We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical swiss dinner”
Review of Walliser Kanne

Walliser Kanne
Ranked #40 of 645 Restaurants in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Altstadt
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Typical swiss dinner”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Some colleagues from latin america wanted to try typical swiss food, so we took the to the Walliser Kanne. We had the regular foundue, which was good but quite expensive. Service was very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M0nicA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    167
    69
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“very good!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

great , traditional Swiss menu.
very high Quality Food, Service and wine list.
excellent schitzel, soups and salad.
Fondue with champagene , brilliant!

highly reccomended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

very euthenics experience, Swiss food at his best! Wiener schnitzel is highly recommended, with spätzli or rösti, a perfect delight!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Uri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not for me”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Five of us went to eat here last week. It's not the first time that I have been but I must say that I will not go again. We were with a couple who were new to Switzerland so we had fondue as a starter - way too heavy as a starter but a very nice fondue. Two of our party then had the weiner snitzel which is cooked in butter by the table. I do not like butter and the smell was so overpowering that at one stage I thought that I was going to be sick. Maybe we were sat in the wrong place but I've never had that problem before. I had the sausage with onion gravy and rosti. The sausage had lots of gristle in it and for me was inedible. All in all the experience, for me, was very bad so I feel that I could not recommend the restaurant to anyone.good

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 236SueH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, but expensive”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I have eaten here a few times when visiting Basel. If you want really good, traditional Swiss food then I can definitely recommend Walliser Kanne. Eating out in Switzerland is generally an expensive experience, and this is on the top end of expensive, but for a treat, I think it's worth it. The cheese fondue and the Wiener schnitzel are absolutely fantastic and there is a warm atmosphere with good service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Timmo_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walliser Kanne also viewed

Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to Walliser Kanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing