We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth staying”
Review of Ripa Relais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ripa Relais
Ranked #5 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“worth staying”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This place is a real gem - extremely relaxing. It is spotless, has a good breakfast and excellent dinner - all organic we were advised. After several weeks travelling around Italy and finding most places fairly average we stopped here by chance and wish we had more time to spend here. It is a great place to just chill out - laze by the pool - probably best for couples without children as I don't think there is much for kids to do here. I noticed some people complaining about the main road but we really didn't notice it. We would definitely stay again - Staff were fantastic - very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 58sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    151
    23
    4
    5
See reviews for
63
291
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights. We thought it was lovely, beautiful kept grounds, lovely room that was very clean (although the bars over the ground floor windows were a little disconcerting), nice fabrics on bed and as curtains. The pool was nice although the pool bar was not open when we stayed there. Dinner was good. We were booked on half board and you had to make your menu choices at breakfast. They changed daily, you had a choice of two dishes for each course. Dessert was not included in the half board menu and had to be paid for....same choice each night, suspect not freshly prepared. Breakfast had a good selection as well as fruit salad which included fresh peach and grapes (so many Italian hotels seem to use tinned fruit). Lots of cakes, not so much bread, nice home made yoghurt. The views were lovely, wine list good.
If you are staying for more that a couple of nights you really need a car as Ripa has poor public transport links and the bus stop us a long uphill walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veloist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed five nights at Ripa Relais. Our room was very clean and well maintained. The staff were kind and helpful - their English was better than my Italian! The pool area was great and being able to buy snacks and drinks poolside was a great bonus. The food was excellent and delicious. However, the menu (which was very good) didn't change at all so by the time we'd stayed five nights and had one lunch we'd pretty much had all that we fancied from the menu. That aside Ripa Relais is definitely on our list of places to revisit as it's a great base for visiting the area and a lovely agriturismo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our family spent three very nice evenings at the Ripa Relais last summer. It is a small, very charming hotel located about 20 minutes outside of Assisi in the countryside. There are beautiful views from the hotel and the pool was great respite from the hot summer afternoons. It has easy access to the highways for quick half day trips to Umbrian hill towns and very easy access to Assisi. There is a lovely restaurant which serves breakfast and dinner. It was probably the best meal we had in Assisi.

The only negative thing I would offer about this hotel is one we found common in Italy. The air conditioning left a little something to be desired. When you lock the door when you leave, the air conditioning is switched off and doesn't come back on until you return. Otherwise, we had a great stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lrogers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights and had generally a good impression. The rooms are decently furnished and the bathroom was actually much nicer than we experience previously in other places. The surroundings are nice but as mentioned previously there is the autostrada - it's not loud but you can hear it and it kind of tarnishes the otherwise beautiful view of umbria's countryside. The airport has little activity so there is not a lot of noise coming from there.
Breakfast buffet is nice if you like italian-style breakfast. We didn't have halfboard so we ate there only once but the food was nice, not cheap but still reasonable. There is anyway nothing around and you would have to go to Perugia to find a decent place. And the cats are still there...
What we didn't like: Wifi is indeed only available in the lobby and if you want to swim in the pool you have to bring/buy a swimming cap.
All in all we would go back again and the place is a good starting point for trips to Perugia, Assisi and Spello.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TangoWhisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel and is well maintained. The room was well furnished and comfortable, but the nearby location of the superstrada and the small airport meant that ,depending on the wind direction, there was significant traffic noise. The breakfasts were good with a wide choice, but as half board guests we found the dinner arrangements were not satisfactory. The choices for the evening meal had to be selected in the morning and on, occasions, there was only a choice of two main meals. The a la carte menu looked very good and the other diners seemed very happy with their food. The set menu that we had was poor in comparison to the other hotels that we had stayed in previously. Also, there was an abundance of cats begging from the tables throughout the evening meal. This was drawn to the management's attention, but I was led to believe that this had happened on previous occasions and nothing had been done about it. A pity as this should have been a first class visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Narnia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed over the weekend at Ripa Relais Colle Del Sole, when visiting Todi, Assisi, Gubbio and Perugia. Lovely people, quiet place with amazing garden with swimming pool around it.

Room Tip: Violetta room has a terrace with views of Assisi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ZuzanaBonova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perugia hotels
9.7 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 65 in Perugia
697 reviews
4.7 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
822 reviews
3.6 mi away
Relais San Clemente
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Quattrotorri Perugia
6.3 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#5 of 65 in Perugia
1,153 reviews
7.9 mi away
Alla Posta dei Donini
Alla Posta dei Donini
#1 of 2 in San Martino in Campo
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ripa Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ripa Relais

Property: Ripa Relais
Address: Strada Aeroporto Sant'Egidio Ripa 5, 06134, Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ripa Relais 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais Ripa is located near Ripa's ancient castle, just in front of Assisi. It is the ideal place where you can relax and regenerate yourself, in contact with the most unspoiled nature, and far from the daily routine of frenetic life. The Relais is at only few minutes by car from the most beautiful art cities of Umbria (Perugia, Gubbio, Montefalco, Spoleto, Todi ...) And Ripa is within easy reach of the wild green of Valnerina and Tiber valleys and of the silver hills of Trasimeno Lake and Tuscany. During your holiday you will experience the old traditions both cultural and eno-gastronomic of Italy's green heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ripa Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing