We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog walk lunch”
Review of The Purefoy Arms

The Purefoy Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $51
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Gastro Pub in the village of Preston Candover, in the heart of the Hampshire Countryside. Serving A la Carte and Pub Classics cooked by our award winning chef patron "Pub Chef of the Year 2017" Gordon Stott. Good local ales and spirits as well as your popular favourites. Dogs welcome and a large beer garden to the rear of the pub overlooking the countryside.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Set in beautiful countryside, we stopped for lunch after a lovely dog walk. They’re dog friendly and have a big garden out the back. Very tasty sandwiches come with a cup of homemade soup (today was carrot). I had Wiltshire ham with apple chutney - generously filled and lovely bread with a bit of salad on the side. My friend had Winchester cheese on ciabatta and said it was lovely. Main menu looked nice...will be back to try it soon!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank JulesV387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a party of 4 for Sunday lunch. All 4 had slow roasted beef, which was excellent.
Also good choice of gins.
Deffo a good one for a family meal.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank MysteryPeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

Booked at the last minute for lunch here after clay shooting with my son at nearby Roundwood Shooting Ground (itself highly recommended). Service was very good with friendly staff. Food too was excellent. Only one caveat: food is apparently cooked from scratch so it can take longer to arrive than it might in other places. It is well worth waiting for. Portions are generous and pricing represents decent value for money. The menu offers a good variety of choices. I had fish and chips and the fish was excellent). Very pleasant, understated surroundings and a good selection of beer on tap.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019

Having lived 10 miles away from this pub for 4 years I’m surprised to have only discovered it this week. What a find! I was a little hesitant about a gastro pub with a tasting menu as it could be trying to do too much. The pub presents well, we received a warm greeting and faultless service throughout. The dishes we saw on other tables all looked excellent including the pub classics and portions were a generous size. We opted for the 6 course tasting menu (meat / fish though they also have a 6 course vegetarian option) and couldn’t fault it. Every dish was cooked and presented to perfection and incredibly good value with 6 generously sized courses for £45. We ate at a one Michelin star recently for double the price and it wasn’t as good as this. We’ll be back to try the a la carte menu for sure. Excellent wine list too.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019

We were a large group for a surprise birthday meal. We had all pre ordered but right from entering to leaving the pub, the service we received was very attentive and knowledgeable. The food was hot, good portions and tasty. A gastro pub so prices are higher but worth it and we'll definitely be back! Good selection of beverages, cosy pub environment; only thing I can't comment on is the the lavatories but I heard no complaints from other party goers.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dirtyhumans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Purefoy Arms also viewed

Basingstoke, Hampshire
Upton Grey, Basingstoke
 
Mapledurwell, Basingstoke
 
Old Basing, Basingstoke
 

Been to The Purefoy Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing