We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$162
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$162
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Website
$139
View deal
Booking.com$162
Hotels.com$162
eDreams$162
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,024)
Filter reviews
1,024 results
Traveler rating
841
140
28
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
841
140
28
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real castle renovated castle on site restaurant umbrian countryside visit perugia dame stella wedding
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 1,024 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2016

This place is absolutely fantastic. Perfect comfort in a tastefully renovated medieval castle, friendly and welcoming staff, excellent restaurant, great location. If you want to give yourself a treat, go there !

Room tip: All rooms are individually designed. Even the least expensive ones are beautiful.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank martinbauer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Dear martinbauer2016,
what a beautiful review! Thank you very much for loving the castle and for recommending us. We hope to see you again!
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2016

We were captivated by this gorgeous atmospheric castle with its beautiful views over nearby Perugia & the valley below. It's not as big as it looks on the website & with only 18 rooms, feels very intimate. Our double deluxe room wasn't huge, but was beautifully decorated. The bed maybe a bit hard, but sleep was easy in such a peaceful place. The bathroom too, wasn't spacious but was very well-equipped with a good shower & jacuzzi bath; great bathroom bits including an eye mask & (surprisingly) ear plugs. There are a few lovely public rooms with plenty of books, the odd suit of armour adding to the castle atmosphere. Top marks for locally produced chocolates left in the room daily, the excellent helpful staff & good internet connectivity. Breakfasts on the terrace were delicious as were dinners in the restaurant. The pool is small but charming (not for those hoping to swim off excess calories consumed.) There's also a sauna & steam room; the weather was so hot we didn't use them. Insect repellent is essential particularly in the evenings. This is an excellent base for a few days but probably not for a prolonged stay due to its small scale. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here; it's historic & unique.

Room tip: Try to get a room with a view over Perugia & the valley
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonCLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2016

Dear London CLK,
Wow! Thanks a lot for your detailed and beautiful review...we have loved it! We're so happy that you have enjoyed your time at the castle and appreciated our hospitality: it is a big pleasure for all of us when someone feels welcomed in our house!
We hope you will choose Castello di Monterone again if you will be back to Italy, one day!
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2016

This place is fantastic. Not sure what I can add to other reviews/feedback. Helpful, friendly staff, great little pool area, lovely restaurant for all meals if you are not touring Perugia or elsewhere in Umbria at the time, comfortable, charming rooms, convenient parking, and views.
I liked the fact you could order drinks from the front desk for delivery anywhere in the hotel. We used our little area outside our room for family get-togethers, and elsewhere in the grounds on occasions.
The location, after you get there through the usual winding Italian town roads, is great. Views out to the Perugian skyline, and only about 10 minutes into the heart of town by car. You can walk it if you feel fit and the day isn't too hot!
The hotel does not have that many rooms, so it never seemed crowded or overly busy, and the pool was never overrun by guests.
It isn't cheap, but compared with anything similar in Tuscany, it seems to be so......
Just staying there was as good as being able to explore Perugia, which is in itself a fascinating medieval city.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kevinsG3305ZJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2016

Dear KiwiKev2013,
thanks for writing such an accurate and satisfied review!! We have enjoyed every word of it, we're so happy that you have come to us and found our hospitality good and the location relaxing and pleasant. The tale of your experience at the castle is precious for us and for all the guests who decide to come in the future. We cannot thank you enough with simple words ... we hope to see you again!
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

It's not often you get to stay in a 13th century castle. Pure indulgence. Incredible views. Great room. Excellent restaurant with great service. Lovely swimming pool. Wish we were staying longer. Would love to return.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2016

Dear Katie W,
thank you very much for loving the castle! We hope you will have the chance to return and stay longer!
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and ate twice at restaurant. The place is well positioned and every detail is close to perfection: pool, room with bathroom kit, clean twice a day. The breakfast is exclusive. Dinner is at veru high level with good choice of local wines. Wifi did not work well for the entire stay.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Thespe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2016

Dear Thespe,
thanks for reviewing the castle and for giving such a wonderful judgement on our hospitality! We will keep doing well, we promise, and we hope to see you again very soon!

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews