We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture perfect and relaxed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castello di Monterone
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I endorse the recognition other Trip Advisor reviewers have already bestowed on this property. Our room was small but then we did get the last one available the weekend we stayed. Charming public spaces and alcoves to have a drink, read or work. Great view of the town from the main restaurant. The second is a Michelin starred restaurant within the courtyard, deservedly very nice for food and service. Friendly and helpful staff throughout. One caution, no fault of the hotel. Thanks to Perugia's geography confusing even by Italian standards, it is extremely tricky to drive oneself to the hotel. Google map directions are a mess. We ended up going to the train sation and hiring a cab to follow! But once there, what a stay! Serene enough for adults; but the pool and grounds make the hotel also child-friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RPM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastMont, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Dear RPM59,
thanks for supporting our award in TripAdvisor.
We believe that Castello di Monterone can be a special place for our guests, or at least a place where it is possible to find an unexpected beauty. We are so happy that you have found the castle and make it as relaxing place. It's a very important element in a holiday break.
Thanks for appreciating the location and the restaurant.
We would be so glad to receive a new visit from you.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
There are newer reviews for Castello di Monterone
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 845 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed at castello di monterone for 2 nights. Travelled in Italy for 1 month and by far the worst. The floors were dirty. Bathroom very small. The wiring for dated tv exposed. Beds old and uncomfortable. Very dark room. Could hear guests move in room above.Cheap plastic coathangers in wardrobe. General feeling of neglect. Breakfast was terrible and service poor.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eryj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastMont, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Eryj,
this is the first time we receive such a negative review, we are really sad about this and we are trying to understand how it is possible that you couldn't find at least one positive aspect during your stay.
The castle is a unique place, we really care about every single detail and cleanliness is one of our priority. Our clening schedule provides one cleaning service in the morning for Classic rooms and two cleaning services from Superior rooms onward, one in the morning an one during the evening. Not to mention castle's outside and inside daily cleaning.
We feel atonish about your definition "old" concerning beds, which are hand-made by specialised artisans of iron, just like almost all the beds of the castle. We believe that this does not mean to be old (also because they are not more than 6 years old), but to be original, authentic and one of a kind. We are sorry if it was unconfortable for you.
Concerning our continental breakfast and the service, "terrible" is a very strong and general adjective, so we can't understand what could make it so terrible.
All the staff of the castle is available 24 hours a day and try to fulfill every single guest's desire. If you had expressed any discontent during your 2 night stay, we certainly would have made every effort in helping you.
The thing that most sadden us is that you didn't find any beauty of the castle: some people find it in a stone detail of a wall, some in its harmony with the sourrounding nature and others find it simply in the unique experience of living the past...
Anyway, we remain at your complete disposal if you retain to clarify any detail of the matter.

Francesco Capaccioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We spent a night at Castello di Monterone while visiting Umbria. It was a deception: the structure and the view are beautiful but the hotel is cheaply furnished and terribly overpriced. We had a good room, with a beautiful view but apart from the stunning original frescos on the walls, the decoration was poor, the bed incredibly small as the bathroom. Choice of toiletries was also poor for a luxury hotel. On top of this, the service was appalling. Long faces, no one to help with the luggages (I had to carry my bags up and down the stairs...) and the impression that the reception ladies were bothered by clients. Breakfast is fine but the restaurant downstairs is poorly decorated and they constantly keep a radio on with 80s pop music, even in the elegant restaurant in the garden. Briefly: a wasted opportunity to create an excellent hotel in a fantastic location. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. It's just worth to go there for a drink, in order to see the castle and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank norami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastMont, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Dear Norami,
Thank you for having shared your experience on Tripadvisor, we think that your review is a good opportunity for us to improve.
First of all we are really sorry that your stay have been so disappointing and that almost every aspect of the castle has been so negative for you.
We are really sad about your deception, because you were in one of the best rooms of the castle, from which the view of Perugia is astonishing. The room walls are decorated inside by frescoes and we have wanted to keep them as much as possible near to the original ones. We believe the beauty is inside the authentic things anyway.
The bathroom has been decorated with travertine and we have put all the modern comfort: jacuzzi bath, soft bathrobes, waterproof slippers, vanity set, sewing kit, shower cap, comb, scrub sponge, shampoo, shower gel, body lotion, intimate cleanser, bath salts, towels, tissues, toothbrush, shoehorn, ear plugs... The bed has a special shape (no other beds in the castle have the same): it is a standard double bed and we can say comfortable, thanks to the many compliments we receive from our guests. The furniture is a collection of selected antiques, they are unique pieces, the result of hard work of artisans, designed exclusively for the castle.
We put so much effort every day to give our guests a warm welcome, we put a smile in every word we say. We personally show the room and ask if help is needed. In that specific case, Simone, one member of our staff, carried your baggages from the room to the reception, before your departure. We are really sorry that you had an appalling impression about the service.
What we would like people to understand is that we purposely left simple furniture and original decorations to give an original experience of the castle, which is completely different from what people can find in a modern big hotel.
We strongly believe that simplicity does not mean to be valueless or poor, because elgance and value can also be found in an ancient stone wall.
We do not want your memories of the castle to be so negative, so, if you want, we invite you to come again and try to live the castle as a quite place where to find time for oneself, re-discover the beauty of simplicity and the nature.
I also would like to show my willingness to deepen the argument privately, if you retain to clear up some points of our reply.

Francesco Capaccioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed three nights and thoroughly enjoyed everything about this hotel. It exceeded our expectations. The professional, friendly staff was very helpful. Our room was clean with a beautiful view. It is obvious a lot of effort was put into the decorating of the castle. There was quite a breakfast spread. Rather than go back into the Perugia for dinner, we ate at one of the two restaurants (Il Grande - typical Umbrian dishes) each night. The food was great and the setting was perfect - terrace dining with Perugia in the background.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastMont, Direttore at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Dear Andrew R,
your "wow" has given a big smile on our faces !
Thanks for choosing Castello di Monterone and its restaurant - Il Gradale is the correct spelling ;-)
We are so proud about having satisfied your expectations, we hope to do this every day. We confirm that our effort has been really big in order to give to this castle a new life. The daily hard work to keep the beauty of this place is now well repaid by the positive impression that people want to share with us and by the affection they show us on TripAdvisor and in all the social networks we use (Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest).
We hope you will have the chance to follow us or maybe come back for a weekend.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was our favorite hotel in Italy. It has been converted from an old castle and it situated on a hilltop outside of Perugia with fantastic scenic vistas. It has 16 unique rooms. The grounds are beautiful; there is ample free parking on site. Although we generally avoid hotel restaurants, the “simple” restaurant (the hotel also has a Michelin Star restaurant) was wonderful – we ate there every night. Seating was on a terrace overlooking the countryside. On our last evening, we made the “mistake” of ordering a “special for the evening” seafood tasting menu – course after course of delicious fresh seafood based dishes all for 30€ per person.

Room Tip: Book a "Superior Double Room"
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastMont, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear Martin Q,
your review is something special for us, thanks for spending such lovely words. It's great that you have appreciated so much our restaurant Gradale. Our daily mission is to be different by keeping the simplicity. Il Postale Restaurant is another type of choice, for those who want to spoil themselves: we like to offer also this possibility. In general, we like being close to the people's feelings, just like eating nice food, having some relax or nourish oneself with new and fascinating things. We hope every day to succeed in this intention.
Thanks for visiting at Castello di Monterone and for loving it.
We hope to see you again.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed here with my family. Interesting place, but somewhat like a museum than a hotel. Appropriate more for couples than families. Rooms are adequate but lots of noise due to old construction. A little pricey. Excellent staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VETTRAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastMont, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear Vettra,
thanks for sharing your experience at Castello di Monterone and thanks for your appreciation about the staff. We believe that it is the most important resource of this place, because the castle is beautiful outside and fascinating for many points of view, but it is special only because there is a great human contribution behind the façade.
We have tried to keep the castle in its original shapes, without any addiction or strange modification. From a certain point of view, when you say that it is a museum, well, it's true, because it is full of treausure: little sculptures, paintures, (etc), all thing that we have found inside the castle, gifts from the ancient owner, who was a lover of art and antiques.
Stone, wood and iron are 3 key elements with which the castle has been built and we have personally wanted to keep the charming of a wooden staircase or of an iron balustrade.
We invite you to visit us again, in order to try our magic atmosphere for a second time.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stay 2 nights in this fabulous hotel. The room was del drago. What can I say? Style, character,authenticty; quite spacious too though the bathroom a bit small. The garden and the view were amazing. It is about 5 minutes distance from the old center. The return with the car, it is a bit confusing at night time. The breakfast at the garden is stunning with panoramic view of old Perugia. You feel the peace and the nature in your soul. We will definetly return one day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mertblg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Dear mertblg,
thank you for taking the time to write this beautiful words.
We are glad that you found the castle a great place to stay and thanks for your feedback about the bedroom, del Drago, which is one of our largest room, we also think it has character and it is unique, as each room of the castle.
It is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed the location that we are so proud and lucky to have, this is one of our best assets, being based on a hill overlooking the umbrian valley, and close to the centre of Perugia.
We try every day to make each person's stay a satisfying one and the nature surrounding the castle really gives it a special value, we couldn't be happier that you felt these positive feelings during your stay. We look forward to your return visit in the future.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perugia
5.0 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 65 in Perugia
716 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#5 of 65 in Perugia
1,181 reviews
11.9 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Alla Posta dei Donini
Alla Posta dei Donini
#1 of 2 in San Martino in Campo
878 reviews
11.4 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
549 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 65 in Perugia
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Monterone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Monterone

Address: Strada di Montevile 3, 06126, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
#1 Family Hotel in Perugia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
Price Range: $161 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Monterone 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Castle, Castello di Monterone offers its guests 18 unique and enchanting rooms, each designed in a manner that respects and preserves the atmosphere of the Castle. Blending the past with the future, each room includes: en-suite bathrooms (some with jacuzzi tubs), international television channels, broadband internet access, mini-fridge, air conditioning and safe deposit box. Castello di Monterone has two restaurantsThe gourmet restaurant il Postale (1 star Michelin) showcases both traditional Umbrian dishes as well as contemporary, innovative cuisineThe restaurant Il Gradale’s commitment to local freshness is apparent in its seasonally inspired dishes and regionally inspired preparations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castello di Monterone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Monterone Hotel Perugia
Castello Di Monterone Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing