We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bad nights sleep”
Review of ibis Basel Bahnhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Basel Bahnhof
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The Hotel is in an excellent location for Basel SBB -we walked it with hand baggage in 5 minutes. Like all budget hotels the effort has gone into the bedrooms rather than pretentious public rooms. The bedrooms were small but well equipped and perfectly adequate for a short stay - at a reasonable price for a Swiss city hotel. The breakfast was good for 15 francs and our understanding was that snacks/simple meals were available most of the day. We were recommended by reception to an excellent Italian restaurant nearby. All in all it would have been a good stay if I could have got some sleep. We had a room on the 4th floor facing out onto the street and with the window open the street noise people/cars and in particular trams was about as bad as it gets. The noise insulation of the windows was excellent but unfortunately the aircon. was either not working or ineffective - remember the room is small. By the time we realised the problem it was too late to call reception. If you book this hotel then try to book a room away from the street and/or check if the aircon. has been switched on for the summer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyseye99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 909 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed at this hotel at the beginning of March. Absolutely brilliant! Just what we needed, the hotel website that I booked this through stated that it was 2 star but this is definitely not the case. Great location walking distance to the train station and a 15-20 minute walk to the market square. There is a tram stop right outside the hotel which will take you to the centre of Basel within 5 minutes, we heard no noise at all. Upon check-in a friendly man on reception advised us on where to travel to the following day as we had hired a car, he helped us with maps and directions which was very much appreciated. I would highly recommend this hotel as it was perfect for what we needed at a great price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnfirstchoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank EJHZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Excellent experience and friendly service. Booked already for my return trip to Basel for the same Hotel (Ibis) for the end of August begin of September.
Looking forward to the same quality of food and service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Baslerbebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I generally like Ibis and this is no exception. Easy walk from train station. Very friendly staff. Room small but efficient. Shower does not include shampoo/conditioner, just generic liquid soap. Free and good WiFi. Basel metro pass free of charge. Not really walking distance to sites, but very easy tram ride. You can hear muffled noise from train station a little, would recommend room facing street. No mini bar or hotel shop, and nearest mini grocery is at train station. Small hotel bar. Breakfast is a bit lean for 15 francs. For short term business travel, it is a great alternative.

Room Tip: Face away from train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trinzeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We've stayed here recently when we went to Basel for a friend's birthday. The location is great, close to the train station and the stop for the airport bus and the mobility ticket that we received upon check-in allowed us unlimited travel on public transport while we were there. Staff were friendly, our room was clean. Didn't have any food or drinks here, but we absolutely did not have any complaints.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank TrippyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

No reason at all to give this hotel less than 5-stars. Excellent location, about five-to-ten minutes' walk from the station, and on several important tram routes (beware some tram and train noise in some rooms). Hotel is welcoming, with excellent knowledgeable staff, and scrupulously clean. Rooms are quite small but adequately equipped. Bar is available 24 hours, and breakfast is an impressive 'all you can eat' buffet from 6am. Price of this hotel is significantly below that of some of the big hotels (e.g. Hilton), but I can't quite work out why I would spend more money on a hotel in Basel. The neighbouring restaurant recommended by the hotel, 20 metres away was honest and convenient; just across the bridge, the Brasserie at the station is a very nice bar to have a drink or to eat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheRoliingMcStones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
St. Alban
ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
#30 of 52 in Basel
415 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#29 of 52 in Basel
248 reviews
Hotel Stuecki Basel
#9 of 52 in Basel
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Basel Bahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Basel Bahnhof

Address: Margarethenstrasse 33 - 35, Basel 4053, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Basel
#12 Family Hotel in Basel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#14 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range: $94 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Basel Bahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel ibis Basel Bahnhof is located right next to the main train station in Basel and is 15 minutes from Basel's EuroAirport. The city center and the zoo are just a few minutes' walk or a short tram ride away. Our hotel with 112 rooms is fully non smoking. Enjoy our friendly 24/7 reception, our generous buffet breakfast, 24/7 bar service, free wifi and webcorner, luggage room and an indoor car park (12 spaces for an extra charge)are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your ibis Basel Bahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Basel Bahnhof Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing