We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great spot, great views”
Enjoy the firepit and the wildlife (deer at Breezy fire pit: photo by Gabriel Esler)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy the firepit and the wildlife (deer at Breezy fire pit: photo by Gabriel Esler)
Experience spectacular mornings at Breezy Breezy\'s Living Dining Kitchen area; can accomodate up to 16 guests for dinners
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Enjoy the firepit and the wildlife (deer at Breezy fire pit: photo by Gabriel Esler)
Experience spectacular mornings at Breezy
Breezy\'s Living Dining Kitchen area; can accomodate up to 16 guests for dinners
Enjoy our warm and cosy fire place - firewood provided
Enjoy the decks of Breezy; this main deck is 5x10m (15x30ft)
Breezy's spacious family room
Breezy\'s Red Room
Breezy's White Room
Breezy\'s Yellow Room
Secondary cottage Briar Patch: accomodates up to  4 adults
Secondary cottage Briar Patch: interior living/kitchen area (with a hide-a-bed)
Secondary cottage Briar Patch: bedroom
Secondary cottage Three Bears: accomodates up to 4 adults
Secondary cottage Three Bears: interior living/kitchen area (with a hide-a-bed)
Secondary cottage Three Bears: bedroom
Experience spectacular mornings at Breezy (taken from Three Bears' deck)
Experience spectacular sunsets at Breezy (taken from Three Bears\' deck)
Experience a romantic Spring breakfast on the shores of Breezy
Experience Breezy in for Thanksgiving or Fall
Experience brilliant fall colours at Breezy (entire shore is Breezy property)
Experience Breezy in Winter; skate, cross-country ski, snowshoe, ice fish
Experience spectacular Winter sunsets at Breezy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
8 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Lake of Bays, Muskoka District, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
deep17201...
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay away - Marius is a fraud”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I am posting this review so everyone can know what they are getting themselves into. We left this cottage fully cleaned and the property manager, Marius, deducted $875!!! of our deposit with the following explanation:

1. Cleaning charges including soiled bedding (laundry: 14 large items + smaller ones). ​- $300
2. Carpet cleaning: 1st visit - $200
3. Carpet cleaning: 2nd visit (stain wicked due to amount of liquid) - $100
4. Failure to call carpet cleaner (as per Breezy book) - $100
5. Repairs (crate box + counter top + electrical cover) - $100
6. Axe replacement -$75
Total charges - $875

I would like to re-insure everyone that we did leave any mess and spend almost 4 hours clearing on the final day. Only item damaged was the Axe which i notified Marius before leaving. Marius has not responded to my emails or phone calls (left voicemails) when I questioned the charges.

It seems like I lost my money but I will be going court.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy2719...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great spot, great views”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A fantastic spot to witness my younger brother get married. A very beautiful part of the world with the cabins right on the lake. There is a private pontoon to use as well.

The owner, although never meeting or speaking with him seemed very particular with the place. There is what our family referred to as 'the bible' a large photo album styled book of how the place was left so it must be left the same way. 'the bible' clearly outlines all the rules of the place and some seemed a bit far fetched however it was a nice cabin that deserved respect.
There was next to no linen available which made things hard given we travelled from Australia. One thing that confused me was you had to take all your rubbish with you when you left.
The smaller cabin by the lake was great but the other cabin away from the lake was less than impressive. The shower kept falling off the handle because it was broken, no water pressure what so ever and mould the sink area.

Overall a peaceful and very pretty place with just a few minor faults

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2016
Thank you for your review.

As with each rental, we provide information to renters (and potential renters) via our web site, inquiry communication(s), our agreement, and further written details before arrival, such as our suggested packing list and upon arrival through the Breezy Book.

We also provide further information on demand, such as where to rent a boat, since we do not provide a boat, as erroneously stated by this reviewer.

As an aside, we had dealt with the bride’s father since November 2013: The bride’s parents visited Breezy in November 2013 and September 2014. Many questions were answered over the course of almost two years and an official booking was made in July 2014. We knew that this would be a very special time for them.

As to this review, we are saddened to read about some of the issues this particular individual faced. This could have all been prevented, had the rental information been provided to this particular guest prior to his arrival.

Linen: Our web page clearly states that “pillows + duvets provided; linen and towels not provided”. Further communications, including our agreement, reiterated this point. We are a private cottage, not a hotel. As with the majority of cottage rentals, guests provide their own linen etc.

“Rubbish” (garbage): As per communications and our agreement, renters are responsible for the removal of their own garbage. This is standard in rural Muskoka cottage country where there is no curb side pick-up. Garbage & recycling info and a map to the local transfer station are provided in the Breezy Book.

Bathroom issues: As outlined in our agreement and in the Breezy Book, we ask our guests to contact us if faced with an issue, either via our local manager or contacting the owner directly. Such issues, as a faulty showerhead, can then be addressed immediately.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley S
Bracebridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wedding on Lake of Bays”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We rented Breezy for five days in September 2013. It was the perfect location for our wedding. The three cottages on the property worked out beautifully. My husband and I put our parents in the large cottage, and the other two cottages were perfect for each the groomsmen and bridesmaids to get ready. That way we were able to not see each other until we were married on the dock surrounded by loved ones (we had around 50 guests).

Of note the resort next door, Foxwood, was where all of our out of town guests ended up staying. They all reported that they thoroughly enjoyed there time at Foxwood. Very convinent to have accomodations and the perfect venue in Breezy so close to one another!

We ended up renting a tent to house our dinner. Marius went above and beyond in assisting us with obtaining a tent permit. He was so helpful throughout the whole rental process. The cottages where very clean and had everything you could possible need.

We had the most spectacular day! The dock is perfect for a lakeside ceremony! We had dinner in the tent and then had our first dance as the sunset over the lake. We then lit the bonfire and had our speeches around the bonfire. It was the perfect day and the perfect setting for our "Weekend at the Cottage" themed wedding! I would highly recommed having a small wedding at Breezy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Reviewed September 9, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
superbug...
international
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and amenities but not suitable for small children”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
8
people found this review helpful

My parents rented this lovely cottage with two additional cabins on the property for their 50th wedding anniversary. There were about 14 of us there, ranging from 6 to 75 years. My husband and I are middle-aged seasoned travelers who have rented properties all over the world, and we also rent several of our own properties, so we feel we can give an honest review.

First, the pluses: Location, location, location....Breezy is well situated on a point on Lake of Bays, one of the largest and prettiest lakes in the area. The cottage(s) are a short drive from Dwight and a 20 min drive to either Huntsville or Dorset. The accommodations were spotless, with high end finishes and some unexpected treats (e.g., two drawers of white and red wine glasses, binoculars, and a bird book). The bedrooms in the main cottage and small cabins were a good size. There were spectacular views and a gorgeous deck off the main cabin, and a well appointed deck on the back of one of the other cottages which was great for watching sunsets. For the workaholics (ok, me!), the wifi was amazingly fast. My folks booked this place 2 years in advance...the price had gone up but the owners still honored the original price in the contract. They also left us two nice bottles of red wine and a welcome note. Nice touch!

Now for the minuses:

1) The extent to which the owner expected the renters to clean up after themselves and put away kitchen items back in their proper place was really over the top. There was a book of rules that many of us started referring to as the Bible, which was so thick it had a table of contents (!) The 'Bible' included detailed (and I mean detailed) instructions that went on and on... For example, guests were instructed to avoid putting anything on the kitchen countertop that could stain it (including water!), how the carpet on the stairs and downstairs was prone to staining and what to do IMMEDIATELY if there was a spill, and was also complete with photos of each kitchen drawer so that you could put everything back where it belonged. The cleaning instructions included statements like "wipe down the bedframes with a damp cloth" and wash windows "vinegar and water work best". My husband and I are reasonably neat people, but we, like everyone else, wanted a VACATION. We would have appreciated the opportunity to pay extra for a deep clean (and why we were asked to clean when there was a cleaning staff coming in anyway was beyond our understanding). My parents were pretty much beside themselves running around stressing about the cleanliness, to such an extent that it undermined everyone's ability to relax.

2) The cottage and cabins come with the bare necessities but nothing else. You need to bring your own bed linens (including duvet covers!), towels, bath mats (!), dish rags and tea towels. This isn't a huge deal if you are driving up from the city, but if you don't live nearby and are flying in, you either need to buy all this stuff, or have someone bring it for you, as was our case.

3) The main cottage has gorgeous finishes and is high end, but the other 2 cabins are old and dated...this led to a feeling of major inequity when it came to divvying up space between family members.

4) Despite the beauty of the main cabin, the shower in the main bathroom was prone to flooding (and god help you if you forgot your bath mat!).

5) There is no generator so if you have a power failure (like we had when we arrived), you are out of luck.

6) Most cottage rentals we have stayed at offer a canoe, rowboat or paddle boat...you are on your own for these and the rentals are pricey indeed.

Overall, we loved this place but were grateful that there were no small children in our family or we would have surely lost some or all of the hefty security deposit. If you and your family are more on the neat freak side, you won't mind the Breezy Bible at all, but if you are even a teensy bit on the messy side, this place isn't for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and views
Liked least: the need to be overly neat and clean like a maid
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2016
Thank you for your detailed review.

As with each rental, we provide information to renters (and potential renters) via our web site, inquiry communication(s), our agreement, and further written details before arrival, such as our suggested packing list and upon arrival through the Breezy Book.

As the reviewer stated, she was at Breezy as a guest of her parents for their 50th wedding anniversary, so no arrangements or communication took place between us and the reviewer.

We had dealt with her father exclusively.

The booking took place a full two years in advance, so we knew that this would be a very special time for them.

It is very unfortunate for all concerned when there are misinterpretations or misunderstandings. It is equally unfortunate when information is taken out of context or misconstrued.

1a) “Clean up after themselves” & “photos of each kitchen drawer”: Breezy is a private cottage, not a hotel. We simply ask guests to return items to the places where they found them. As an aid, we provide pictures. Many of our guests find this extremely helpful, both at check-in and check-out times.

1b) “Bible”: This is our most helpful Breezy Book containing 911 and other safety info, and a table of contents to allow quick access to such info as check-in/out lists, information on the use of the cottage (wifi, outage, wildlife, generic copy of agreement, map & hours for landfill site, etc.). In addition it contains all appliance manuals and info on shopping, restaurants, boat rentals and services, which accounts for the thickness of the Breezy Book.

1c) “Kitchen countertop . . . water”: About half of our countertops are wood and over time we noted that such liquids as coffee and red wine leave stains. Thus we ask that our guests take care that such liquids are not left to stain the wooden countertop. Instructions do not mention water.

1d) “Carpet”: Breezy accommodates up to 16 guests. In the event of spills, large or small, we leave info as to how to clean the Sunbrella fabric cushions as well as the contact information for the carpet cleaning company.

1e) “Cleaning instructions”: The Breezy book contains a one page, quick reference, check-out list. We have many kinds of guests at Breezy, some with plenty of cleaning experience and others with none at all. For the latter, we have a cleaning checklist with suggested cleaning instructions.

1f) “Wanted a vacation”: We pride ourselves in leaving spotlessly clean cottages for our guests. We expect our guests to relax and to enjoy their vacation. What we do not accept is that our set-up crew arrives to discover that they have to do a major clean with extensive laundry. Breezy is a private cottage, not a hotel, so we ask that you leave it the way you found it.

1g) “About the cleanliness”: Our initial communication to potential guests and our agreement both state “to keep Breezy in the same state of cleanliness for their entire stay”; in the agreement “Breezy” is defined as the entire property, not just the cottages. So for example, we do not want litter inside or outside, since this will attract unwanted four-legged guests, small ones and quite large ones as well.

2) “Bring your own”: Our web page clearly states that “pillows + duvets provided; linen and towels not provided”. Further communications, including our agreement, reiterate this point. We are a private cottage, not a hotel. As with the majority of cottage rentals, guests provide their own linen etc.

3) “High end . . . dated”: Our web site and sign off slogan states “Breezy on Lake of Bays - the charm of Olde Muskoka with a contemporary flair”. We offer our guests the opportunity to enjoy both worlds.

4) “Main bathroom”: We have a large, luxurious walk-in shower without a sill, for easy wheelchair access. If one is careless, water may escape, hence we suggest to lay down a bathmat at the entrance.

5) “Power failure”: Power outages have become more of a common occurrence in the Greater Toronto Area; even more common than in the Breezy area. In the eventuality of such an occurrence the Breezy Book has detailed instructions to keep everyone comfortable. As for cooking during an outage, Breezy has a large BBQ with side burner.

6) “Most cottage rentals”: We keep our rates competitive. We can’t speak for “most” of those cottage owners, however the cost to maintain and insure any type of water vessel is quite high. Motorized and non-motorized water vessel rentals are available nearby at reasonable rates.

“Overall”: The majority of our guests are families with small children and over the many years that we have been welcoming families to Breezy, no family has ever “lost” some or all of their deposit.

“Hefty security deposit”: Considering that Breezy is a three cottage site, our deposit is on average less per building than similar accommodations. In addition, it is important to note that the cottage insurance industry no longer covers damages by renters.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewed July 11, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Guelph
Reviewed December 5, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing