We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello di Monterone
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A beautiful hotel and its bug garden and swiming full.
\The rooms are wonderful and every corner is very nice and comportable.
The food is exclent and the staff are very helpful.
I woukd come back.
A unique hotel
It is a wonderful vacation and a restful one.

Room Tip: The rooms are different and you can see them in the internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelsontelaviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear nelsontelaviv,
Thank you very much for the wonderful words spent for the castle, it is a pleasure to hear that you find here a unique place and that you enjoyed so much all of your stay. We really hope that your plans will bring you back to Umbria, we will be very happy to welcome you again.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 854 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

I booked this castle in early March, to stay there in late May, therefore I was greatly disappointed when we were not given a room with a view over that beautiful valley. When i asked if I could have a room with a view, I was told.."We are fully booked". But, I booked two months ago! I was not told then that a room with a view was not possible!!
Instead we had a tiny little window where I had to bend over to see out. It was facing the road, and we could hear the traffic. This was very disappointing to us.

Othan than that, it was perfect. The breakfast was beautiful, and the dinner even better.

However I feel I was passed over with the allocation of the rooms. Not sure if I can trust it to come back.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Eirinoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Eirinoula,
thank you for appreciating the beauty of the castle and the quality of our services like breakfast and dinner.
Concerning your accommodation, we can say that not all the rooms of the castle have a view. The room assignment it's up to the hotel and it varies according to the availability at the moment of the reservation. We always try to guess the best accommodation possible, because we know every single room of the castle (all the rooms are different), but we do not know the preferences of our guests, unless they express them or ask for specific needs. For this reason, we invite people who come to us to make a remark on the reservation or to e-mail us any of their requirements. We would be pleased to give you our "Welcome" again and show you how much you can trust what we say.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed one night at the Castello di Monterone and were very impressed. The Castello exuded history and style, beautifully kept and so very unique. An excellent restaurant combined with great service (even coming out in a storm to personally direct us to the castle). Ideally located for seeing Perugia, Umbria's capital city and the surrounding beautiful area.
Rooms are very comfortable with excellent bathrooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Glmiller,
thank you very much for your review and for having been impressed by the castle. We take care of it every day, and every day our job focuses on the beauty and on the attempt to give our guests what they expect. Thanks also for your good impression about the staff, we hope to convey even a little of the big passion we have for this place. We hope to see you again.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We arrived in Perugia after a wonderful stay in beautiful house near Lucca & I didn't think that a hotel could feel as lovely as the villa. I was dead wrong! The Castello is by far the most charming of all the hotels we have stayed in around the world. It was a perfect respite after 4 weeks of frenetic activity. There are several garden vignettes, each impeccably groomed, inviting you to sit & relax. We had the sauna & steam room to ourselves everyday & the jetted tub in our room completed the spa experience.

They have done an incredible job of making this a comfortable hotel but still retaining the aura of a castle. I could imagine the Knights Templar & their ladies walking around the grounds, taking in the views of the quintessential Italian countryside just as we were doing. Vineyards, olive groves & rolling green hills flowed out from the grounds. We awoke everyday to birdsong & the quiet tinkling of donkey bells from the fields below.

We were not able to eat in the Michelin restaurant because we had failed to make reservations ahead of time but we ate in Il Gradale, their other restaurant & it was superb! I can't imagine how divine Il Postale must be given the excellent meals that we had in the alternate.

The staff must be carefully handpicked - they were all very well spoken, polite & extremely accommodating. I felt a sincere desire from them to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Each request was handled immediately. They even arranged to have an abbreviated breakfast available for us since we had to depart before the normal breakfast hour.

If you are visiting Umbria & want to be in a tranquil setting stay here. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in Il Cardinale - great views of the countryside & Perugia. Lovely bathroom with jette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italiaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Direttore at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear italiaddict,

What can we say? It is more than a pleasure to have been defined "the most charming of all the hotels you have stayed in", this is a big source of gratification and a very important feedback for us, so thank you from all of us!
We are delighted to see how much you appreciated every aspect of the castle, from the morning wake up call with nature's sounds to the evening meals at il Gradale.
It is a pity you couldn't try the Michelin star restaurant il Postale, but this is another good reason to come back soon, insn't it?
It is great to know that you found tranquillity and relax within the hotel's grounds, we also like to imagine the past life of the castle with its ancient inhabitants and we think that the beauty of the past lingers all around here.
Also, a big thank you for all the nice words about the staff, we are happy to see that you perceived our sincere intention to make you feel at home, this is what we work for every day, our guest's happiness is always at first place.
We really hope you will come back soon

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from 10 days in Perugia - 7 days at the Castello. I re-read some of the previous poor reviews and cannot disagree more about the staff. Over the course of the week we met very member of the staff and they were cheerful, professional and very, very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. I admit that the rooms are quite small, but as we only use the room to sleep in, we didn't let it affect our holiday. The views and grounds are spectacular. We ate dinner in hotel every night. Two of the dinners were in the Michelin star restaurant and these were both excellent and good value. The hotel is a few miles outside of Perugia and taxis can be expensive but you should plan for this and not criticise the hotel for it's location. There are always small things that you can normally find fault with - but not for us. If you are in Perugia try the Al Mangiar Bene restaurant for excellent Umbrian dishes (and very reasonable prices).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G and B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear G and B F,
it's so great to be defined as "excellent", thank you very much!
The whole staff work hard every day and we all want the guest to be the main point of our attention. Thanks for appreciating our professionalism and our passion, let us say that your positive judgement is something precious and represents a great satisfaction for us. The castle exactly needs this kind of love in order to be good and (maybe) improve in the future. We invite you to be our guests again, again and again...

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This place is gorgeous (and I thought, a great value). The hotel is surrounded by rose gardens, I had a beautiful view of the garden. It fees like staying in a real castle (but with all the modern comforts of course). My room was immaculate and clean. I could not get my air conditioner to work, which made sleeping a bit difficult. The staff were very helpful with recommendations of things to do in the area. I also enjoyed the restaurant. My only suggestion is to take a taxi if possible, the hotel is very difficult to find as it is located on a hill with many winding, small streets.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CowgirlInChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Direttore at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear CowgirlInChicago,

Thank you for choosing the castle and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor, we appreciate your review.
We are glad to see that our location suited your needs, it is good to read that you liked the garden, the view and the cleanliness of the bedroom. Thank you also for mentioning the restaurant, we really care about every detail and we want everything to be enjoyable for our guests from the start till the end of their stay.
We apologies for the inconvenience with the air conditioning, we will take your feedback and check this. We are always available to help with any concern and we are constantly working towards the best maintenance of the castle so if we can do anything to make people's stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, we always aim to do the best we can.
We really look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have now visited Castello di Monterone twice, once for a holiday in November 2012 and then again May 2013 when we had our wedding there.

The hotel is set in a beautiful, peaceful hillside location in rural Umbria. The town of Perugia is only 10 minutes drive away and is well worth a visit. We partially liked the uniqueness of the hotel, every room is different.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the food is fantastic. This hotel is a bit more expensive than others in the area but we are sure it's worth the extra. Usually we like to go somewhere different every time we go away but we defiantly plan to revisit this Perugia and this hotel sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastMont, Direttore at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Daniel,
We read this beautiful words with lot of happiness and satisfaction, thank you for taking the time to write this review.
It was a great pleasure for all of us to welcome you and Daniela the first time and even more to have you here to celebrate your wedding, we can't thank you enough for trusting us for two times and for choosing the castle for such an important day.
We are proud to have been witnesses of this beautiful love story and that the castle, with its services and food, matched up with your expectations. We love when our guests fell the uniqueness of the castle in all of its spaces and in all it can evoke.
We found all of you very kind and we were happy to share those important moments, whenever you plans bring you to Perugia you will be welcome again and again in your castle.
See you soon!

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perugia
5.0 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#4 of 65 in Perugia
728 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#5 of 65 in Perugia
1,197 reviews
11.9 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Alla Posta dei Donini
Alla Posta dei Donini
#1 of 2 in San Martino in Campo
884 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 65 in Perugia
1,480 reviews
11.4 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Monterone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Monterone

Address: Strada di Montevile 3, 06126, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
#1 Family Hotel in Perugia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
Price Range: $157 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Monterone 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Castle, Castello di Monterone offers its guests 18 unique and enchanting rooms, each designed in a manner that respects and preserves the atmosphere of the Castle. Blending the past with the future, each room includes: en-suite bathrooms (some with jacuzzi tubs), international television channels, broadband internet access, mini-fridge, air conditioning and safe deposit box. Castello di Monterone has two restaurantsThe gourmet restaurant il Postale (1 star Michelin) showcases both traditional Umbrian dishes as well as contemporary, innovative cuisineThe restaurant Il Gradale’s commitment to local freshness is apparent in its seasonally inspired dishes and regionally inspired preparations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castello di Monterone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Monterone Hotel Perugia
Castello Di Monterone Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing