We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favourite at lunchtimes”

Thai-Family Restaurant Sudsaard
Ranked #10 of 653 Restaurants in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $36
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Cookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“A favourite at lunchtimes”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Myself and a couple of colleagues used to go on a regular basis to the Thai-Family restaurant. The food was excellent with the menu offering a wide variety of choice. There was plenty of flavour packed in to the dishes and the quality of the meats were always very good.

There is another Thai restaurant in Basel that is also very popular, however this would be my choice based upon service and the quality of the food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    60
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Heavy on premade sauces”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We live in Basel and hat wanted to go the Thai family for a long time. We were not disappointed with the service and the atmosphere, the food was far from what one could expect for that price. We liked the salad which was fresh. Both of the main dishes we had were however spoiled by prefab sauces. While the brown sauce - what a British person might call gravy - was very heavy on Knorr or Maggi, the sweet and sour tasted very much like what we buy in our Asian grocery store next door. There are better Thai restaurants in Basel. One of them is Chanthabury, a good five minutes' walk from Thai family. It is more expensive, but I always got the real thing there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WayanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've had in Basel”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Have eaten here twice now and each time have loved it. Yes, its not cheap but the portions are big and the quality of the food makes up for the price. Great for a special occasion

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank J0nG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Eating at Home”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

When you get into the restaurant, you are welcomed with a smile & a helpful team, the table arrangements, the simple decoration, the smell of food, as if coming back home from a long tiring day.

Drinks are requested & served immediately, the bear is good & the wine is fine, the excellent feature is the food, the variety is great, the taste is good & the portions are fine.

When you finish & leave as going out to your day after a nice lunch or dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foujo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ok. Not more”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Food was expensive. Not sogreat. Service
Was good. Not my first choice next trip in basel. Food was greasy not amazing fish was good

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Avi-lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai-Family Restaurant Sudsaard also viewed

Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to Thai-Family Restaurant Sudsaard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing