We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (924)
Filter reviews
924 results
Traveler rating
760
129
23
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
760
129
23
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews medieval castle rose garden modern amenities middle ages on site restaurant small pool terrace overlooking umbrian countryside stone walls favorite hotel standard room breakfast was excellent internet connection google maps luxury hotel breathtaking views visiting umbria
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 924 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

It was an unparalleled experience to be staying in the castle. We loved it so much and would certainly like to come back again to stay for a longer period of time.

- Service: the hotel staff were all so friendly. Special thanks to Luca who is genuinely kind to take us around the castle and introduce some history of it to us; and Giuseppe for taking care of our luggages and his great disposition. A brief encounter with Franccesco just showed us how much he cares about all the guests’ experience at the hotel as well.

- Room: lovely standard room that we stayed in, albeit relatively small, it was very clean and comfortable.

- Location: The hotel is situated up on the hill (10-15 mins drive to the main town area) and so you can enjoy a panoramic view of Perugia. If you have a car, that would be really convenient as the hotel also provides free parking.

- Breakfast is included and we enjoyed sitting there with a view to complement our breakfast.

The experience of staying in the castle with great service was truly wonderful.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank RebeccaW3929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear RebeccaW3929,
thanks a lot for your lovely review, it is full of nice words for everyone of us, thank you very much. We love to take care of our guests, introducing the castle to them is a pleasure, because our aim is to share the beauty we enjoy very day. We hope that you will come and visit us again in the future!
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018 via mobile

I have traveled in the Italian countryside. Loved this gem! Service was impeccable. Linens superb. Incredibly clean. Breakfast was quite good. Don’t miss dining at Stella around the corner one night. And if you’re catholic tale a step inside the church up the hill. Loved this sanctuary. Condé Nast traveler led me here. I don’t want to leave.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Dana3putt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear Dana3putt,
thanks for your visit and for loving the castle! We are very happy to know that you had a good experience, thanks for reporting it on Tripadvisor!
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

Arrived from Australia exhausted and this was our first stop. Absolutely beautiful. Views spectacular, wine and food fantastic and service excellent. Swimming pool was quiet and relaxing. Why leave this place, it has it all.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Possum007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear Possum007,
thanks for choosing our hotel and thanks for your lovely review!
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

The Hotel is an amazing castle which is immaculate in detail and level of luxury. The breakfast superb and dinner was also exceptional. It is a great place to explore with many themed rooms and historic items and furniture. The grounds are very well kept and there is a small pool with sauna / steam room etc adjacent. The staff were very nice and helpful throughout. It is a bit difficult to find at the top of a very rough and winding road but very peaceful with magical views of Perugia at sunset. A great and fascinating place to relax and also a good location for exploring Umbria.

Room Tip: All rooms looked great - we stayed in Rosone which was fine.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sweatyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear sweatyfox,
it's a pleasure to know that you have chosen our hotel for your anniversary trip!
We thank you for the wonderful feedback and hope to welcome you again!
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

This is the second time we have stayed at this property. We brought our relatives back on our second visit because we wanted them to have the wonderful experience of staying here. We are from the United States and have been traveling the world for 30 years and this is our favorite place to stay. The hospitality, food, beds, ambiance, location, everything is absolutely wonderful. I am so sad that I can't stay here more often. Even if you're not in the exact area, change your route just to have the opportunity of staying at this hotel. It is a great location to explore all the wonderful hilltop towns in Umbria and Tuscany.

Room Tip: Even the standard rooms are wonderful. You cannot go wrong. Fantastic breakfast served in morning and great dinner menu.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear Janet O,
thank you very much for writing these beautiful words abour the castle! We are very happy that you have decided to come back for a second time...this has a great importance for us!
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews