotel Stücki is nonspecific in the city center but luckily there are tram and bus traffic connections as mentioned above. They run regularly and and are absolutely reliable.
Please ask for any restaurant tipps our front desk, they help you with pleasure and might show you some insiders' tips.
We are looking forward to welcomeing you and your wife soon again at Hotel Stücki!
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 470 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

At the Best Western Basel/Stucki you will get a clean room, near a suburban shopping center and within walking distance of a bus stop.

Check-in and check out are efficient though not particularly friendly or helpful (Euro-reserved). The room is average size and as this hotel is reasonably new, in good shape. My room had a king size bed (pushed together twins, as is common in Europe), large flat screen TV with some English channels, non-smoking, free internet in the room (with room number and last name and wireless in the lobby without restriction), two bottles of water and in-room coffee service. The bathroom is moderately sized and nicely appointed, though it has wall mounted squeeze bottles of shampoo/body wash instead of separate amenities.

Breakfast is not included in the rate, and is a whopping $28 (won’t make that mistake again).

This is a new, 3 star hotel with rates lower than those downtown…notwithstanding some of the other glowing reviews, it is, in my opinion, exactly that.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyguyAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Stuecki Basel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Flyguy

Thank you for your honest feedback, which we appreciate.

We are sorry to hear that the check-in did not entirely correspond to your expectations in terms of friendliness. We are constantly working on improving the quality of our service and friendliness and helpfulness are our top priorities.

For those guests appreciating a more inexpensive breakfast we offer our continental breakfast for the price of $ 14.

Despite the fact that you were not entirely satisfied, we would be happy to get a new chance and to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards
Your Best Western Hotel Stücki -Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We broke down not far from Basel & stayed two nights. Staff could not have been more helpful. Service was excellent! Rooms were huge & very comfortable. Great bar and restaurant and shopping centre next door for essentials. Not near the centre but complimentary tram tickets were helpful and appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreekAussieChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Stuecki Basel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear guest
Thank you for the time taken to rate us on tripadvisor. We are delighted you had a memorable stay with us and will make sure to forward your compliments to the team.

Best Regards,
Your Stücki Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Truly this hotel is grossly underrated. It was to me five star accommodation. The only thing missing is a conciege or porter to get your bags up, otherwise any day any time, this hotel would match any of the so called five star hotels. Everything was excellent, spacious room ( family), easy location to move around, right across the German border. Shopping malls stucki, maurtkauf for cheaper shopping is just around you. Steak house at stucki expensive yes but hey it's Basel. Other good eateries can be found in the stucki mall or a short tram ride into the city for free! Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The family room is better if you have older children. Good value for money with a mini kitchen, coff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nene_iwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Stuecki Basel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your rating and your comment on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you had a good stay with us and believe me, we are very pleased with 3 Star Superior, but good to hear that you had this "5 Star" impression, thank you.
See you back soon at Hotel Stücki, please feel warly welcome at any time!
Your Stücki Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

A comfortable hotel in a quiet suburb. There's not much around the hotel, apart from a supermarket and an expensive steak house. It's about 15 minutes from the centre of Basel (the hotel will give you a complementary travel card, which you can use on buses and trams) and there is a tram stop about 3 minutes by foot from the hotel that will get you to the sights. You'll also get a welcome drink, which we appreciated. Although we were in Basel for one night, we thought this would make a pretty good base for exploring the city because of the travel card. The room we had was spacious, with a large (if slightly municipal) bathroom. The staff were courteous and efficient. Overall, despite it feeling a little corporate, it's worth the money, particularly as essentially it offers free public transport for the price you pay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RinMachen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Stuecki Basel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your nice comment and for rating us. It helps us seriously improving our service and beeing aware of the needs of our guests.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you soon at again at Hotel Stücki, we appreciate you as a guest and are looking forward to it.
Best Regards,
Your Stücki Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Best Western Stuecki is a great place to stay for your business visits to Basel in Switzerland. The rooms are spacious, well lit, quiet and well maintained as well.
The bath is spacious and well equipped unlike most European hotels.
The breakfast spread is large and has plenty of choices. They have a great Sunday brunch too!
There is a free internet but at slower speeds. One has to pay if you need higher speeds.
The staff is very helpful and go out of the way to accomodate your requests.
I was provided a free bicycle to go around on weekends and this was really helpful for me to explore the city. Basel is of course bicycle friendly!
The hotel also gives a mobility pass - you can travel free on all buses, trams during the duration of stay.
This one is located very close to a tram station and one can just walk across to the hotel. The hotel is also next to a large mall with a food court and hence have plenty of choices for eating out.
Overll I recommend this to anyone on a visit to Basel.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nvenky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Stuecki Basel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your lovely words and your rating on TripAdvisor! It is very interesting for future guests, reading such detailled informations about the Stücki and Basel.
Nice to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and thank you for the recommendation.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon againat our place, it would be a pleasure!
Kind regards,
Your Stücki Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Solomon A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Stuecki Basel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 52 in Basel
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stuecki Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stuecki Basel

Address: Badenstrasse 1, Basel 4057, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Stücki Basel)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Price Range: $105 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stuecki Basel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Stucki is part of the Stucki Shopping and Leisure Centre in the district of Kleinhuningen, a 10-minute drive from Basel Airport. It has free Wi-fi internet access and free bike rental. The rooms are all air-conditioned and feature a flat-screen satellite TV, a refrigerator, and a tea and coffee maker. Guests have large work desks and modern media technology. The bathrooms include spacious shower cabins with rain showers. The hotel has an elegant lounge bar with a terrace and an internet terminal in the lobby. Guests can play pool and foosball. There is an underground parking garage with reserved parking spaces (16.00 CHF per night)and a bike storage room. A limited number of bikes are available free of charge. The Kleinhuningen Tram Stop is a 5-minute walk from the property. Tram line 8 provides direct services to Basel's Main Train Station. Hotel Stucki is in the immediate vicinity of the Messe Basel exhibition area and the headquarters of the big pharmaceutical companies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Stuecki Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing