We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new home and friends in Perugia”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Signa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Signa
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“My new home and friends in Perugia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

After having read the reviews on Tripadvisor I had no doubt - I go to Hotel Signa. Absolutely every good word about the Hotel is true - the room, the staff, the views, the owner - Mario who truly cares about his guests (and all other members of the Hotel staff, as well). You come to friends who want you to have the best out of Perugia. Their recommendations on the restaurants should be followed - they know the best places. I asked Mario for a room with a view of the Umbrian hills, and the room he provided was so good that every morning I was sorry to leave it as I could actually admire the surroundings from my balcony. The warm, home atmosphere of Hotel makes you feel at home. Next time I will not even be looking for any other hotel - I have found my place in the beautiful Perugia with beautiful people.
Grazie per tutto, Mario.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena-Gioia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioSigna, Proprietario at Hotel Signa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Elena-Gioia,

thank you for your fantastic review!

We always try do our best to satisfy our guests... and a review like yours makes us proud!

I really hope you'll come here again!

Best regards,
Mario and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    192
    39
    8
    3
See reviews for
68
246
42
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
160 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent 1 night here on a mini escape from Rome, booked the day before online - with no deposit. The hotel was just what we wanted: welcoming, well-kept and well-positioned. We parked easily 2 mins walk away and with no charge. The hotel is about 10 mins walk from the city centre and main sights. Our room (a large double) had a lovely view out over the rooftops and the hills of Umbria. The bathroom was spotless, the shower powerful and there was even a tub. With a generous breakfast and the city tourist tax, we paid 76 euro for 2. Everyone who worked in the hotel was extremely helpful and courteous. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioSigna, Proprietario at Hotel Signa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear hjb50,

thank you so much for the positive and accurate description of our services!

A so good review by an "expert" reviewer is very important for us!

Kind regards,
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed for only one night but would have happily stayed longer. Rooms, though quite small, were very clean and comfortable with effective heating. We stayed in superior rooms and the views were amazing. The staff were friendly and helpful and phoned for a taxi to take us to the airport (which came in less than 5 minutes). We opted to have just coffee and croissant for breakfast - italian style - but a more comprehensive breakfast is on offer. After booking we were emailed helpful directions and a map, but the hotel is well sign-posted and well placed within the old town. This would make an excellent base for exploring the region by car or by train and offers excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioSigna, Proprietario at Hotel Signa, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Jane and family,

thank you so much for your stay and for your beautiful review!

I'm very happy that you found so good our hotel and services, we always try to do our best also in the small features (directions, maps or taxi-calling).

I hope to meet you for a next longer visit!

Kind regards,
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

My daughter and I spent a night at the Hotel Signa in February, 2013. We found it easy to book a room online only 1 day in advance - emailing the hotel directly. The location is on a quiet small street - but with excellent signs to guide you there, plus the staff had emailed us directions using photos as a guide, very nice. The room was small, but it was my favorite room on our week long trip to Italy. Beautiful view, very comfy bed and friendy staff. Perfect location to explore the town from. I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: We splurged a little and got the superior room with a lovely view. It was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fagan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioSigna, Proprietario at Hotel Signa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Fagan9,

thank you for your review!

I'm happy you appreciated your night here and my email with directions to get us!

Kind regards to you and your daughter,
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel is the best kept secret ~ Whoops, no more! A perfect location and wow what a view! This hotel is hidden away and a little hard to find, which made it all that more appealing. Excellent service, someone always at the desk to help out and the room was upgraded to a corner and the views speak for themselves (check out the pictures). I would certainly stay here again, again, again! We had someone help with bags, help with parking, assist with good restaurants and local areas to visit. I can't seem to spot a bad thing with this place, they made us feel on top of Perugia. A short walk form the city center, local transport, nice parks, oh and the pizza place around the corner called 'Romantic something or other' is awesome. Check it out and make sure to book a room in advance.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room with a balcony, it does wonders for those romantic afterburner evenings. Tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjgalliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was compact and the shower room TINY! But it had all we needed, even a small fridge. The tv only had Italian channels, the walls were not well soundproofed and I found it difficult to pick up the wifi even in reception but other than that it was great. The option of coffee and pastry over a continental breakfast suited us well.

If you have a car follow your sat nav to borgo xx guigno,1. Park in one of the blue lined parking bays on the street and pay the minimum ( was 35 cents for us). The hotel will give you a card for the dashboard so you can leave your car there as long as you like. If you have large bags the porter will help you to the hotel with them.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Last minute booking during the International Chocolate Festival. Hotel Signa , a family run hotel was in a great location - an easy 10 minute walk from the historical centre . I loved the quiet location off the road, but well signposted. The room was small, but well priced & the housekeeping excellent - rooms were very clean - beds comfortable. We were pleasantly woken by the local bell ringers at 7am & 7.15 each morning. All the staff were friendly & extremely helpful , even emailed detailed instructions on finding the hotel using public transport prior to arrival - Perugia is quite difficult to navigate unless you are familiar with the different transport systems & location of their depots. Breakfast was not included & was either continental or coffee & croissant - we opted for the traditional Italian coffee & croissant & for €2 was well priced . We would definitely return , what the hotel lacked in luxury was made up by the atmosphere & staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soloAussie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.2 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosalba
Hotel Rosalba
#5 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#6 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albergo Morlacchi
Albergo Morlacchi
#14 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fortuna
Hotel Fortuna
#17 of 66 in Perugia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Signa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Signa

Property: Hotel Signa
Address: Via del Grillo 9, 06121, Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Perugia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Signa 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run Hotel situated in a quiet area of the historical center. Hotel Signa, renewed on 2007, features free wi-fi, free parking, bar, garden, bike-area, library.The main street of Perugia (Corso Vannucci) is at just 600 meters; the bus terminal of Piazza Partigiani is at 500 meters; the Minimetro terminal is at 400 meters.Hotel Signa provides different kinds of ensuite rooms with led-tv and free wi-fi:- economy, small and essential;- standard, more comfortable;- plus/superior with panoramic view, air conditioning, safebox;- plus/superior with also terrace and minibar.Ask by email for the best offer, room images and maps with directions to get the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Signa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Signa Hotel Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing