We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Loved It”

The Tradesman's Arms
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Tradesman's Arms
Ranked #1 of 4 Stokenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Loved It”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at the Tradesmans with three friends and had all of their three rooms. All the rooms were great and ours, which was the largest, was fantastic. Beautiful bathroom, great bed and a a lovely quirky building.
The staff were helpful and i dont understand what some of the negative reviews are on about because they couldnt do enough for us, even the cleaner asked if we were happy with everything.
The food....oh the food. It was sensational. The breakfast, at which you get all the toast you can eat, cereal and your choice of cooked breakfast was lovely and it was great to have the whole pub to ourselves. In the evening the chefs really turn it on and serve great local food cooked to perfection. The fish and chips were some of the best I have ever tasted and the beef was divine. The best bit was the presentation and the little quirks such as vinegar in spray bottles! I have never seen this before but its great, much better than those cumbersome jug things you get in most pubs.
The setting of the pub is idyllic overlooking a picture postcard village green and within walking distance of the superb Slapton Sands and Torcross. It was so quiet at night and when the sun came out it was the perfect location. Only a short drive from Dartmouth too without the hustle and bustle.
We had such a nice weekend here and i thoroughly recommend it to anyone who enjoys a proper traditional english weekend away in the south west.
Big thank you to Cathie, Mike and their staff and my complements to their chefs

Room Tip: Go for the big room, it is an extra £5 or £10 I think but it is worth every penny. Make sure you or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    18
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
50
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed for three nights in a very spacious comfortable double room with large ensuite in this pretty thatched pub overlooking the countryside a stone's throw from the coast and Kingsbridge. Delightful location, excellent food, warm welcome, excellent service in a very popular pub/restaurant. Would definitely recommend for a short break.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for three nights. In that time our towels, shower gels, and even tea and biscuits supplies were not replemenished.
It seemed that everything i asked for was rudely refused and or ignored. I asked for an extra blanket but was told there werent any. When asked for dry scambled egg was told it could not be done unless it was supplied burnt. When asked for Irish coffees was told that the chef had gone home and no one could make it.

I am used to paying for boutique style hotels where service and accomodating the customer is a priority, at the Trademans Arms i was wholly dissapointed by this general lack of consideration for guests and literally felt sick having to pay 85 per night for this expirence. It was not all dome and gloom as the landlord was a pleasure and when he was around or in charge, service or plain polite consideration of others came natural.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarieClaire123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

If you want night in a pub with great food, a warm welcome and a large, classy room then book into their large en-suite room. A massive bathroom to indulge in prior to enjoying some lovely food in this old village pub. Attentive staff make sure you get the best from your stay in this lovely area. Well worth trying this pub, we will again later this year.

Room Tip: Book the large en-suite for a wonderful atmospheric stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tradesman's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tradesman's Arms

Property: The Tradesman's Arms
Address: Stokenham TQ7 2SZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Stokenham
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Stokenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tradesman's Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tradesman's Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing