We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fair price for a fine hotel”
Review of Hotel La Meridiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Meridiana
Ranked #22 of 65 Hotels in Perugia
Reviewed November 12, 2008

I was there with a friend at the end of October. The location is great,but the street leading to the hotel is in terrible condition.
The hotel staff was very helpful. The room was well equipped and very clean. Breakfast was good. Room service was poor. We arrived in the evening and wanted to order club sandwiches. But all we got was 2 toasts for 5 euros each - very expensive for such a thing. One evening we wanted to have some coffee and cakes in the restaurant and had "to beg" for it.
No place to eat around - a minus...
I would go back there again as I liked the hotel and its location.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rachelcio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,003)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Meridiana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2008

As others have noted this hotel is some distance out of town in a quiet residential area with nothing else around. This may be a plus for some, but the first night we were there the hotel was hosting a symposium which totally filled the dining room for the entire night - literally not a seat to be had. There's nothing else within walking distance, so we were offered service in our room or at the coffee bar, but judging by the zoo in the restaurant we decided to make our own way to town.

The rooms here are fine by Holiday Inn european standard., and the rates were OK. Although the hotel advertises internet in the rooms, only some rooms have a connection so ask when you check in. The internet is also obscenely expensive.

Breakfast the first morning (when the symposium was still on) was fine, with eggs as well as continental items. The second day all the good stuff was gone and it was mortadella on a stale bun or nothing.

We liked the location as a home base for day trips with a car, but had hoped for a bit more .

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank quickcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

simply put, a gem. a north american hotel in europe, what a treat. lots of parking as it is a fair bit out of town but the view is spectacular. after a long hot day we went swimming in the cold pool and enjoyed it. attached to the pool is what looks like a hot tub but is not, who cares, the pool is great. The rooms are ultra clean, great showers, very spacious for Europe. If this is on your route, it is worth the stay. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The bed was a good size, again, a treat in Italy. Very nice sitting area outside the lobby with a spectacular view.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffreyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

90 euro half board, single room, wifi, a cup of tea and free
parking...well, I can't complain really, only if it were an Express
it would be more appropriate and I would have given a 5 points grade,because this is a motel-like holiday inn along a busy road and far from being even close to luxury. Having said that, staff was kind and helpful. If you are there on vacation, this place
is far from downtown and really out of reach without a car.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bridgerobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2008

52 Euro for a double, breakfast incl. over the Easter weekend is a bargain. The staff is helpful and friendly and the room is good.
A car is needed for the location of the hotel, but convenient for sightseeing at the nearby towns of Gubbio or Assisi. We tried the restaurant twice, attentive service, but average food. We found better restaurants in downtown Perugia. We would stay at the Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Hans-Joachim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2008

This was the best hotel my husband and I stayed at on our two-week trip in Italy this summer. Most foreign hotels have tiny rooms with even tinier bathrooms--definitely not what we're used to in America. But this hotel was fantastic. The beds and linens were wonderful, the bathroom was HUGE compared to others in the country and the bar/lounge area was nice as well. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linnie104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2008

Location is a little far from the main city centre but not of great concern.The rooms are spacious,beds very comfortable,pillows galore,big bathroom,cleanliness is amazing.There is also room adjusted airconditioning which keeps you fresh all day and night, a mini bar fridge filled with beverages,even a kettle in your room with assorted tea/coffee.The TV displays a personal welcome message to you once you settle into your room and great programmes to choose from to keep you entertained.

The restaurant downstairs has delicious fresh food,waiters very helpful and the chef caters for your special needs.

Only downfall is that the Reception Staff are very arrogant and not so friendly,making one feel somewhat anxious.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank VIOLETTA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perugia hotels
1.2 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 65 in Perugia
716 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Quattrotorri Perugia
2.3 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 65 in Perugia
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Etruscan Chocohotel
Etruscan Chocohotel
#11 of 65 in Perugia
1,413 reviews
2.2 mi away
Perugia Plaza Hotel
Perugia Plaza Hotel
#29 of 65 in Perugia
448 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Meridiana

Address: Via del Discobolo 42 | Quartiere Ferro di Cavallo, 06132, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range: $83 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Meridiana 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant lodgings, only minutes away from historical Perugia. Situated on the lower part of the hillside containing the city, amidst the lush scenery of Lacugnano Park, its privileged position offers enchanting sights of the city skyline.La Meridiana offers the ideal lodgings and services either for lovely leisure holidays or business and institutional meetings. 96 stylish rooms including satellite TV, Free Wi Fi internet connection, Air conditioned, Minibar, Direct Phone, Shower or bath, Tea/coffeemaker corner, and digital safes large enough for notebooks.5 different types to suit every need: comfort, classic, superior, executive and family. Each offering distinctive sensible characteristics. “Il Vespertino” restaurant is a lovely meeting point for a family reunion dinner, business lunches or more special and important events. Excellent services offering the best of the Umbrian traditional cuisine.Biological local quality products and the expertise of the chef accomplishing outstanding outcome.Ideal elegant settings for meetings and special events. LA MERIDIANA HOTEL offers a modular composition of conference rooms to suit from 10 to 160 business people. Efficient and qualified conference and event ticketing services.The Lacugnano Park and the Perugian valley provide beautiful lush green scenery for the swimming pool. A relaxation corner with sunbed solarium services.Bicycles and 125 Vespa motorcycles hiring services. The possibility of a ride into the enchanting corners of surrounding areas. Architectural and natural beauties to enjoy in the open air.On request, transfer services back and forth the airport, the train station or the historical Perugia downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Meridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Perugia
Perugia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing