We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ibis Basel Bahnhof
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Schweizerhof Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$130
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$141
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$613
$564
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel D - Basel(Basel)
$128
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Spalentor Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
$172
$160
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$123
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
GAIA Hotel(Basel)
$173
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (950)
Filter reviews
950 results
Traveler rating
325
523
92
9
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
523
92
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stopminute walkseems expensivemain stationcity centretravelling by trainshort staynumber buspublic transportcold cutsfree travel cardmobility cardfree wifitrams and buseslate at nightrooms are smallsbb station
Filter
Updating list...
332 - 337 of 950 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I booked this hotel because it was one of the best priced properties near the train station. Although its name indicates that it is at the Bahnhof. It does take about 7-10 minutes to walk there. It is actually behind the station and a street away. One of the bonuses at the time of my stay was the transportation card that gave access to the tram and busses within the city zone. Breakfast was expensive at 15 CHF. The room for two is somewhat small, but comfortable. Since it is an IBIS (a budget hotel), it is a basic hotel room. However, there is a TV, a decent sized bathroom with shower, and free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaa0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is well situated near the train station and tram lines. The hotel provides free tickets for the trams and buses and you can catch a tram just outside the door that takes you to the city centre. You can also catch a bus from the train station to the airport using these tickets and with the price of cabs this is a good thing.

The hotel is clean and the staff are pleasant. The room was average sized with a small closet area and shelves for clothing. There is a small seating area and desk. The bathroom has a stand up shower. The window opens for fresh air. There is a little outside noise from traffic but nothing serious and we didn't hear any noise from inside.

There are places to eat nearby. Unfortunately, there is no kettle or coffee maker in the room.

We were happy with this choice of hotel especially when you want to grab a train to a nearby city. We went to Lucerne for a daytrip and went up to the top of Stanserhorn to view the surrounding mountains. The weather was great and it was a wonderful day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were a party of six people travelling by train from the UK to Lake Garda in Italy and we broke our journey with an overnight stay in Basel at the Ibis Bahnhof. The hotel is very clean and comfortable and good value for a hotel in Switzerland, we thought. As with all Ibis hotels I have been to, there is a varied buffet breakfast, which was good quality. The breakfast was extra and cost 15 Swiss francs per person. The hotel is near the main station, as its name implies and a number 16 tram will take you to the town centre and the river Rhine in about 5/10 minutes. Tourists are given a free tram pass by the hotel and the tram stop is just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marion00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here overnight before continuing our journey. Even before we arrived I had been most impressed! I contacted the hotel by email with various queries before booking, and received helpful and friendly responses. They even sent details of which bus or tram to get to the station, and directions from there to the hotel. I agree with a previous reviewer, in that arriving late at night, I was worried about the area - needlessly. The hotel is ideally placed for using the Mobility ticket (free transport around the city -you pay tourist tax which entitles you to this), also perfect for connections by train. Our room was absolutely fine, very clean, comfortable bed and a fantastic shower! A beer in the bar hit the spot on arrival. We found a good choice at breakfast, plenty of variety. The coffee wasn't to my taste, but there were other choices of hot drinks, and different fruit juices available. The best part of our stay was undoubtedly the excellent, friendly service we received, both before and during our stay. The person who took the booking gave us a really good price which included breakfast. Sadly, the friend we were due to travel with had to cancel due to illness, when I informed the hotel of this prior to our stay, it was sorted quickly and efficiently, and they sent a kind note wishing my friend a speedy recovery. All in all, won't hesitate to recommend this hotel to others, and will stay there again.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant, but snacks are available. We were on the first floor and there was some traffic noise, if this concerns you request a higher floor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris7_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam S, Manager at ibis Basel Bahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Chris7_10

thank you very much for your feedback on tripadvisor. We will share your positive comments with our team members to motivate them to continue their excellent work. It is very important for us to provide even as a 2star hotel and individual and warm service. It would be a pleasure for us welcoming you and your friends again in Basle. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel recently before starting a river cruise. The hotel is situated close to the main train station and on a tram line with the tram stop just outside the door. Despite this it is a very quiet location. Room size was okay, amenities good and clean. Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about tourist activities. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozjamboree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews