We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a castle in the air”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castello di Monterone
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

On a mountain just East of the city of Perugia, this is a small (18 room) hotel with components from several centuries incorporated into one harmonious whole. Our "deluxe" room overlooked the valley below and the skyline of Perugia. Simple wooden chairs and a desk, a cabinet containing a safe and minibar, an armoire, and a bed with bedside tables constitute the furnishings. The bathroom is small, but modern. There are two restaurants--one with a Michelin star (Il Postale), but only five tables, one in the kitchen, so book ahead. We sat at the table in the kitchen and had one of the two tasting menus. At 85 Euros each plus wine, this was one of our most memorable meals ever and well worth the cost. The second restaurant has a terrace overlooking the valley. Even with GPS, the roads and Italian drivers are a challenge I was unwilling to face at night, so we had all of our dinners at the hotel during our four night stay. An excellent buffet breakfast is included in the room rate. Smoking is permitted, one of the few drawbacks of modern Italian culture. Otherwise, this is as close to a perfect romantic getaway as I can imagine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripalium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear tripalium,
thanks for your review and for sharing your experience at Castello di Monterone on Tripadvisor.
Your description is lovely, we are very happy that you loved our services, the food and the peculiarity of the furnishing in the rooms. Thanks for defining our place a "castle in the air", we love it!
Just a little note: smoking is not permitted in the rooms, it is allowed only in the outdoor areas of the castle.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 868 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the happy moment we arrived to the sad moment we departed we were looked after and made to feel special. Each and every member of hotel staff at this stunning, enchanting mediaeval castle pay incredible attention to detail with superlative standards of personal service. It is clear the staff work very well as a team and are equally very well led by the managers and Director; individually they take great pride in the hotel and delivering the best possible service. Our room was a truly lovely castle room with stone floors and wonderful exposed ancient brickwork. We saw other rooms and know that each is not only unique in its amazing decor but also very comfortable whatever the temperature outside. This is a hotel totally dedicated to using locally sourced food for its two outstanding restaurants and the traditional materials from the Umbria region for design and construction of all the rooms: so you will see iron, wood and stone alongside the carefully displayed antiquities. Our room was a 'classic double' with magnificent views across the rolling Umbrian countryside and to the hilltop city of Perugia. As others have accurately surmised, every room is a joy wherever you are and there is a wide choice of views and comfort from which to choose. The location is very very peaceful and has a simply beautiful setting. Prepare to be amazed as you approach the castle along the driveway. It seems to be well-signposted by road. The hotel provides a modest size but inviting clean outside pool with well maintained sun loungers and tables / chairs. There seemed to be secluded places all over the castle from which to enjoy pre-dinner (or pre-lunch) drinks, the sun or the views - including the lovely garden overlooking the valley or the outstanding roof terrace set amidst stunning mediaeval turrets. There is also an excellent steam room and sauna room adjacent to the pool. Rooms are cleaned and restored to pristine order every day, with the highest of standards and care. The hotel is well placed for day trips by car across Umbria. However to explore the 'must see' hill towns such as Spoleto and Assisi or to spend a day at Lake Tresimano (not complete without a boat trip to Maggiore island for lunch) we travelled into nearby Perugia by bus or taxi to use the efficient railway network. The bus stop is a 5 mins. walk away but not advisable in the dark because of the narrow hillside road with sharp bends. Get a taxi back - nearly always about 12 euros from the centre of Perugia. The railway network is ultra user-friendly and probably the best value in Europe, with direct services from Perugia to Florence or Rome should you feel the need. A trip by train also lets you relax and absorb the surroundings. Each to their own of course. The Gradale restaurant has spectacular views and offers delicious, generous courses from a menu of pleasing variety and surprises. Il Postale (Michelin star) restaurant is exclusive because of its incredible unique setting and in the sense that it has just four tables. It is to die for and once experienced never forgotten. The brilliant restaurant staff at breakfast and dinner and the magnificent Reception team were unfailingly polite and friendly, meticulously attentive and nothing was ever too much trouble. This sums up the highly professional service delivered with a delicate personal touch of everyone at Castello di Monterone. We are booking a return visit as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KentCouple55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Kevin and Tonianne,
thanks for your special opinion about us and all our work. It's great that you have been impressed by the whole (and big) soul of Castello di Monterone. We could not behave differently, because the main part of our job has to do with friendliness, delicacy and attention. But it is not only a "job-matter": everyone from the staff really cares of their guests. Our words are not enough to thank you for what you have brought into the castle: lovely conversations, constant smile and warmth. We hope that your trips to Umbria won't finish. As soon as you decide to come back, you know that you have your house at Castello di Monterone.

Francesco
Cecilia, Annamaria, Anna
Luca, Fabio
Tommaso, Jacopo, Simone
Marco and the kitchen staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We went there to celebrate my husband's birthday. It was a perfect celebration. The catle was enchanting and they manged to beautifully blend the old with modern amenities. I was even very touched that they had a folder by the bed with eye mask in addition to all the other luxuries. That was a first in a hotel! We had dinner in the courtyard at their one star Michelin restaurant. The food was beautifully prepared and delicious. Some clear Japanese influence. The next day I had a nice pre- breakfast dip in the pool. We enjoyed breakfast overlooking a spectacular view of Perugia which we also did with drinks before the dinner the night before. Then it was a short taxi ride into town where we thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful city of Perugia. A wonderful way to celebrate a special occasion!

Room Tip: Seems like one reviewer didn't get a view. We got a view into the hills and not Perugia but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KK_170513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear KK_170513,
thans for choosing Castello di Monterone to celebrate a special occasion. We are very happy that your experience has satisfied your expectations.
Thank you also for the remark about the rooms and the view: the panorama on Perugia and the countryside is all around the castle and when you can't see it from the room, it is just out of your door. We hope to meet you again, for another special occasion.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The scenery (including sunsets) is stunning. The hotel is a delight and the service is efficient and friendly. For those without a car, a taxi from the station/town is around 15 euros. There are buses a few minutes walk away.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank stephenl1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear stephenl1818,
every word spent to describe, to explain or to tell the castle is very important for us. Thanks for your definition - "stunning location" - and thanks for having enjoyed your experience so much. We hope to see you again for another stay.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great hotel, in just one word excellent
Superb atmosphere.
Located 3 minutes ride by car from the center.
The Restaurant is very good for dinner, the breakfast is very nice as well
The rooms are decorated beautifully.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear libi S,
what a beautiful review in such a few words! Thank you very much for the description of your experience at the castle, it is precious. We hope to receive other visits from you in the future.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is quite possibly the best place I have ever stopped. Myself & my partner spent and enchanting day and night early July. Following a fast paced trip in Rome it was like stepping into paradise.

The staff - simply cannot do enough for you
Facilities - simply amazing
View - seeing it is believing it
Food - we enjoyed a fantastic lunch and dinner. If you get chance the selection of biscotti with a perfect coffee is a must.

Already looking at our next trip next. If you have the time and money would highly recommend

Room Tip: If you can. Opt for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Jonathon M,
Thank you very much for your lovely words! We know how huge is our daily work, and we are so happy to receive such a gratification. Thanks for giving us motivation to keep going on and do every day better. Castello di Monterone is a corner of tranquillity, just a few steps from the town and we love the idea that our guests discover our place and make it their "paradise" for some days. We hope to give you our hospitality again.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed a week with friends during latter part of Perugia Jazz festival ( mid July).Most fantastic place. Not having a car was not a problem -airport 20 minute taxi ride away and regular buses about 500 metres up the road into the town and taxi back at night. .Staff were so helpful and the views and facilities are out of this world as is the castle itself. Very lucky with our room allocation as they do vary by virtue of the layout of the unusual building.

Room Tip: Rooms with views over the valley towards Perugia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear judy p,
We deeply appreciate your wonderful review, thank you for having defined your experience a "Magical" one.
We are glad you stayed with us for a week and it was a pleasure taking care of you, it's good that you could share this experience with your friends, we know this can be even more enjoyable.
It is also good to hear that moving around Perugia was easy with public transports, and that you found the room and the facilities up to your expectations.
We really hope you will have good memories of the castle and we would love to welcome you back in the future with your friends and family

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perugia
1.6 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#5 of 65 in Perugia
1,252 reviews
3.8 mi away
Relais San Clemente
11.9 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
5 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#3 of 65 in Perugia
777 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#7 of 65 in Perugia
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Monterone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Monterone

Address: Strada di Montevile 3, 06126, Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
Price Range: $156 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Monterone 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Castle, Castello di Monterone offers its guests 18 unique and enchanting rooms, each designed in a manner that respects and preserves the atmosphere of the Castle. Blending the past with the future, each room includes: en-suite bathrooms (some with jacuzzi tubs), international television channels, broadband internet access, mini-fridge, air conditioning and safe deposit box. Castello di Monterone has two restaurantsThe gourmet restaurant il Postale (1 star Michelin) showcases both traditional Umbrian dishes as well as contemporary, innovative cuisineThe restaurant Il Gradale’s commitment to local freshness is apparent in its seasonally inspired dishes and regionally inspired preparations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Castello di Monterone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Monterone Hotel Perugia
Castello Di Monterone Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing