We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Generation YMCA Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Generation YMCA Hostel
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Basel
Aveiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hostel is very good located, close to the train station SBB where you can the the bus to the airport (15min). The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice and very clean, and towels included in the price. We booked a studio for 2 people, which actually was a 2-room apartment, so you share the facilities (bathroom and kitchen) with another room. Anyway, we had a lovely stay and I would definitely return.
You also get a free pass to all transportation in Basel during in your stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    130
    25
    10
    12
See reviews for
54
45
133
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

the hostel is close to the train station, easy to go anywhere, and there is a "coop" supermarket in the train station, so it's convenient to buy something. Room is big, clean, quiet and nice. The staff gave us free tickets to take the bus, which was really helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yutonguk Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

I stayed in a single room with shared bathroom. I had had some doubts, if it had been a good idea, but yes, it was! The shared bathroom and toilettes were very clean, the toilette-paper folded in a triangle on my arrival. And the room: it was a WOW effect. No hostel feeling. Toblerone chocolate on my pillow, towels, soap, slippers, bathrobe, good wifi, silence. What else could I have wished? Located near to the station, which means near to the historical center, too. (On foot about 15 min.) Check it out if you go to Basel, this place really worths the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamonadiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

the hostel is very close to the railway station. it is very convenience to live here.the price is nice and the quality is very well.staffs are so nice and helpful. if i would go to Basel again i won't hesitate to choese this hostel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YANSHAN Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

The YMCA hostel is a very short walk from the train station and the city centre.
The hostel itself is clean and warm with very good kitchen facilities that we made regular use of. The bathrooms are kept tidy and there was never a queue for the shower.
All in all, I would recommend this hostel and definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

The hostel is very nice and clean, the location is very convenient to reach centrale station and city center. It's really a good choose to stay when you travell in Basel. I think we will be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UnS0rris0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Good location very close to the train station! all very clean and good quality for the price. There are good facilities for the kitchen also but I did not use them. I would stay again if I was in Basel

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JennyJayK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
St. Alban
ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
#31 of 51 in Basel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
ibis Basel Bahnhof
#17 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Alban
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#21 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Hotel Stuecki Basel
#10 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generation YMCA Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generation YMCA Hostel

Property: Generation YMCA Hostel
Address: Gempenstrasse 64, Basel 4053, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Generation YMCA Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come here to rest. The YMCA Hostel Basel is only about three hundred metres from the Gundeldingen exit of the Basel SBB station, tucked away in a quiet side street with a courtyard garden. The YMCA Hostel offers 150 beds in 43 single, double and shared rooms. The hostel is suitable for families and groups. The whole building is non-smoking, but smoking is permitted in the courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Generation YMCA Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca Hostel Basel Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing