We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crocodile Dundee conquers Heemstede”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of southern-cross

southern-cross
Reserve with
southern-cross is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Heemstede
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Crocodile Dundee conquers Heemstede”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have been visiting Southern Cross frequently for the past 10 years and were never disappointed. The food is adventurous, tasty and prepared with great care. Plan your visit well in advance as there always seems to be a rush to the restaurant. Once you've been there you will understand why! Cheers to Natasja, Peter and staff...keep up the great standard!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    54
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
343 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Once again we went to Southern-Cross and again it was very a very enjoyable experience. We choose the set menu offering six choices per course.

The food was excellent and the staff were very attentive.

Very recommendable - most of the times you need to book in advance as booking the same day is not very successful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Top Quality, Excellent Ingredients, Nice Drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I ate here with some Ducth friends who loved the place. I had some reservations about an Australian Fusion Restaurant in the Netherlands. However these were unfounded. It sources good quality ingredients ( which is a theme that I see in other good Dutch Restaurants), and the quality of presentation is top class. I enjoyed the meal from start to finish and really enjoyed the wine that we had with it. Pity I cant remember the brand !

I will return on my next vist to Amsterdam.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ryue65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
343 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A very pleasant experience after 10 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

As we associated Australian food with kangaroo and crocodile, we had not been here before. We heard that they also served excellent fish dishes, so we tried it out.

We were not disappointed: the food was fabulous. I took the five course 10-year celebration menu and the rest of the family took the three course dinner, where you can select from eight choices per course ( that is if you are not vegetarian, then there is one choice).

It started with sugar cured Tasmanian salmon, very, very tender. Also the sashimi tuna tartare was great. And it didn't stop with the starter: lemongrass crusted red drum fish fillet and Black Angus flank filet were both fantastic. Australian wines belong to my favourites and the wines certainly met my (high) expectation.

All in all a very good diner at a very affordable price (€32.50-€35.00 for a 3 or 5 course menu).

The only slight slip was that we had to wait rather long for some courses, but perhaps that was caused by the fact that the restaurant was fully loaded.

We will definitively be back and before ten years are over (we should have been here ten years ago).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you are looking for real Australian cooking!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Try Southern Cross in Heemstede, the Netherlands.
They serve food based on Australian cooking and they serve also nice Australian wines and beers. The staff understands the australian cuisine and can therefore almost answer all questions. But that is not all, the staff is also very friendly.
it is advised to reserve a table in adsvance for about 2 weeks.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joke55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed southern-cross also viewed

Heemstede, North Holland Province
Heemstede, North Holland Province
 
Heemstede, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to southern-cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing