We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castello di Monterone
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Tevere(Ponte San Giovanni)(Great Value!)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sina Brufani(Perugia)
$211
$196
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ilgo Hotel(Perugia)(Great Value!)
$126
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Borgo Dei Conti Resort(Boschetto Vecchio)
$374
$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$124
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$230
$127
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Perusia(Perugia)(Great Value!)
$408
$315
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (881)
Filter reviews
881 results
Traveler rating
723
125
21
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
723
125
21
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmedieval castlerose gardenmodern amenitiesmiddle ageson site restaurantsmall poolterrace overlookingumbrian countrysidestone wallsfavorite hotelinternet connectionluxury hotelbreakfast was excellentvisiting umbriarental carbreathtaking viewscakes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 881 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night, and wished we had booked for more. The Castle is stunning, in beautiful surroundings with pretty gardens. There is also a pool, although we didn't use it.

Our room was on the ground floor at the bottom of the tower with its own private, gothic style terrace. We sat and relaxed there all afternoon and soaked up the view and peaceful atmosphere while the staff brought us wine and nibbles.

The room itself, although not huge, was lovely, clean and with great features. There's also free wifi so you can make your friends jealous by posting pics of your surroundings on Facebook straight away!!

We ate dinner there (but not in the Michelin starred restaurant). We had a really fantastic meal and for a very reasonable price for what we got.

We had a car, but I'm not sure how easy it would be to get around the local area from here if you didn't.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place. We booked it because we saw the good reviews on Tripadvisor and it certainly lived up to it.

Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank C9ath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear C9ath,
we definitely love your review! Thanks a lot for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and for loving the castle so much! The whole staff is happy about your positive feedback.
We always recommend to have a car if you want to visit the region, that's the best way to see the beautiful places in the surrounding of the castle.
We hope you will remember your holiday at the castle, even short, and we hope that you succeeded in provoking some jealousy to your friends, so they might be curious to visit us, as well as you did ;-)

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend in September, we loved the place. It was great to walk around inside the castle, it is great they way that they have it set out, really feels like you are in a medieval castle. Room was awesome, simple but with you everything you need, and felt almost like it would have hundreds of years ago. The staff were great. especially in the restaurant. We ate our own dinner on the top of the castle where they have some tables on the battlements. The view is spectacular, and the sunset unforgettable - this was really the Italy we wanted to see. The second night we ate at the restaurant that looks over the valley - we sat outside and had the whole outside area just for us, they even out on some 'younger' music for us, different from what was playing inside which was a great touch. Food wasn't the best I had in Italy, but my girlfriend was very happy, and with the atmosphere and service, easily ranks in the top 5 dinners we had in Europe. The same restaurant is used for breakfast - again we sat outside both mornings and looked over the valley while we ate an amazing buffet breakfast.....with prosecco - what more could you ask for??

Room Tip: Maybe check to see if it has a window - also some looked kinda small (ours was big though)
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melburn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear melburn82,
your review is much than we could expect. Thank you very much for the nice words spent for all of us and we definitely love to be among your best dinners in Europe ;-)
We are so happy that you have lived at the castle an intense experience: we always invite our guests to make a curious walk inside the castle and outside, to discover all the panoramic corners and hidden treasures of this ancient mansion.
Our wish, now, is to be among your memories for a long time.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night in standard room. Hotel is very good. Located a little aside from perugia but view is worth travelling. Rooms are well sized and good bathroom, some rooms allow amazing view from the bed. Staff is very pleasant. Really enjoyed staying

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank EvgeniLedenev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear EvgeniLedenev,
Every guest's tale has a great value for us and we are particularly happy when we find satisfaction in their words. Thanks for being part of the castle, even for one night, and thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were at this unusual and lovely hotel for 2 nights. It is actually a castle on a beauifully well-maintained property with stunning flowers and fruit and vegetable trees and plants, with terrific views of the surrounding countryside of Umbria.
The staff was wonderfully welcoming, warm and helpful in a variety of ways.
Breatkfast(included) was a wonderful buffet of a variety of lovely breads, sweets, fruits, juices, etc. etc. and the service there was excellent. THe breakfast room also had beautiful views.
Parking is on the property and is included.
The hotel is about a 7-8 minute car drive to the center of town.
We had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beverlys796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear beverlys796,
thanks for the time spent in writing this review. We agree with your definition of "unusual" and we thank you about the word "lovely" to define the quality of your stay. Your compliments to the staff and the service are very much appreciated and we are so happy that you loved the castle in its particular shape, colours and sorroundings. We hope that the castle will remain in your memories and we would like to give you our welcome again.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

A remarkable hotel with great atmosphere and views. Desk staff is helpful with everything from directions to reservations and recommendations of things to do. Both restaurants are excellent, with good food and service. Breakfast is very good, with great food selection and helpful service. Wonderful place to stay and to wander around. Housekeeping staff, however, is below the standards set by the rest of the hotel. Things were often left unclean, supplies were allowed to run out, and, amusingly, our requested extra pillows were carefully put away every day so that we had to search them out each night. They should, however, try to improve the internet service, which seems to cut off frequently and require full sign in procedures to restore; however, this seems to have been a problem all over the region recently. Would recommend the hotel highly.

Room Tip: Use the web site to choose your room, but be sure to discuss with staff via e-mail. Rooms with outdoor space are wonderful, and make sure you get a view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Gary0126,
thanks for your review about Castello di Monterone and thanks for recommending our hotel to the Tripadvisor users. Your compliments to the staff are so much appreciated by all of us. We will take into consideration your remark about the housekeeping staff, sorry if you has perceived this as an element of disturb, but we must say that the cleaning activities cover the whole day and they always tend to be respectful of the privacy of our guests.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews