We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”
Review of ibis Basel Bahnhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Basel Bahnhof
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very good value”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Good location being a short walk from the station. The included mobility pass was excellent as you could jump on the tram right outside the hotel to get into the centre of town. Room was clean and a good size with a very comfortable bed. Bathroom failry small but had a huge and powerful shower which was great. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definately recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonFifi_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    491
    88
    7
    1
See reviews for
101
362
136
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have stayed at the Ibis Basel Bahnhof Hotel many times on business trips to Basel.
The stuff is very friendly. If you arrive by car, make sure you call before and ask for the parking in the hotel garage. If you call the reception upon arrival they can open you the gate.

There are a few restaurants in the neighbourhood and within a 5 minute walk you are at the train station.

The hotel has a wifi (free in general areas, pay on room) - the rooms are always very clean. All the newer Ibis Hotels in Switzerland (been to Lugano, Locarno, Freiburg) have the same room interiour - so it makes business trips always more comfortable since the room always look the same - you kinda feel at home :)

All the Ibis Hotels provides breakfast (pay extra) and most of them have a little snack card.There is no restaurant in the hotel.

As for Basel the Ibis as a business hotel compared to other hotels in Basel is a very good value for the price. Also tramline and trainstation is so close, its easy to get around.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nana d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Switzerland isn't cheap but at least the Ibis is good value, near the station, a 10 minute walk from the old Town, clean and comfortable rooms, a small bar for a late night beer, very friendly staff and a Basel mobility ticket free which enables you to travel around and get to the airport without the horrendous taxi fares!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel is convenient for the station but on the opposite side of the tracks from the main entrance. It is only a few minutes from the south entrance. An adantage of staying near the station if arriving by train or the bus from the airport is that you can collect your mobility pass for transport around the city on checking in to the hotel. The hotel is reasonably wel equipped with functional bedroms, high housekeeping standards and a reasonably wide ranging breakfast buffet. My room faced the road away from the railway and I had no problem with noise. Staff were both friendly and professional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank railtraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel for the first time. We've checked in rather late, and that was OK with the reception. I heard that usually this hotel doesn't approve of these things, but we called rather on time that we will check in after midnight.
The rooms were quite small for 2 people to stay in. The bathroom in particular. I didn't like you had only 1 towel per person, so I've asked at the reception for the extra one, which I got with no problem.
Breakfast was quite poor for the amount/quality/price ratio.
The location is overall OK, very near to train station (3 minute walk), and only 5 tram stations from the city center (15 minutes walk).
To sum up, hotel is OK, but in my opinion, quite expensive for what it offers.

Room Tip: I saw one room at the corner of one floor are for disable people, so feel free to ask for a room tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAdvisorNo.1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed 1 night at Ibis Basel for a overnight stop to Luzern. Price was about 90 CHF per night which was quite good for hotels of this class in Basel.

Arrived by train to Basel Central Station from Paris so was already quite tired. It was good to know that the hotel was only about 5 mins walk away from the station.

The staff at check in was friendly and knowledgeable and greeted me by name (as i was the only Asian in the whole hotel for that day). Check in was easy and was provided with maps and a mobility pass to explore the city with (free trams rides for the day).

Room was very spacious for a Ibis Class hotel and toilet was even larger. Huge shower walk in was provided. 2 desk was located in the room and numerous shelves and large spaces to store clothing was provided. Bed was comfortable for the night sleep as well.

The hotel did not really provide much views and i was left with a view of the main station. But no audible noise from the outside could be heard which was great.

If my travels in the future requires me to travel to Basel again, i would definitely consider stay in this Hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
St. Alban
ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
#31 of 51 in Basel
378 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
St. Alban
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#24 of 51 in Basel
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#32 of 51 in Basel
234 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Basel Bahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Basel Bahnhof

Property: ibis Basel Bahnhof
Address: Margarethenstrasse 33 - 35, Basel 4053, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Basel
#12 Family Hotel in Basel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#14 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Basel Bahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel ibis Basel Bahnhof is located right next to the main train station in Basel and is 15 minutes from Basel's EuroAirport. The city center and the zoo are just a few minutes' walk or a short tram ride away. Our hotel with 112 rooms is fully non smoking. Enjoy our friendly 24/7 reception, our generous buffet breakfast, 24/7 bar service, free wifi and webcorner, luggage room and an indoor car park (12 spaces for an extra charge)are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your ibis Basel Bahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Basel Bahnhof Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing