We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castello di Monterone
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent View”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the castle for 3nights and had a wonderful time. The view was magnificent just like from a page in a magazine. It would have been better if we had a car to drive around. City centre was like 10mins in a taxi which was alright. Only that they start dinner service at 8pm. Other than that staff was very nice and helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmaliahJohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear AmaliahJohar,
it has been so nice to read your review about your experience at Castello di Monterone. Thanks for choosing us for your holidays in Umbria! A beautiful view is one of the most precious things we have and the staff, also, love to take care about every guest. Thanks for appreciating all this.
We strongly hope to see you again in the future!

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    114
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
96
575
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode-Saint-Genèse, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We went to the castello di monterone for four nights, at the beginning of our honeymoon. We were offered a nice upgrade from our booked superior room to a deluxe room, a small room with wonderful view, on the first floor. It was very lovely, and the staff has always very attentive to our needs. The breakfast was very nice, with prosecco. The garden and the estate generally speaking is vey well maintained. We had wonderful times there and strongly recommend the place.

Room Tip: Il cardinale is a wonderful room, its all we can say!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnaud D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastMont, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Aranud D,
we have just read your review with pleasure, thanks for your visit at the castle! We are really happy that the room, the staff and the quality of food have made your honeymoon a "perfect honeymoon". We strongly hope that you will find other occasions to come back and visit us!

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel was so wonderful we booked a second night. We were on our honeymoon and the staff was superb, the setting ideal, and the hotel restaurant was one of our favorite Italian meals. It may not be the cheapest option in Perugia, but it was by far worth it. It is a classic setting with all the modern amenities you could want. Our room was quiet and comfortable and the staff was incredibly pleasant and helpful. The views of the countryside are classic Italian. Its not in town, but the walk there is easy enough (30 mins or so) and well worth it. I highly recommend this!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastMont, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Laura W,
What a delight reading you review, thank you for choosing us to spend a part of your honeymoon!
We are happy that you decided to stay one night more, this is a fact that we value very much and we are delighted that everything was to your satisfaction. Moreover, is great to read that the meal at the restaurant was one of your favourite, this is also a huge compliment to all the staff.
We put a great effort to make sure our guests enjoy the life at the castle in every single aspect, thank you also for appreciating the setting and for recommending us to other travelers.
Whenever your travel plans bring you back to Umbria we hope you will stay with us again, so... Arrivederci!

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA area
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a restored palazzo and it was interesting to stay in an old "castle." The grounds are beautiful and there is a fine dining restaurant on the property. During our visit, the weather was not conducive to exploring the garden or using the pool. When we arrived, we were shown to a room by a disinterested young woman. The room was tight, hot and stuffy with windows that opened facing the well-traveled road (traffic noise). The woman seemed unconcerned about our concerns. She informed us tht she could put us in a different room for an additional 70 euros/night. We took this option, paid more and had a more comfortable room with good ventilation.
The true disadvantage to this hotel is that it is not inthe town of Perugia. To get to the town, you need to drive about 15 minutes and park in a pay lot. I would have prferred to be in the town or close enough to walk. Drivign and paying for parking made it difficult to casually stroll in town after dinner or to run in to see a site. If you stay at this hotel, you should expect to dine here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lsaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastMont, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Isaron,
we are really pleased that you chose Castello di Monterone for your stay in Umbria. Being a castle, it is located not in the very old town, but nearby. That's the reason why you have a very nice view of the centre of Perugia from many points of the castle or from the gardens.
The first room you were shown was a cozy Superior room at the second floor, with a big window facing on the medieval cloister of the castle, a private space of the property, far from the traffic. That's why we felt concerned about your complain to hear noise from that room. Anyway, we gave you the possibility to change the room with another that could be better for you and we are happy to hear that you loved that. Unfortunately, we had no rooms available of the same type (Superior), so we had to show you a Deluxe room, with a different price. You have been properly informed by the reception staff while showing the new room and you accepted the change at new conditions.
The centre of Perugia is closed to the traffic, so it is necessary to park outside and reach the centre through elevators or escalators that connect the parkings to the hilly old town. Mostly all the parkings in Perugia are toll-parkings.
We hope you will have a nice memory of the castle and of your stay in Perugia. We will be at your disposal to give you the best accommodation possible, in case you decide to come back and visit us. We strongly hope so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Beautiful setting with stunning views of miles of Umbrian countryside and the dramatic sight of Perugia itself perched on the hillside nearby.

The hotel is an old building which has been very sympathetically restored to a high standard. We stayed for 3 nights and despite the weather not really being on our side, we had a great time. Service levels are outstanding and I can't think of a single thing to fault the hotel. Our room was Operatoria (?) on the ground floor with a terrace and althugh not the biggest room I have ever stayed in we thought it was lovely.

We didn't have a car but walked to Perugia which only took 30 mins.

Room Tip: Ground floor Operatoria has a terrace with a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntyHeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastMont, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear AuntyHeater,
it's so great to read your review! The room Opretoia hosted you for 3 days and it offers a nice view on the gardens and the countryside. We definitely love it because of this peculiarity.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed the castle although the weather was not very nice. We strongly believe that the castle can give something special to our guests, even during a dark day. We are still waiting for the sun this year, but we wish you a sunny day whenever you decide to come back and visit us again.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
364 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

A restored castle very well maintained, beautiful manicured grounds, an extraordinary view of Perugia and the Umbrian countryside, friendly service and good food. To top that excellent parking and free high speed wifi, what more can one ask. I was sad to leave after two days. I used this hotel as a base to visit nearby towns. Next time I visit I will just stay in the hotel for several days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarb46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excellent staff, rooms and food. The owner even came and found us, as our Co-Pilot sat nav failed to find their road (later, we used Google which was fine). The food and wine in the "local cuisine" restaurant is a very high standard and we will return to try their Michelin restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlWea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastMont, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear AlWea,
Thanks for your beautiful review and for visiting us!
We hope that you will keep a nice memory of the castle. Il Postale is the experience you miss, so we would be so happy if you decide to come back and try it. We really look forward to your return!

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perugia
11.9 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#5 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
4.8 mi away
Alla Posta dei Donini
Alla Posta dei Donini
#1 of 2 in San Martino in Campo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
10.5 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
1.6 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Monterone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Monterone

Property: Castello di Monterone
Address: Strada di Montevile 3, 06126, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
#1 Family Hotel in Perugia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Monterone 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Castle, Castello di Monterone offers its guests 18 unique and enchanting rooms, each designed in a manner that respects and preserves the atmosphere of the Castle. Blending the past with the future, each room includes: en-suite bathrooms (some with jacuzzi tubs), international television channels, broadband internet access, mini-fridge, air conditioning and safe deposit box. Castello di Monterone has two restaurantsThe gourmet restaurant il Postale (1 star Michelin) showcases both traditional Umbrian dishes as well as contemporary, innovative cuisineThe restaurant Il Gradale’s commitment to local freshness is apparent in its seasonally inspired dishes and regionally inspired preparations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Castello di Monterone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Monterone Hotel Perugia
Castello Di Monterone Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing